We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro St. Michaels

Bistro St. Michaels
403 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
+1 410-745-9111
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro St. Michaels is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Bistro St. Michaels. We create food that is rooted in traditional culinary styles, yet modern. We source the highest quality ingredients, purchase sustainable seafood and work with people who raise their animals naturally, as well as partner with farmers for the freshest vegetables available. All of this comes together under the hand of Executive Chef David Hayes, a native of England whose "creative American" cuisine is prepared with a European flair.Many of our items are already gluten free or can be served gluten free. Thank you for taking the time to dine with us. We hope you enjoy our inspiration. Rob & Caroline Pascal, Owners David Hayes, Executive Chef
Corona del Mar, California, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“what a lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

friends recommended the bistro to us and we are so very glad we gave it a try. the welcome is warm, the staff are attentive, professional, and very helpful. the food is outstanding. everything we had was delicious. what a great place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    53
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Michaels, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Promising Re-Opening of Bistro St. Michaels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The new menu is inventive and suggests a culinary style not common to this little seaport town. My wife and I along with a friend had dinner here during the week to explore the new menu and see how Chef David Hayes was doing with his new endeavor following his widely praised efforts at Harbour Lights. David has created some new dishes and has a nice mix of entrees to span a price range from $19 to $35. Everything on the menu appears to be fresh and carefully selected from farms or high qualify suppliers in this area. I decided to try out the mussels given my fond memories of this "signature appetizer" from the old Bistro . . quite different but lacking the spicy creamy sauce from old. I elected to go with the $35 "Trio of Beef" entree . . but was disappointed as my plate had apparently been prepared before the other dishes and not served promptly . . the hollandaise sauce had melted away and the crab imperial was starting to dry out.at the edges. The other dishes were excellent . . oh, if only my "trio" had been served hot and right away when finished! We had a wide range of soup. salad, appetizer and entrees . . so we gave the new menu a workout. Service was very good and we selected a $50+ French red which was well regarded and pleased everyone . . the gals had started with Cosmopolitans . . which were superbly prepared. We finished with dessert and espresso to finish off the meal. I would have given the new "Bistro" a five star review if it was not for the late delivery of my "Trio of Beef" . . probably one of the things the kitchen staff has to work out to make sure that all 3 entrees come out fresh, hot and at the same time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in St. Michaels for the winefest. We stopped in without a reservation Friday night. There was a little wait, but the staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food wasn't bad. I had the steak which was ok. My husband had halibut which was a special. He loved it. Portion size is nice. the staff is really nice. It's worth trying.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paris in St. Michaels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Magnifique surprise! Bistro St. Michaels is back and even better than before! We dined just a few days after opening and found the experience fabulous. The French Onion Soup was better than Cafe De La Paix in Paris! We shared that with the Apple and Bay Blue organic Boston lettuce, shaved red onions, apple, toasted almonds and Bay Blue Cheese Dressing. Our server recommended Grayson Cellars Chardonnay $25 and delightful. We were so excited with our entrees we forgot to photo them! My wife had the Organic Chicken and Sausage Gumbo which she raved over. The Bisto 1855 Steak Frits, grilled natural bistro tender, house cut pommes frites, asparagus with a wonderful hollandaise were perfectly cooked and presented by a professional server.

Bistro St. Michaels is locally owned by Robert and Caroline Pascal, also owners of St. Michaels Harbor Inn and Marina. They pledged on their menu to purchase sustainable seafood, free range eggs working with local farmers.

Five Stars for Bistro St. Michaels. We're so glad your back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Bistro has Re-Opened under new Management and does not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our party of five visited the Bistro on a Friday night within a week of their re-opening under new management. Our experience was awesome. The menu was very diversified and we gauged ourselves on the apps and soup and never made it to the entrees. The cheese platter was stocked full of cheeses, fruits, jams and peanut butter. The meat platter had the most unique selection of salami, duck, pâté, and accoutrements. One brave soul tried the sweetbreads and loved them. The develop eggs came with a huge selection of pork belly and a wonderful lightly dressed arugula. We were so full from this selection and decided on the wonderful French onion soup and gumbo. We did have reservations and would suggest that you make them to ensure a table in this quaint restaurant. One of our friends is well known in the town and we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Very nice touch. We added a bottle of very nice red wine and enjoyed a very reasonably priced awesome meal. Our plans are to return soon so we can try the entres and have another enjoyable experience. The apps are so tempting and awesome they are hard to pass up! Do not miss this little gem tucked away in this historic little town on the eastern shore of Maryland!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro St. Michaels also viewed

 

Been to Bistro St. Michaels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro St. Michaels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.