We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb start to finish, slow near the end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood's Landing

Sherwood's Landing
308 Watkin Ln, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-745-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sherwood's Landing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Price range: $45 - $75
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“superb start to finish, slow near the end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The waiter took time to ensure excellent wine pairings, was steadily attentive until it got pretty busy. Maitre'D has a lovely personailty and exudes warmth and joy. The view is beautiful and that alone is worth it, but the food excellent as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    17
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I finally had the opportunity to dine at Sherwood's Landing at the Inn at Perry Cabin. The service and setting for the meal were second to none. In particular, our waiter was attentive, looked after our every need without being hovering or overly preening. The food is certainly a cut above the average Eastern Shore restaurant. The fried green tomatoes were superb - crisp but not greasy. The seafood appetizer was a little average -- I am not sure 36 bucks on an appetizer is worth it, but it did not disappoint. The broiled crab cakes are excellent and stand out among some worthy nearby competition. Wine and beverage service was first rate and the staff did a superb job to pace the meal. At the end of the day it was not the best meal I've ever had -- possibly a tad expensive, I suppose for well executed Eastern Shore fare. Still a superb restaurant and worth the great reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expansive water views and Southern service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The small dining room looked out over the lawn and out to the calm waters of St Michaels. I was interested to try the Local Oysters, right out of the Chesapeake bay. They were perfect. The
Fantastic fish-Rockfish. Loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, not great service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Maitre d was superb. Our server disappeared so many time I lost count. And he seemed to disappear for big blocks of time. It was more of a waiting experience, than a dining one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fantastically prepared seafood!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had lobster three ways (on appetizers) and it was to die for. Loved it! Perfectly cooked shirmp and Halibut and all side dishes and salads equally yummy. My beef ribeye was huge and very tender. The only downer was I picked a wine (no descriptions on list) and I did not enjoy it, but that wasn't really the waitresses fault so I didn't say anything. Other than that the evening was a glorious representation of what St. Michaels is like when you can afford the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood's Landing also viewed

 

Been to Sherwood's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.