We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do while in St. Michael's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Selina II

Sail Selina II
101 North Harbor Rd, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-726-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Selina II sails daily from St Michaels MD from April-Oct. Passengers are limited to just six guests for a personal experience of the history of sail. Available on a per person basis or private charter, we offer day sails, romantic Champagne Sunset Cruises, moonlight sails, wine tasting and beer tasting excursions, sit down dinners, small weddings, overnights, engagements, birthdays,& anniversary celebrations.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must do while in St. Michael's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a beautiful sailing boat and a wonderful captain and crew. We loved that it is only a six person cruise. Captain Iris and Frank were so informative with lots of history and great stories. We had beautiful weather and can't wait to do this again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed our stories and our nice small group of just six guests. Each trip is different and reflects what our guests are interested in, and what questions they ask. Thank you for being such good question askers!!! We LOVE guests like you. Come back soon!! - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    7
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-hour sail on the Selina. The Selina is a beautifully maintained historic sailboat. The captain and deckhand were really friendly too. We were the only guests on that sailing so we had a private sail just for us - what a treat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Sometimes it happens that only one couple calls. When that hapens folks are always really surprised that we dont cancel, but I dont want anyone disapointed that they didnt get to go out on the Selina. So glad you enjoyed your 'private charter' !! -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Capt Iris Rocks with stories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Selina II is riveting sail boat with history of being 3rd generation, the two hour cruise felt longer, Captain Iris was capturing with her story telling and should be part of your excursion in St Michaels. We’ll be returning and might do the overnight trip they offer next time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Sometimes I wonder how it is that I ended up on the Selina II, lucky enough to be the granddaughter of the folks that had her built. And it turns out other people wonder that, too, and sometimes I end up telling her story, and my story, and the story of 'my' St Michaels, and 'my' Chesapeake. Sometimes its just in the telling, but most of the time its in the listening, and you were a great audience. Thanks for bringing my world to life, we love passengers like you! - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private Sailing Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Capt Iris and Frank are cordial and knowledgeable, the boat is absolutely beautiful. A two hour private sailing lesson (for up to 6 - we had 4) was a perfect way to experience the Selina and the water around St. Michael's. Frank "shows you the ropes." In addition to enjoying the cruise, you learn to raise and handle the sails, "pull out all the stops", steer the boat, read the telltales, buoys and gauges, and learn about how sailing works. Be aware that it is not a sailing school lesson, but its a great way to combine a great sail on an historic vessel with interactivity and learning if you are not an experienced sailor. Recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We love giving sailing lessons, its so rewarding to de-mystify how it all works. And yes you are right, we are not a sailing school and have never claimed to be. I always refer folks to the OffShore Sailing School if they are looking for accredidation. I can tell you got a kick out of all the nautical expressions we use. I read somewhere that the average American uses 15 expressions based on our maritime past, and I believe it. So until next time, 'fair wind and following seas' -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Phenomenal experience - a cherished memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I recently took a trip to St. Michael’s to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. Even though we have lived on the water in South Carolina for most of our lives and owned boats we had never been sailing. Captain Iris, along with first mate, Frank and the Selina II made our experience awesome. Fearful that we would be rained out in the beginning the Captain made the right call and we set sail. The picturesque route along the Miles River and all of the historical information about the Selina II and the area provided by Captain Iris and Frank made this phenomenal experience the highlight of our trip. As an amateur photography my voyage was augmented by taking images of the historic boats and the extraordinary waterscapes. My husband and I will be talking about our memorable trip for years and would love to return in the future.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Well coming from a lifelong power boater your kind words are extra special. Yes, St Michaels has a very scenic waterfront, perfect for photography. I'm glad you got some great pics! - Hope to have you aboard again soon, -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Selina II also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Sail Selina II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Selina II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.