We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative experience and service !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aida's Victoriana Inn

Save Saved
You added Aida's Victoriana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aida's Victoriana Inn
205 Cherry St., St. Michaels, MD 21663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superlative experience and service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wow ! This was our 1st experience in a B&B which our kids booked. For our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We cannot tell you what a great, phenomenal outing it was. This 1-acre architectural marvel is owned and run by an absolutely wonderful, caring and very knowledgeable inn-keeper.
There are 3 porches, 1 hammock (that my wife was so surprised to see and use, she loved it so much), great manicured grounds, pond, out door chairs and table, pebble stone parking lot, very homely family and dining area, and on and on. You should sit on the front porch(es) and there is a great view of quant but wooden bridge over the pond which leads out to private and public boats and a great Crab restaurant. Next to that is a Marine musuem.
And, the breakfast, with our other fellow-guests sitting next to us, was out of this world. The evening before Aida opened up vintage wine and gave us other delicious treats.

Aida, is talkative and very friendly, and gave us all the details for hiking, walking, biking, visiting the church, what to do in town, 6 PM store shut-downs, and even gave us the names of other B&Bs and historical Inns ! We also saw the beautiful sun-set at Tilghman Island.
If you like sweet, unspoilt weddings (one was being held, another was the next weekend), lots of local events, seafood,and walking around circa 1800's and circa 1700 homes and building, then This Is It ! Sorry, no Hyatts and Marriott's or McDonald restaurants !

We truly got a great 30th wedding Anniversary outing. Thanks, Aida.

Room Tip: Ask for front and road-facing rooms. Lower rooms are absolutely gorgeous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Victoriana Inn a couple of times and both times Aida has proven her Inn to be just as the title of this review states, "Classy, Quiet and Comfortable. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The Inn is set way back from the main street of St. Michael's (Talbot) keeping the noise level way down for guests. Even though we were staying there for a get-away trip, we had some computer work to do and Aida set us up with a lovely antique table and chair so we could work. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and manicured to perfection. Aida is gracious and really knows how to bring guests together yet maintain everybody's privacy.

Aida's breakfasts are outstanding; they are uncomplicated, delicious, satisfying and very diverse.

We plan to stay there again. We love it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After the stress of caring for and losing my beloved elderly father, my husband and I were looking for a way to decompress and also to celebrate our 46th anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place than Aida's Victoriana Inn. We stayed from Sun. March 10 till Thurs. March 14th and left renewed and refreshed, well fed and well cared for by our warm and personable hostess Aida and her able assistant Ruth. We stayed in the Suite overlooking the harbor. Everything was immaculate when we arrived and stayed that way. The bed was very comfortable. We were near everything we wanted to see in town and took some scenic walks suggested by Aida. Breakfasts were nourishing, plentiful and very tasty and lots of snacks were available at all times. The get away at Aida's was just what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

....and the woman herself is very social and hospitable. All the guests sit together for breakfast, and she breaks the ice and gets conversations going. Aida told us of her restaurant experience with her family while growing up. She knows what it takes to run the show. Food was very good. We booked on the spur of the moment, so our only choice was a small room, but the bathroom was large. I love staying in the old homes, so we don't mind creaky floors, and unusual layouts of the rooms, or a plumbing issue. I have all the comforts at home, so b&b's are an adventure. Good location, at the waterfront. We were there in Oct. '11 (not Jan. '12) and did a sailboat cruise with Selena II which was terrific... weather threatened but turned out ok and the sail was on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wanted to like this place. Stayed based on other reviews. It needs a complete renovation. The whole place is dirty, the kitchen is disgusting, the breakfast was awful. Precooked sausage and doughy french toast with imitation maple syrup. Coffee was good. Sheets; polyester. All this from the most expensive lodging we found on a week long trip to the peninsula. So not worth the money.

Room Tip: Pick a room at some other B & B:)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorianainn, Owner at Aida's Victoriana Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are so sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay, however without knowing your thoughts, while staying with us, we couldn't address your issues. We take pride in our home,food, customer service and cleanliness. We encourage everyone to let us know how we are doing while staying with us. I am a firm believer that all feedback is positive, in order to provide excellent service. Please feel free to contact me so I can see what I can do to address any issues you may still have.
Aida
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Aida was great. We got in early and she was not in. Called her and she walked us thru the entry codes and had our room waiting for us. Great service. Excellent breakfast. Thanks. Will come again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back from visiting St. Michael's for two days.Aida was very friendly and helpful the entire stay.We had no problem using our gift certificate from our son. Aida's Victoriana Inn is very clean and staffed with friendly people.We stayed in the small suite with a fantastic water view. Our last morning we were greeted by a blue heron and a banjo player right outside our room! Had a wonderful time and would recommend Aida's to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aida's Victoriana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aida's Victoriana Inn

Address: 205 Cherry St., St. Michaels, MD 21663
Location: United States > Maryland > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1865 Home on the historic Harbor of St. Michaels. An acre of land within walking distance to most of the attractions.Six rooms and one Jr. Suite, all private baths, some waterview, fireplace, twin, queen & king rooms. Full hot breakfast and complimentary snacks. Friday Evening innkeepers reception for guest. One pet friendly room. Free Wifi throughout property and complimentary on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Aida's Victoriana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aida`s Victoriana Hotel St. Michaels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aida's Victoriana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.