We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow, unresponsive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grille - CLOSED

The Grille
200 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410 745-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Slow, unresponsive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch and was one of only 3 tables. Waiter jay was slow to arrive, slow to get back, and generally apathetic.
Food came after a very long wait with 1 of 3 ingredients missing. Sorry was said but no concessions made. Since I live in St michaels and am pulling for the success of all of our local businesses, I wrote to them on their website to offer some suggestions and encouragement. No response. Since they did not respond, I am writing this review. The grille is no longer a "new" restaurant and must improve their slow kitchen and staff service to be competitive in st. Michaels.
The positives:
Good atmosphere
Great location
Great fries!
This place can be a winner if the owners care enough to make the changes suggested here on trip advisor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There are so many good choices in St. Michael's, so this would not be one of them. We had lunch at The Grille. I ordered the arugula pear salad. It was just average and the pears were canned and not fresh. I've never seen a restaurant do that. The pecans on the salad also had an unusual coating which I did not like. My husband's Cuban sandwich was not what you expect a Cuban sandwich to be. It was more like an average ham sandwich and nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

In a town of great restaurants, this one is fairly average. The management accomodated our large party. The server was friendly and professional. We had the shrimp and grits, which were just fine. The tuna was mediocre. The Cuban sandwich was very good. There OSA good variety of food on the menu. I would go here again if I could not get seated at Ava's or Theos or the Bistro or 208. (And on a holiday weekend this is likely!) It is far better than Crab and Steak and better than the Town Dock.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food. They are working hard to please. A few timing issues to work out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal very much. We chose this restaurant as they were significantly less expensive than the other high end restaurants in St. Michaels. Good service. Attentive management. The kitchen still needs to work out some timing issues among appetizors and entrees, but all in all, a good experience - the food was not always hot. Definately a recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had the best meal I've ever had in a restaurant. The scallops and pork belly were to die for...always wanted to try pork belly and it didn't disappoint. The staff were wonderful - very attentive including the chef who checked on us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.