We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Brick Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Brick Inn to your Saves list
The Old Brick Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   401 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 nts get Winefest
Ranked #4 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Rumson, NJ
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

We stayed two nights in the Monarch's Landing room at the Kemp Building, across and down the street from the main building. We asked for quiet, and this room was perfect - at the rear of the building, away from the main street, private balcony, coffee service in the hallway. A wonderful breakfast was served both mornings at the main building.

Heads up: this room was a little smaller than others, but we knew that and accepted that to have the total quiet. And internet was down in the Kemp building, but I could have used it in the main building if I really needed it.

John and Sally are wonderful hosts, and we would stay here again.

  • Liked — The Quiet!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    55
    21
    12
    16
See reviews for
12
214
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

My husband and I took four much needed days off from kids and dogs and traveled down route 95 to route 301 to route 50...to one of the most wonderful towns - and the most wonderful Inn - that we have ever experienced. St. Michaels is so beautiful - very Norman Rockwell like. Cobblestone streets, old victorian houses nestled alongside quaint cape style cottages. Gardens with arbors and pergolas. People who sit on their front porches and greet you as you walk by. We parked the car at the Old Brick Inn and only used it once to explore Easton, a nearby town.

The Old Brick Inn was a wonderful experience. Sally and John, the Innkeepers, greet you warmly upon arrival and make you feel at home the entire time, without being overbearing. The Inn itself is beautifully decorated. Each room has its own charm. We stayed in the Tuscany room - lovely with a small balcony facing the courtyard. Our weather was spectacular, so we explored all day and returned to the Inn for a glass of wine on our balcony. The Inn has a collection of wines that can be purchased - really tasty! Sally makes a fabulous breakfast each morning - the normal fruit/granola/yogurt collection - but also offers delicious homemade pastries and one gourmet breakfast item. While we were there, we were treated to eggs benedict, a delightful egg/asparagus souffle, and a mushroom/egg tart. Sally is vegetarian, so the entrees are vegetarian - but there is always a meat item on the side such as sausage or ham. There are complimentary bottled water and coffee and tea available all day and night - and delicious cookes on a platter to pick from all afternoon.

The Inn is located in the heart of town, so you can walk everywhere - shopping, restaurants, the maritime museum. It's a perfect setting for a romantic getaway...but try going on a weekday when the town is quieter. The locals are wonderful people and make you feel at home! WE ARE GOING TO RETURN THIS FALL!

  • Liked — the ambience and location
  • Disliked — there was not a thing we did not like!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

This inn is charming and in a great location. The rooms were as described on the vendor website, right down to the knight in shining armour decoration. The Lady G room is superb and the double shower head was a real treat.

Breakfast was delicious and filling (crepes, sausages, fruit, fruit juice and coffee). The staff were friendly and accomodating.

It's a bit pricey, but I'd return soon to try other rooms.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, room cleanliness, and breakfast!
  • Disliked — A bit of traffic noise as the inn faces a street.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

My husband and I wanted to escape to somewhere close, but new to us. An article in the Philadelphia Inquirer about the Blackwater NWR inspired us to look a bit closer at Maryland's Eastern Shore. The Old Brick Inn seemed to have what we were looking for -- king-sized bed, balcony, fireplace and convenience to the town of St. Michaels.

We got all that... and more. A bed piled high with pillows, snuggly robes, tea and coffee whenever we wanted either, and lots of little amenities. Bottled water in the mini-fridge, cookies in the afternoon, a corkscrew right next to the ice bucket in the room. We've been scared off by overly-stuffy 'gourmet breakfasts' at some other B&Bs - the breakfasts at the Inn were quite tasty (and gourmet) without the stuffiness! The raspberry & white chocolate scones were a definite first day treat. Ready access to a toaster, cereals, yogurt and fruit provided enough variety for us to start our mornings right.

We ate dinner at Characters Cafe (twice), checked out coffee at St Michaels Perk, and walked Talbot St. And yes, we did get to the Blackwater NWR to see bald eagles!

John and Sallie provided a wonderful location to anchor our two-day getaway. The Old Brick Inn, and St. Michaels are now on our list of places to see again - we'll be back!

  • Liked — the atmosphere - comfortable and welcoming, filled with lots of considerate touches
  • Disliked — one small quibble - the shower/jacuzzi floor was a bit slippery
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

My husband and I just spent the weekend at the Old Brick Inn and it was wonderful. This was our second time in St. Michaels- we love it there! The staff at the Old Brick Inn were very personable and the accomodations were lovely. We stayed in the Lady Guinevere room- which was beautiful. The breakfasts were out of this world-- not sure why other reviews would ever complain!! Overall it was a very romantic and lovely weekend...we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

Stayed for two nights in the Scarlett Room. Lovely room. Very beautifully decorated with two queen beds.

The pool was extremely small so don't expect to swim laps. Also had a hot tub though which was a nice addition.

Breakfast was mediocre. Served buffet style and was cold by the time I got mine. First day was quiche (lorraine and spinach) and ham, the next day was some sort of asparagus egg casserole and sausage. Also offered fruit, granola, yogurt, toast, juice, tea and one type of pastry. I would not recommend the Old Brick for the breakfasts based on what I ate.

Overall though, not bad. Fine for a short trip in a quaint town.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBrickInnkeeper, Manager at The Old Brick Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2007
I feel terrible about the breakfast! I am usually the cook and as you can see most reviewers (and our other guests) love our food. I was in the hospital for four days and out of the Inn for nearly two weeks. For someone who is never sick - that was really hard.

Unfortunately, during that time I had to rely on other staff members to do my cooking, and while it wasn't bad, it certainly wasn't up to our normal standards!

I am back, and doing well - and the breakfasts are back to where you would expect them to be!

Hope to see you soon.

Sallie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We spent a night in the "Love Letters" room in the Kemp House. The room itself was small but nicely furnished, comfortable enough and quaint. The bathroom, however, was so small that we had difficulty using the facilities. I can't imagine a sizable person navigating the ultra cramped quarters. Because of the size, I feel the room was slightly overpriced. I had a chance to peek into other rooms once the guests had vacated them and they all seemed more spacious and thus, more reasonable. The Innkeepers were very nice and welcoming, breakfast was delicious and well presented and both buildings were quite lovely. I would still recommend this B&B but would simply request one of the larger rooms. Overall, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Brick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brick Inn

Address: 401 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Brick Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St.Michaels, The Old Brick Inn and Kemp House are elegant, historic homes built in the late eighteenth century. Both offer European charm with modern updates for the comfort of our guests. Our highly professional staff work tirelessly to ensure that every guest has his/her needs met. Nineteen luxurious guest rooms all have ensuite private baths, digital tv and free wireless. Several premium rooms offer whirlpool tubs or double showers. Our private courtyard features a small but wonderful outdoor pool. On-site parking is available for all of our guests except during WineFest at St Michaels. Our inn includes a full breakfast(not the norm in St Michaels). We now have a beautiful bar where all of our guests can relax and enjoy a fabulous selection of wines and beer. Since we are the home of WineFest at St Michaels, we have some GREAT wines:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Brick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Brick Hotel St. Michaels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Brick Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.