We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Won't Get Caught In This Pickle!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pickle FoodBar - CLOSED

Big Pickle FoodBar
209 South Tablot Street, St. Michaels, MD
410-745-8011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Bar, Delicatessen, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You Won't Get Caught In This Pickle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Walking downtown St. Michael's on our first visit and wandered in to the Big Pickle Food Bar, by luck. OK, the Monday night special for half-off a bottle of wine street sign did have something to do with it, but they did offer a good variety of regional dishes including lump crab cakes. I went for the broiled crab cakes (you can also get them fried) which were moist and served with tasty, crispy, fries. My wife had a Caesar Salad with shrimp which were tender and delicious. There were only four shrimp in there but they were a decent size. Despite the seafood entrees, we still went with a red wine; a 2009 Argentine Malbec which worked quite well. Service was good and they offer entertainment on select nights. If there weren't so many other choices in the area, we'd definitely return on this trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great looking place... slightly over priced for the food, great bar environment. Good Happy Hour bar specials

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This restaurant has a nice location and really good food. Prices were about average. The only thing we were a bit disappointed with was that the service seemed a bit slow.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

What a great establishment! Terrific service from young energetic servers. I had a gourmet hot dog, wow! Located in the center of the village it features a well stocked bar and great food. We always look for alfresco dining and the Big Pickle has it all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“interesting but pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

nice decor and friendly staff, but way overpriced fro what you get. Great bar environment though. Stop in fora happy hour drink then leave!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Pickle FoodBar also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pickle FoodBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.