We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Maryland Crab Soup....Service was slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Dock Restaurant

Town Dock Restaurant
125 Mulberry St, St. Michaels, MD 21663
+1 410-745-5577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Town Dock restaurant is located right on the waterfront with sweeping views of the harbor from every seat. Specializing in seafood, but offering steaks and seasonal specialties, Town Dock will satisfy any palate. Whether you're in casual attire or dressed for a special occasion you will feel comfortable in the friendly atmosphere. The downstairs bar and Fireside Lounge offer happy hour every day from 4-7pm. Dine in one of the expansive dining rooms or outside on the deck in the warmer weather. After dinner, visit Top of the Dock Bar & Lounge upstairs for one of the best views of the harbor and live entertainment when scheduled.If you are here for the day or staying overnight, Town Dock Restaurant is a must visit restaurant for lunch or dinner.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Maryland Crab Soup....Service was slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

After being seated for 10 minutes...we had to get up and ask for a waitress...didn't like that BUT we had a great Bloody Mary, Maryland Crab Soup and a Turkey Sandwich. It was a good but the soup was excellent and worth a trip back. Our service was slow with a "no problem" comment after everything we asked....kinda of strange to get that when you say "thank you" and get "no problem" back. Later that night we went to Foxys (side of Town Dock)and it was a strange sketchy crowd...would not go back there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDROC, Owner at Town Dock Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am sorry for the initial wait, but thanks for sticking with us. Every once in a while there is some mis-communication which can usually be rectified by bringing it to someone's attention. Not the way it should have been. Yes we try to suggest appropriate responses and the "no problem" is always one that bugs me too. Hopefully you were not greeted with "How you guys doing?"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    84
    40
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Okay...but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

....probably better for lunch than dinner..esp. with so many great choices for dining in St. Michael's. It has been awhile since we tried it for dinner....had fried oysters and calamari for appetizers....calamari were average with a bland sauce, but the fried oysters were like hockey pucks. Main fish courses were good. Reasonable choice of wines, but the one we wanted was out of stock. Really nice server managed to make our meal enjoyable. My choice would be not to go there for dinner, but a nice summer or fall lunch with the great harbor view, which have done several times before.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDROC, Owner at Town Dock Restaurant, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for the honest review. If your Server didn't ask you if everything was to your liking then we dropped the ball. Oysters we should have taken back and recooked properly. Yes there are a lot of great restaurants in town, but I would hope you would give us another chance for dinner; we cook some really great dishes that you can't find anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food with a water view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Love the gourmet style sandwiches and special burgers.There oysters and crab soup is wonderful.The owner John is a great guy.Great spot for a romantic dinner and usually have good music on weekends.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDROC, Owner at Town Dock Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the review. We always say Town Dock is where visitors and locals meet so it's nice to have a review from someone who has the chance to eat at all the local hot spots since they live here. We try to offer something a little different than everyone else so the recognition of the gourmet sanwiches and special burgers is appreciated. Our hamburgers are made from chopped meat from the loin and where else can you find a turkey, apple & brie sandwich with fig jam. Yummy!
I should mention that with a few exceptions we have stopped offering live music through the summer, but will probably start again sometime in the Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location & food to match!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I ate dinner at the Town Dock on the recommendation of the front desk staff of our hotel. We sat on the deck overlooking the harbor, which was beautiful. Our server was incredibly friendly and attentive, adding to the great atmosphere. We both loved our meals (crab-topped fish for him, scallops for me) and would call this dinner the highlight of our trip to St. Michaels!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDROC, Owner at Town Dock Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for mentioning us as the highlight of your trip, or at least the culinary part of your visit. Friendly, welcoming and attentive service is so important. I always show the staff our reviews, good and bad, but it's particularily gratifying for Servers to be recognized as many times reviews focus on the food, which of course is just as important. Thanks for mentioning both aspects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a lunch with old friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just returned from a looong lunch. The service was excellent with our waitperson keeping our iced tea glasses filled and bringing us some very good dishes. Because we don't see each other often and always have lots to catch up on, it was nice not to be constantly bothered by staff to order something quickly. It was to our advantage that at the time we arrived for a late lunch the place was not packed as we suspect it usually is. We had fried brie, flour tortilla tacos with fried mahi mahi and melon sorbet. All were good, though I think I would have preferred the mahi mahi baked or broiled. The view of the marina was lovely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDROC, Owner at Town Dock Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing our restaurant for your special occasssion lunch. I am glad your Server was able to pick up on your relaxed schedule and serve you accordingly. Not all Servers are that perceptive. It never hurts to ask if something can be prepared differently than the menu description. Sometimes it's not possible, but in this case baking or broiling the fish would have been entirely appropriate and easy to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Dock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Town Dock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Dock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.