We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1st B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Brooks House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added George Brooks House B&B to your Saves list
George Brooks House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24500 Rolles Range Road, St. Michaels, MD 21663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My 1st B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at George's Brooks B&B! Stayed in room 1 which was very nice and clean! I love the fact that I could walk out and relax on the patio! Breakfast was good and the other guest were very friendly and welcoming ! I enjoying riding the bikes around the neighborhood ! And they had tons of DVDs I watched before I went to bed each night ! I wish I could have figured out how to get the fire place to work in my room! Also next time I will go swimming ! Will the inn taker was very pleasant he gave us a wonderful recommendation to a local restaurant! And near by attractions ! We will be back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    86
    26
    19
    6
See reviews for
20
234
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We really liked the GB house.
Thanks Will for setting up such a great B&B!
Room was comfortable and inviting. the amenities well thought out.
Great pool and we particularly loved the bikes they make available.. saves us the trouble of bringing our own and biking through town and down to oxford was a great activity..
We'd definitely come again and highly recommend GB House..

Close enough to town for the convenience, but far enough way to have some room for a big pool and outdoor patio...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The George Brooks house was close to town and with its pool offered a welcome respite to the hot and humid weather. Breakfast was very good, and all the conveniences to make a weekend stay enjoyable were carefully thought out. The room was nice, and arrangements were made for a perfectly wonderful in-room massage with Gabrielle. The pool was the first reason we booked the room, but the food, and conveniences will bring us back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed at George Brooks House for a girls' retreat. We chose this Inn for the location, great price, and amenities. It surpassed my expectations! The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable. The pool was delightful. The breakfasts (we stayed 3 nights) were superb. Will has put a lot of thought into making this Inn the place to be. A refrigerator was available to hold guest drinks or snacks and hot and cold beverages were available anytime. Lively chats over breakfast with guests from around the world enhanced our stay. We had such a lovely time both at the Inn and shopping in St. Michael's that we're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding that was at the Inn at Perry Cabin. Neither my husband nor I have ever stayed at a bed and breakfast but we were pleasantly surprised with our experience. They graciously set aside our key for a late check-in the night of our arrival. The room was great and very clean - my husband was very happy we had a private bathroom! The breakfasts - oh the breakfasts! I loved having an actual breakfast not just a continental buffet of semi-warm crap you get at a chain hotel. We had quiche Lorraine the first morning and a yummy lemon ricotta bake with ham the second morning. Will and his staff were very friendly and gave us great advice for where to eat in St. Michael's. I wish we had more time to enjoy the pool out back but had many wedding festivities going on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is our third time back at the George Brooks House and we've always enjoyed our time there. The prices are reasonable, rooms are nice, and breakfast is tasty. There's always tea, coffee, and cold drinks on hand if you need them and they provide a library of DVDs for those who are just looking for some time to veg out away from the hectic-ness of home. Another nice perk is that they had bicycles on hand our second visit which allowed us to ride into town without worrying about parking.

We've typically stayed in the Queen Fireplace room which provided comfortable bedding, plush bath towels, and a functioning gas fireplace for the chillier nights. For breakfast this latest visit, we had belgian waffles with fruit and muffins one morning, and we were served quiche with fruit and coffee cake the next. Both meals were very delicious, though being pregnant, my wife definitely wanted more than one serving!

The Workmans have always been very kind and welcoming to us, have been accommodating to all of our needs, and were always accessible for anything even if it was for a dining suggestion. For us, this is our go-to place for a weekend away in St Michael's.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Will has it set up so that you can make yourself so at home. Coffee maker available 24/7; I don't recall that we've had separate thermostats everywhere before, a cozy fireplace (which we did not need last week), access to cold drinks in 'fridge. A number of little things that you don't think of but are nice to have. Good food and good dining recs too.
I believe the Germans have a phrase, Gemutlichkeit that applies here.We'd stay again.

Room Tip: may wish to be upstairs or you will hear heavy footsteps overhead on creaky floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Brooks House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Brooks House B&B

Address: 24500 Rolles Range Road, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Brooks House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Award Winner for Best Historic Restoration in 2001, the George Brooks House provides superb "bed and breakfast" and so much more just outside of town on 8 acres with the best swimming pool, hot tub and formal gardens in the area. Bedrooms have mahogany canopy Queen or King beds, TV/DVD, A/C and private bathrooms with custom tiled showers. Breakfast starts with pastry and coffee at 8 - 9 AM followed by a fruit course and then hot entree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George Brooks House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Brooks House Hotel St. Michaels
George Brooks House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Brooks House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.