We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was Outstanding; Service was Not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro St. Michaels

Bistro St. Michaels
403 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
+1 410-745-9111
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro St. Michaels is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Bistro St. Michaels. We create food that is rooted in traditional culinary styles, yet modern. We source the highest quality ingredients, purchase sustainable seafood and work with people who raise their animals naturally, as well as partner with farmers for the freshest vegetables available. All of this comes together under the hand of Executive Chef David Hayes, a native of England whose "creative American" cuisine is prepared with a European flair.Many of our items are already gluten free or can be served gluten free. Thank you for taking the time to dine with us. We hope you enjoy our inspiration. Rob & Caroline Pascal, Owners David Hayes, Executive Chef
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food was Outstanding; Service was Not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

It is hard to review this restaurant. The baked oysters were very good, salads were tasty. Entrees that pleased everyone were the duck and the short ribs. Both were amazing. Our wine was also yummy. The place is quite lovely and the hostess was really accomodating. However, our experience was lacking simply because of the server. She had no personality and didn't know the menu well. She struggled when we asked what her favorite dish was. She said she worked at 2 different places and was clearly confused. The pace of service was off all night. Other staff came upstairs to help her and they were all personable and friendly. And the hostess was so much fun. If the food had not been so tasty this review would have been only 3 stars!! Our party of 4 had fun anyway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow - we loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

On a cold March Friday evening we enjoyed a great Bistro St. Michaels dinner. The restaurant was busy, the welcome was warm and sincere, the service great, and the food absolutely wonderful. My husband had the special; pan seared local rockfish served with gnocchi, mushrooms, arugula, red onions, and grape tomatoes with lemon buerre blanc and a balsamic reduction. It's a winner. Our waiter Thom was fun and knowledgeable; his advice on menu selections was spot-on. Wow - we loved it all!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice people, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a nice place for my girlfriend's birthday weekend dinner and took a chance on BSM based on TA reviews and a check of their menu. We had 7:30 reservations on a Saturday night and arrived a bit early but were seated immediately. We received a friendly greeting from our server, Kim, and we're asked about drink preferences. We started the evening with a very well chilled bottle of Veuve Cliquot, which saw us through to desert. We had read about the chef's deviled eggs with house cured bacon(more like thick cuts of pork belly) and asked for that and an order of baked oysters to start. There was a choice of raw or baked oysters and I think I would have preferred the raw after eating the baked. There was just too much going on with the toppings of the baked oysters, sausage, asparagus, and a cream sauce covered the delicate taste of the oyster. It wasn't bad, just not to my taste. The deviled eggs were 3 half eggs and 4 slabs of bacon. These were very tasty and the bacon had great crust and flavor. Next we each had a salad, she had the Beet and Orange Supreme salad and was very happy, I had the Apple & Bay Blue and enjoyed it. The place was full and our server was very busy, but did her best to keep her eye on us, keep the champagne flowing, and make us feel welcomed. The entrees were next. Maryanne had the Pan Seared Day Boat Scallops and I had the daily special which was a ravioli with crab and cream cheese filling covered with cherry tomatoes and asparagus. We were both totally happy with our choices. Maryanne had reached the bursting point by now and did bring about a third of the scallop entree back to the B&B with us. We shared a slice of delicious pumpkin cheesecake for desert. It was brought to the table with a candle burning for Maryanne's birthday and Kim was nice enough to take our photo together for her special evening. We did want to finish off the night with an after dinner drink and had read that the bartender, Kelly, was quite good at her job. The reviews were correct as we retired to the bar and had two Grand Marniers and pleasant conversation with Kelly. The staff at the Bistro were a cut above and again made us feel part of the family. As the night was coming to an end the hostess/manager came back to the bar to eat and joined in the conversation. We felt like we were regulars by the time we left! I can easily recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys good food and friendly atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casual French inspired dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great service, reasonable prices and tasty food. The raw oysters were as fresh as I have ever tasted.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Saturday morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our go to for a yummy breakfast! It's clean, and quaint. I recommend the scramble, or any of their specials.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro St. Michaels also viewed

 

Been to Bistro St. Michaels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro St. Michaels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.