We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restored and refined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Snuggery Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Snuggery Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Snuggery Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
203 Cherry St., St. Michaels, MD 21663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Restored and refined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The owners/hosts have expertly renovated The Snuggery bed and breakfast in St. Michaels, MD. They have maintained the historical elements of the structure, while updating the living spaces with smartly designed and decorated interiors.
Tucked in at the end of historic Cherry Street (the birthplace of Frederick Douglass), the Snuggery is one of St. Michael's oldest houses. With only three guest rooms, (one on the main floor and two upstairs), you are assured of a very quiet and relaxed stay. Phil's breakfasts are a highlight of each day, and be sure to use him as a local resource--he is quite knowledgable about happenings in the area.
St. Michaels itself has an abundance of restaurants, but be sure to make table reservations at Ava's. It's upscale pizza and healthy entrees had us coming back every evening of our stay. For a white tablecloth treat, venture to the Inn at Perry Cabin, a resort situated right on the water. Lunch on the tomato soup and lobster sandwich combination--our favorite!
For a more urban vibe, drive to neighboring Easton. This "city" is loaded with museums, gallerys, and architecture worth exploring. The information center has brochures for the entire area, and across the street is arguably the best lunch spot in Easton--Mason's (also a chocolatier). The Easton Historical Society has a small museum, a lovely strolling garden, and an antique thrift shop across the street.
If you are a YMCA member, don't forget to bring your membership card. The Y's away policy allows a visitor 7 free visits. This Y is incredibly large and well-equipped. Try your hand at the newly-installed rock climbing wall--the Y employees patiently help even the most novice climber.
There a boat rides galore , to fit all budgets. Start with the Patriot Cruise located next to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum. It has several sailings a day, and is a good overview for the area, besides being a lovely way to spend an hour. While there, get your fill of blue crabs at the Crab Claw, a bit touristy, but a must-do landmark .
The Oxford-Bellevue ferry (9 cars plus foot passengers) runs about every 20 minutes and is another way to get time in on the water. The town of Oxford is also a great place to explore. Start at the Historical Society Museum on the main drag. Purchase the walking tour brochure, and begin your tour at the quaint one-room library. The librarian was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Our part of the tour ended across town at a Scottish Highlands ice cream stand right on the water. I have never had passionfruit yogurt icecream before, but I recommended it to all I met that afternoon.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Snuggery is 'the" epitome of a classic B&B--from the location, the owners, the breakfast and the perfect amenities. Phil and his wife are gracious hosts that understand the true meaning of how to run a fantastic B&B. If you are looking for owners that care about the upkeep of their home, care about their guests having a wonderful visit and care about the image of their little town then you won't find a better place to stay. If you are looking for a stuffy, impersonal environment of a hotel room--then you should not stay at the Snuggery, but if you want a warm, inviting, comfortable atmosphere that allows you to connect with your partner/inner self--then you have found the perfect location. All of the other descriptions in the other reviews are 100% accurate--but it is Phil and Coralee that make the Snuggery the memory that you won't soon forget!

Room Tip: Take anyone that is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

What a delightful place to stay! The couple who lives in and runs this B & B are genuine and top notch. Very knowledgeable about the area's history both past and present. The owner made an excellent dinner recommendation for Ava's on the main street and it was a one of kind food experience. The owner himself cooked & served a delicious breakfast in the morning. The room we stayed in was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. You will not be disappointed. This first time I went with a good friend for some quiet time and girl chats, next time I am taking my husband and hope it will be soon!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Snuggery is a great little spot in 'downtown' St. Michaels. You can walk to everything. It is the oldest house in the area (built in 16something). The hosts were very gracious and the breakfast was marvelous. A very relaxing spot where you can sit on the porch and read or wander down to the water to gaze at the boats or take a walk to a number of nearby restaurants or nearby shops. Will definitely stay there again when in the area

Room Tip: No tips...all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hosts Phil and Carolee made our anniversary stay utterly fabulous. It's always a delight to meet such fun & interesting people. The accomodations they offer are absolutely immaculate, clean, peaceful, and comfortable. A first floor large, sumptuous queen bed and tons of towels and toiletries for the bath. We also had our little living room with fireplace. They even had complimentary water, beer, and mixers for drinks that we could help ourselves to as we liked! Breakfast was fresh fruit, OJ, french pressed coffee, fabulously seasoned eggs, bacon, and a delicious sticky bun. It was a pleasure to sit on the spacious front porch on the rockers and watch the tourist go by. The location is wonderful if you're looking to be within walking distance to everything, yet have peace and quiet. They're just one house up from the maritime musuem side of the water. Phil's suggestions of eating at Ava's for a meal of quality at a good value was spot on. We could see why Ava's is rated #1. Another nice perk was being able to book just one night at such a great price when most others B&B's require at least two nights. We are definitley passing this little gem onto all our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

The Snuggery B&B is nothing short of a quaint southern hospitality in the eastern shore of Maryland.

We did not have a lot of expectations except for a relaxing weekend away from the mundane chaos that we have been accustomed to. Indeed, The Snuggery provided us the most relaxing, hospitable and yet private experience during our stay at St. Michaels. Furthermore, it won't be B&B without the hot gourmet breakfast served daily by Phil and Carolee filled with fresh fruits, sausage or bacon, and eggs, cornbread or pancakes. Likewise, Phil is a very good resource for a good place to dine. When we asked for a good seafood dining, he suggested a couple of places which he thought might be to our liking. He did not disappoint us. We had lunch at Crab Claw and made our dinner reaervation at The Bistro, where I had the best crab cake meal by far.

Thanks to Phil and Carolee, we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent one fabulous evening in St. Michaels over the 4th of July weekend. The Snuggery was a perfect place to stay. It's adorable -- renovated and modern but still historic and charming. It's located on a side street right off the main drag, so we parked the car and walked everywhere. There are only three rooms, so it felt private and quiet. Our room had a comfortable queen bed and was really clean and nice. And Phil and Carol Lee were wonderful hosts. Phil helped us with where to go for dinner (Crab Claw's outdoor patio -- fun!). The breakfast he cooked was amazing! Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed chatting with our hosts and learning more about the house and the town.

It may feel weird in this day and age to book a place without seeing all the specifics on a website, but I'm so glad we just went with the glowing reviews and did it! Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Snuggery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snuggery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 203 Cherry St., St. Michaels, MD 21663
Location: United States > Maryland > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Snuggery Hotel St. Michaels
The Snuggery Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snuggery Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.