We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy crab cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michaels Crab & Steak House

St. Michaels Crab & Steak House
305 Mulberry St., St. Michaels, MD 21663
410 745-3737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We sat out on the deck and enjoyed the view. My husband had soft shelled crab and I had crab cakes (1 fried and 1 broiled). Everything was great tasting. My crab cakes were wholly crab--no stuffing or fillers--which I love. The waitress was kind of snooty and when we asked her about the various beers offered on the menu she didn't have any more information than what was on the menu. Disappointing--we might have tried the local brews with more info.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    130
    69
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not a "tourist trap"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A lot of tourists come to the lovely Village of St. Michaels MD seeking seafood and often specifically crabs. This restaurant offers an excellent alternative to the "other" well know crab eatery on the St. Michaels Harbor.
More specifically, IMO, it has a much-much better choices at reasonable prices for those that do not want crabs; and the best part is you can even get seafood that is not fried. The Cajun tuna is the best I ever had.
I totally disagree with another review that implied all you can get is crabs...to eat!
The staff is friendly and the owner seems to always be present and is often in the kitchen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Place on the Water In St. Michaels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a really good local dining spot on the Harbor in St. Michaels. Great crabcakes and oysters, along with real cole slaw, french fires and hush puppies. The tables outside and certain tables inside give you a good view of the harbor and the comings and goings of boats. Very friendly place with a great wait staff who are eager to please. And the prices are reasonable - what's not to like on a warm Summer night or pretty Fall day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local shopkeeper so we thought we should check it out. Ordered the fried flounder and chips. Husband ordered fried flounder and onion rings. Meal came with house salad. Salad was good, onion rings very good as were the fries. The fish,however, was less than good. It tasted like very old fish and had a very fishy odor. Really fresh fish should have no real odor or smell. We could not eat it because of the very fishy smell. Management did not charge us for the fish, just the salads and the fries. Waitress was very gracious and very professional. We were really hoping it would be a good spot as it is right on the water and has a great view of the harbor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Oysters are to die for and the ambiance off season can't be beat. Right on the water, nice choice of beers on tap with unique mixed drinks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michaels Crab & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to St. Michaels Crab & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michaels Crab & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.