We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best meal we've ever had. Period.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 208 Talbot

208 Talbot
208 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663
+1 410-745-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Maybe the best meal we've ever had. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

For my Valentine's Day surprise to my wife, we spent the weekend in St. Michael's. We read a lot about 208 Talbot, but nothing did justice to the quality of the dining experience. I may have been the best dinner we've ever had.

We ordered Seared Scallop and Lobster Spring Rolls for our appetizers. I don't think I've seen bigger scallops, and they were perfectly cooked, with a little home-cured bacon on top. The rolls were crispy and light; not greasy at all like I've had elsewhere. Delicious thai chili sauce on the side made it an instant hit for us.

Our entrees just blew our minds. As seafood worshipers, we're used to boasts about quantity and quality, yet have been disappointed many times. Not here.

My wife ordered the Seared Snapper with Lump Crab, served over basmati rice, spinach, with a light lemon cream sauce. Heard nothing but "mmmmm!" coming from her. And the amount of snapper and crab was amazing!

Then as if to top that, I ordered the Seafood Vol au Vent. Admittedly, I had not idea what "vol au vent" is (a puff pastry), but that didn't even matter. There was so much seafood in this dish I had to stop and take it all in: jumbo shrimp, whopper scallops, half a small lobster tail, lump crab meat, all sandwiched between two light & flakey puffs with mushrooms, spinach and lobster cream sauce.

Straight outta seafood heaven. No question about it.

Then, as if we had space, my wife ordered the Bailey's Irish Cream Cheesecake. I hate cheesecake myself, but this was an eye-opener. Light and fluffy with that distinctive irish cream taste.

We love great food, and have no qualms about spending money on a great meal. This was the best we've ever had regardless of price, and that's saying a lot given the places we've been.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    32
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Delicious food, fancy but not stuffy dining room, friendly wait staff, reasonably priced good wine, m-m-good Bailey's cheesecake - what's not to like?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Food was very good. Service was casual but very good (casual as opposed to the more formal Inn at Perry Creek). Wine by the glass choices were not so good, but the wine by the bottle list was extensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Phenomenal......in all aspects.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Taking a break from everything after Christmas, we stayed in St. Michaels for a couple of days. Upon recommendation we went to the "208 Talbot." It was REALLY busy, but that didn't prevent service from being outstanding! A lot of good thought went into the wine list. It is deep and very complementary to the menu. I'm always a bit cautious when the place where we're staying "highly" recommends a certain restaurant, but this was right on target. Salads were unique and again, much thought went into the their preparation. They came out crisp, fresh and any other superlative I can think of to describe them. Our entrees were wonderfully prepared and NOT salty. I had the special which was pan-roasted red snapper amid gorgeously sauteed vegetables.....AND.....the vegetables had a personality and wonderfully satisfying flavor of their own. It was really cold out and really cozy inside. Go thee, to 208 Talbot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I enjoyed our dinner but don't feel like I can give a fair review since we went on an extremely busy holiday night. I can imagine how it would be with less stress on the kitchen and front side staff and look forward to going back to see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 208 Talbot also viewed

 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to 208 Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 208 Talbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.