We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in St. Michaels
chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a nice overnight stay that the Best Western in February. My husband and I stayed in a king room, which was clean and roomy. There are two outdoor pools, which were unfortunately closed b/c it was winter. I'd probably up my stars if I could've swam. The staff was extrenely courteous. Breakfast is until 10am and included a waffle maker. It's about a little over a mile into town, but you cannot walk b/c there aren't sidewalks. I would definitley stay here again while in St. Michael's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    56
    37
    28
    25
See reviews for
41
75
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, RI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited in February with our dog. I was a little concerned as there were only a couple of cars at this fairly large motel style hotel. It turned out to be a perfectly fine choice for our three day stay. The room was clean and more than adequate. The included breakfast was what you would expect from any chain hotel - they didn't skimp just because there were few guests. The staff was nice and offered great restaurant suggestions (off season choices were very good).

We are used to staying in higher end B&B's so we were prepared to be disappointed, but we were not. If they can deliver in the bleak, off-season, you should be fine anytime of year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian m, General Manager at BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

We're honored you chose us. We know you have choices and we'll always do our best to make sure we do our best each and everytime for all of our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I'd stayed here three years ago and it was great, not so this time. There was black & orange mold ALL over the shower wall and old, brown soggy grapes left in the refrigerator. The manager sent me a FORM letter saying he was sorry. I hadn't noticed it since I checked in one afternoon, was so tired I went to bed and didn't notice the shower until I got up the next morning.

The manager wasn't on site at the time but he didn't have to take my word as I sent him no less than five pictures of what I experienced. I also sent the pictures to corporate. They don't care. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian m, General Manager at BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We had reached out to the guest personally to apologize for the issues he encountered during his stay. The room should have never been rented as it was slated for renovation. We took responsibility for it and have now received the guests thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed just one night here and found the motel adequate. The rooms are somewhat dated, but the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was really good with plenty of options, both hot and cold. The breakfast room was also lovely and overlooked the pool area.

Definitely an inexpensive option for a short stay in St Michaels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it is quieter, being further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with 2 other couples, and for the money, it was OK.
The good:
Location-about a 1.5 miles to downtown St. Mike's.
Breakfast-Good free brakfast with hot and cold items.
Bed comfort
Patio tables for meeting friends for drinks.
Good maid service.
The Bad:
Some rooms smelled quite musty. (Not ours thankfully)
The bathrooms were clean but dated.
The pools were closed, even though it quite warm out. (the front pool looks like it has been closed for years.)

To the right of the Motel is Big Rod restaurant, which was surprisingly good for dinner. Fresh local seafood, good service and very reasonable. The drink prices were the lowest I have encountered in years.
Other dining choices involve driving to town.
Compared to pricing of the 2 hotels in town, it was a big savings staying here for the 3 nights, and covered our meals.

Room Tip: Smell the room prior to accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not what I was expecting from this hotel. First and foremost, travelers should know that he hotel is over a mile and a half outside of town, and has a distinct "roadside motel" feel. Customer service was poor and I found the front desk attendance apathetic. The room was very bare and dated and the bathrooms were tight. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. At around 180 per night (w/ tax), I was hoping for a bit more value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a wedding in town and this was the only chain hotel in the area. I had a room block for about 5/6 rooms which is pretty simple to manage 5/6 rooms out of the 90 or so they have. Well, I was wrong. They had over charged me by more than $400 dollars, they had charged my guests cards even though I had my card on file and had reconfirmed # of rooms, # of nights and which should be charged to my card several times.

When I came in after the wedding to pick up my receipts - they had no clue what was going on as names were changed on one of the rooms. I spoke with the manager/owner, Priyanka. Raj Patel who was literally the worst person I've ever met at a hotel. She was not helpful at all and said I was charged accurately. She herself didn't make the reservations and didn't care that they had messed up the # of rooms, guest names and charged my guests who shouldn't have been charged. I had to argue with her for more than 45 minutes before finally having to leave and waiting until the next day to deal with Kylie who did make all my reservations. I do have to say that Kylie is amazing, super nice to work with (and she's not even the owner) and super helpful. She was able to clear up the issues, but only after a horrible experience with the owner.

PS my guests told me their breakfast was basically microwavable meals - not very good at all. For the price you pay for a room - you're better off going to a B&B in the area and having a much more pleasant and happy experience.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, deal with Kylie do not deal with the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka P, Owner at BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am sorry about your experience but as the owner had repeatedly asked you to contact kiley in the matters of your billing and refuse to leave the property until you were refunded, the owner had to step up as the husband came onto the owner with a fist.

i apologize for being what you might assume to be rude but when repeatedly being told the matter will be resolved by the party you were involved with you still dint want to leave furthermore threatening a women with a fist in front of her employees in not considered appropriate either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn

Address: 1228 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming St. Michaels, Maryland hotel provides guests with convenient access to historic St. Michaels filled with quaint shops, outstanding restaurants and a variety of activities to ensure a memorable visit.Each of the 93 comfortable and well-appointed guest rooms feature cable television with HBO® and wireless high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers a complimentary full breakfast each morning for our guest's convenience. Other hotel amenities include two outdoor swimming pools, a 24-hour front desk, some business services and meeting space accommodating up to 40 guests. Guests will enjoy spending a few days in St. Michaels to stroll the historic streets, visit the shops, explore the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum and tour the St. Michaels Winery. The Best Western in St. Michaels is a short distance from a variety of outdoor activities including cycling, golf, kayaking, fishing and guided hunting.The Best Western in St. Michaels is also ideally located for visiting the areas other major attractions. Our guests can load their car or bicycle on the Oxford Bellevue Ferry, located six miles from the hotel, which will take them on a short cruise to explore Oxford, Maryland. Tilghman Island is located just twelve miles from our hotel and accessible by draw bridge. Tilghman Island offers many great restaurants and access to some of the best charter fishing on the Chesapeake Bay. The friendly staff at the Best Western in St. Michaels. is ready to ensure a relaxing and memorable stay for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
Best Western St Michaels Md
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.