We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall poor experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michaels Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Michaels Inn to your Saves list
St. Michaels Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not what I was expecting from this hotel. First and foremost, travelers should know that he hotel is over a mile and a half outside of town, and has a distinct "roadside motel" feel. Customer service was poor and I found the front desk attendance apathetic. The room was very bare and dated and the bathrooms were tight. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. At around 180 per night (w/ tax), I was hoping for a bit more value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    55
    48
    37
See reviews for
74
105
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a wedding in town and this was the only chain hotel in the area. I had a room block for about 5/6 rooms which is pretty simple to manage 5/6 rooms out of the 90 or so they have. Well, I was wrong. They had over charged me by more than $400 dollars, they had charged my guests cards even though I had my card on file and had reconfirmed # of rooms, # of nights and which should be charged to my card several times.

When I came in after the wedding to pick up my receipts - they had no clue what was going on as names were changed on one of the rooms. I spoke with the manager/owner, Priyanka. Raj Patel who was literally the worst person I've ever met at a hotel. She was not helpful at all and said I was charged accurately. She herself didn't make the reservations and didn't care that they had messed up the # of rooms, guest names and charged my guests who shouldn't have been charged. I had to argue with her for more than 45 minutes before finally having to leave and waiting until the next day to deal with Kylie who did make all my reservations. I do have to say that Kylie is amazing, super nice to work with (and she's not even the owner) and super helpful. She was able to clear up the issues, but only after a horrible experience with the owner.

PS my guests told me their breakfast was basically microwavable meals - not very good at all. For the price you pay for a room - you're better off going to a B&B in the area and having a much more pleasant and happy experience.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, deal with Kylie do not deal with the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priyanka P, Owner at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am sorry about your experience but as the owner had repeatedly asked you to contact kiley in the matters of your billing and refuse to leave the property until you were refunded, the owner had to step up as the husband came onto the owner with a fist.

i apologize for being what you might assume to be rude but when repeatedly being told the matter will be resolved by the party you were involved with you still dint want to leave furthermore threatening a women with a fist in front of her employees in not considered appropriate either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arm, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just stayed at the this hotel over Labor Day weekend. It is more like a motel, where you park outside your room's door. The rooms are small and dated but clean and neat. The free continental breakfast was very good and included egg/sausage sandwiches, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea, bagels and muffins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Chose this Best Western for our first visit to St. Michael's and glad we did. I was attracted by a relatively good value compared with other local offerings. From our arrival and throughout, the staff was friendly and made us feel comfortable. The room was OK but in need of minor touch-ups - none of serious concern, so we would gladly revisit this inn. The staff does a nice job with their breakfast buffet (included) which made it convenient to fuel-up and start our day quickly.

The in-room WiFi connection was a bit temperamental, but with a little persistence, I could connect with my iPod and laptop and enjoy respectable speeds (like most places, they use 11g, not the faster 11n routers). They also had a PC and printer in the lobby which worked fine.

The inn is located as you approach town, but it's a bit far for most to walk downtown so you'll probably want to take your car. No problem, there seems to be adequate free parking, but then we were there at the beginning of the week, a typically quieter time according to some of the local shops.

Overall, a comfortable stay, and for the value, we hope to visit again as there is more to see/do in St. Michaels and the nearby region.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the inn are more convenient for the breakfast area and main pool. The inn is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Located a mile or two out of St Michaels active "strip," it is conveniently located on the main road from Easton to St Michaels.

The hotel itself is of the classic design, meaning that you park right outside your door. The grounds are well maintained and attractive. Staff is welcoming and helpful. Rooms are just a notch or two above basic; clean and comfortable. It offers a good breakfast, has two pools.

Overall, in all respects, was a satisfactory facility. For St Michaels, it is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. The room was more than adequate for our needs and clean. The pool was a definite bonus. Short drive to St Michaels and Easton so best of both worlds. Planning on staying there again this weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's not luxury, but as a last-minute getaway, we got the discounted AAA rate which was just over $100 with taxes, so you won't beat the price and location. It is a short drive into the heart of St. Michaels, and there is a very decent sports bar/restaurant, "Big Rod" right across the street. Our room was certainly adequate, but I agree with others, the towels are thin! Our room smelled a little strongly of whatever they use to clean. I would certainly recommend the motel, but just don't expect it to be more than it is - a decent motel with free breakfast!

Room Tip: It is a large facility, you may want to avoid the pool. We were on the front, near the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harbourtowne Golf Resort and Conference Center
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Easton
Comfort Inn Easton
#5 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Michaels Inn

Address: 1228 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Michaels Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western St Michaels Md
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michaels Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.