We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape from the DC rat race” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Selina II

Sail Selina II
101 North Harbor Rd, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-726-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Selina II sails daily from St Michaels MD from April-Oct. Passengers are limited to just six guests for a personal experience of the history of sail. Available on a per person basis or private charter, we offer day sails, romantic Champagne Sunset Cruises, moonlight sails, wine tasting and beer tasting excursions, sit down dinners, small weddings, overnights, engagements, birthdays,& anniversary celebrations.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great escape from the DC rat race”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We last visited St. Michaels in 2006 and experienced Selina II on a sunset sail. While living overseas for the next 6 years I received occasional emails from Capt Iris and vowed that when we get back to the DC region we would make time to visit St. Michaels again and Sail on the Selina II.

Capt Iris didn't disappoint, the boat is a magnificent piece of nautical history and is the experience of sailing with Capt Iris is always entertaining and educational. The leisurely sail around the St. Michaels harbor let us see the town and local restaurants from the water, at this point you know Capt Iris is a true local character as people shout greetings from the shore.

Once under sail, it was time to relax with our fellow sailors and enjoy a locally brewed beer...what more could you ask for?

A great experience - nice work Capt Iris, we look forward to the next time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
How nice that you were looking forward to sailing with us again when you got back to the USA. Repeat businees is the highest form of a compliment, THANK YOU!! Hope we get to sea you again next time your travels bring you to Washington DC. -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    7
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The boat is historic, the sail huge and beautiful against the sky. My husband, who is no sailor, helped hoist the sale, with the first mate's help, and it was memorable fun. We sipped champagne and chatted with Captain Iris, who is knowledgeable and just the right blend of professional and warmly personal. Leaving harbor, she exchanged many cheery "ahoys" with other sailors she knows and the feeling was upbeat. We enjoyed the experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thanks! We enjoy our New York guests and you guys were quintisential (sp?) New Yorkers. Who else would lay two new vocabulary words on us? Gustitorial & dendredic, you even stumped my Phi Beta Cappa mother, wow! That's a great day on the water for sure! Hope to sea you aboard again some time - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Number ONE for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just can't say enough about our incredibly relaxing, educational, and informative sail with Capt Iris on the Selina II. The boat was built in 1926 and I think Capt Iris knows her entire history. She's the third generation owner and a lot of her blood, sweat, and tears go into her. She is beautifully maintained, sails effortlessly, and Capt Iris and her first mate are so gracious!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, I try so hard to keep Selina II maintained the way she deserves, and I try equally hard to answer peoples questions without 'holding court'. Its good to hear I get it right sometimes! Do come for another sail with us sometime if you find your way back to our magic little town. - Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beautiful 2 hours on the Selina II. Captain Iris was able to share her knowledge of sailing and the area with our out-of-town guests. Gorgeous boat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, especially at the beginning of the season when we are still 'working out the kinks'. I always worry all the details so its nice to hear we are doing OK! Thanks again, Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
“Married on a beautiful sailboat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We found the Selina II while searching online for location on the water to get married. We are from Louisville, KY and wanted something different and on the water. We fell in love with the boat online, and once we contacted Captain Iris, it was a no-brainer. We looked forward to a sunset cruise on the bay with Captain Iris to marry us while underway. Captain Iris was a wonderful help in the months leading up to the wedding with everything from the actual ceremony to where to stay in town. However the true class and professionalism of Captain Iris came out when the day of our wedding arrived with torrential downpours. Captain Iris and her First Mate put up a huge awning and made a frustrating situation a perfect occasion to get married! They made sure we still got a fantastic boat ride and were married underway, rain and all. OH! And in all the craziness of planning the wedding reception back home I forgot to hire a photographer and the First Mate was kind enough to take photos during the ceremony. There was just no end to their kindness in making our wedding a wonderful occasion for all the right reasons instead of what could have been a nightmare. Long story short: The boat is beautiful, Captain Iris is groovy lady, and while I can't comment to the actual sail, if the care and attention to detail given to a trip when you CAN'T sail is any indication, going out under sail must be a fantastic trip.

I would recommend the Selina II to families, couples, those new to sailing and those experienced. Pretty much everyone! They do all kinds of different cruises. The layout of a cat boat is very accommodating and easy to get around. As an experienced sailor myself, I enjoyed the chance to ride on a classic boat. Even if in the rain and by motor...We will sail with Selina II again!!

From my husband: "The Selina II is a gorgeous vessel. Would get married again! 10 of 10!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainIris, Owner at Sail Selina II, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! You guys were such great sports about the weather. It truely was a wonderful outing despite the rain. Magic happened that day out on the water, all beautiful siver & gray, I loved watching you dance in the cockpit, and hubby's hightop sneakers with tux were a complete hoot. And congratulations, I heard you are expecting #1, how wonderful!! If you need a girls name and cant decide, I know Selina would be happy to share . . . .Looking forward to having you back aboard someday, we have life jackets for kids & babies of all ages. -Capt Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Selina II also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Sail Selina II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Selina II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.