We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Smooth sail"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Selina II

Sail Selina II
101 North Harbor Rd, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-726-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Selina II sails daily from St Michaels MD from April-Oct. Passengers are limited to just six guests for a personal experience of the history of sail. Available on a per person basis or private charter, we offer day sails, romantic Champagne Sunset Cruises, moonlight sails, wine tasting and beer tasting excursions, sit down dinners, small weddings, overnights, engagements, birthdays,& anniversary celebrations.
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Smooth sail"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Selina was a great sight to see at dock. An instant friendly greeting from crew and captain. We booked the late afternoon trip, mid to upper 70's clear sky's. We shared the trip with one other couple. None of us had had any previous real experiance sailing. We all had a great time. Learning
About the Selina's history, family and how she has aged. Then there was all the nautical ways and terminology she easily and happily discussed with us. The conversation flowed so very smoothly. Both Capt. Iris and 1st mate Frank were so open, friendly and easy to talk to. Even though the wind did not cooperate with much at all, we did raise the sails and gently flowed across the Miles River. At first the was a little bit of disappointment about not blazing across the water, but just as Capt. Iris said at the start " The most exciting thing about sailing is that you never quite know what will happen when you finally get out on the water. All in all had a fantastic time - thank you Captain! Paul & Christine McLane, Chantilly, Va.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
How nice of you to recognize that the magic in an outing aboard the Selina II isnt about how fast we go, but about the people we are with, the beauty in the things around us, and the softness in our hearts. Thanks for asking lots of questions and being terrific guests! - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    7
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I'm sure the beautiful weather helped, but we had an amazing time this week on the Selina II. Captain Iris and First Mate John were accommodating, friendly and knowledgable. The small group size (6 guests and 2 crew) makes for a more intimate experience on this gorgeous boat. Be sure to call well in advance so that you don't miss out. Taking in the sunset under Selina's sail with a glass of champagne will rank up there with my most memorable experiences.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I'm so glad you had beautiful weather, but even happier that you enjoyed Selina II's beautifully varnished mahogany & polished brass, and my first mate Franks attentions, he is good crew! And what a compliment "Taking in the sunset under Selina's sail with a glass of champagne will rank up there with my most memorable experiences" WOW, Thanks!!! - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Fantastic voyage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went on a 2 hour champagne sunset cruise. First of all, the boat is amazing. It's large, comfortable, and beautiful. This is a leisurely and beautiful cruise. We had great weather and it was a magical experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I love the word 'magic', it conjours up more than just the sights and sounds, it reflects a wonderful emotional aspect of a special experience. I'm so glad you had that happened to you, makes me feel proud, thanks! -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh what a night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I joined Capt. Iris last week for an evening sail - perfectly timed to take full advantage of warm evening breezes and a gorgeous full moon! Being a sailor myself, I was most delighted to have the chance to be a passenger aboard this meticulously maintained vintage craft - she is a beauty! Capt. Iris happily shares her extensive knowledge and love for the area, sailing, and people. One of the other passengers "guest skippered" while we sat back and enjoyed the ride, sipping champagne, taking in the view and chatting with the other passengers. I own a Bed & Breakfast in St. Michaels (Dr. Dodson House) and have had so many guests over the years tell me what a fabulous experience they had on the Selina. They were right! Thank you, Capt. Iris!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We were delighted to finally have you aboard after all these years. I'm glad you had a wonderful trip, but even happier to hear all your guests have had nice things to say about their experiences on Selina II. Hope to have you back again soon! - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely trip with Captain Iris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had a wonderful trip with Captain Iris this week, I had been meaning to do it for awhile and was so glad that I did. We learned about the history of some of the yachts in the harbor, enjoyed a relaxed time out on the water, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A must for every trip to Saint Michaels. We're actually going back next week just for an evening cruise with her when we'll be able to see the sunset and a full moon at the same time. Can't wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
There are only a few times during our season that the sun sets and the moon rises at the same time,and it is pure magic when this happens if the clouds cooperate. I post these times on our web site, but even so only a few get to experience it. I'm so delighted that YOU are coming back to experience this special outing, we so enjoyed having you and your mom aboard, cant wait to have you aboard again!! -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Selina II also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Sail Selina II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Selina II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.