We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and Great Rum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyon Distilling Company

Lyon Distilling Company
605 S. Talbot St. #6, (Located Around Back in the Old Mill, Entrance Off Marengo Street), St. Michaels, MD 21663
+1 443-333-9181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Activities in St. Michaels
Type: Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maryland's premier craft distillery - producing hand-crafted spirits by transforming raw ingredients (molasses, sugar, local grains) into splendid liquor (rum, corn whiskey, rye whiskey) step by step, in very small batches, using traditional pot stills made in Kentucky. Tasting room open FRIDAY & SATURDAY 12-6PM for tastings, sales & tours (unless otherwise noted, as this is a working distillery, operated by the two owners) - private tours & tastings available by appointment.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place and Great Rum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a rum enthusiast I was excited to discover that St. Michaels had a distillery, and was excited to stop by during their open hours on Saturday afternoons. We took advantage of the rum tasting (their whisky is not quite ready yet) and LOVED it. The white (cocktail) rum is great, but their dark rum is one of the best I've ever enjoyed (seriously good.) Well worth a stop (and a purchase!) if you are visiting the area!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great rum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We recently took a day trip to St.Michael's and enjoyed sampling the rum from Lyon distillery. We were welcomed in and offered samples right away, the clear rum and the dark rum. I really enjoyed the dark rum. Very friendly staff, we chatted for awhile and he made some recommendations of some other things to do in town. I think it will always be a stop on future visits to St.Michaels!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped in to try the rum and it was quite good. The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly. We left with a bottle and a flask. We didn't do the tour but may next time we are in town. A great stop while in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow! You Gotta Visit This One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Visited Lyon on Thursday and found a sign on the door stating batch #035 will be ready on Friday 12:30pm. Friday came and my wife and I were waiting outside. Jamie opened the door at about 12:15 or so and asked us if we would like to come in and sample a previous batch. We sampled what turned out to be awesome rum. Jamie then told us Ben was in the back getting ready to start bottling the new batch. She is very passionate about what her and Ben are doing and we very much enjoyed the sampling and education of how the process works. We purchased two bottles of the dark rum from batch #035 which was still warm at the time. How cool is that! Keep up the good work and we will be back for more in the future...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“See the rum, taste the rum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a great time visiting the distillery. Ben and Jaime were wonderful hosts and we talked a great deal about rum. A nice small distillery with good product and good people. I was very impressed with the taste of the rums, especially the wonderful barrel aged rum. I would recommend not missing this place when in town. And take a home a bottle of rum or three.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Distilling Company also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Distilling Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyon Distilling Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.