We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patriot Cruises

Patriot Cruises
At the foot of Cherry Street, Next to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-745-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine taking in the beauty of the Miles River and St Michaels on a replica of a 1930's steam ship called "The Patriot". We help you become familiar with the area as we cruise upon the beautiful Miles River, part of the Chesapeake Bay Estuary which is the largest in the Western Hemisphere. Learn about our local beginnings, view historic homes and wildlife, and watch local watermen harvest clams, oysters and the famous Chesapeake Bay Blue Crab during their respective seasons.The PATRIOT offers more than the historical scenic cruises for which it is famous. Four daily cruises are scheduled as well as evening charters for a variety of events. Let our captain and crew cater your small intimate affairs with close friends, family reunions, corporate events and more! Relax while you and your guests enjoy beautiful views along the Miles River that change with the seasons. We cruise from Mid-May to Mid- October at 12:30 and 2:30pm on Weekdays and at 11am, 12:30, 2:30 and 4:00pm on Weekends. We hold our famous Island Music Cocktail Cruise on many Saturday evenings at 5:30pm. Check our Patriot Cruises website for availability.We cruise weekends only from Mid-April through Mid-May and Mid-Ocotber through Mid- November at 12:30 and 2:30pm.Prices are $24.50 for Adults, $22.00 for those 65 and over, $12.50 for those 12-17, $5.00 for those 3-11 and all under 3 are free!
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I get seasick pretty easily so I was a little hesitant to accept an invitation for a breakfast cruise. After we left the dock I realized that I had nothing to worry about. This is a very smooth, calm trip down the river, and you get to see the beautiful shorelines and houses you can only dream to own. The boat was extremely clean (yes, even the bathrooms, and yes, I did check both the men's and women's). Drinks and food were tasty and crew was wonderful. Total relaxation.

This is really something that you should do at least once in St. Michaels. We will be back to sail with them again for sure!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    32
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hod Hasharon
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Relaxing, Informative, Beautiful Cruise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

During a three day wedding event in St. Michaels, we took the Saturday 12:30 Patriot cruise up the Miles River.
It was a glorious sunny autumn day with crisp clear visibility.
By the way - the boat has a large indoor climate controlled deck with large windows for less friendly weather.....
The boat is roomy with plenty of outside standing and sitting places for the kind of weather we had.
The narration was nicely presented and covered some of the history, geography and even some local gossip about the passing by scenery.
There is a nice bar on the boat, providing beer and other goodies to make the trip even more pleasant and interesting........
The round trip takes 90 minutes and is worth every penny.
Beautiful!! Relaxing!! Perfect!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“St. Michaels Patriot Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We finally had an opportunity after a week of bad weather to take the cruise October 15th 2013. Everyone affiliated with the cruise line were so nice to eveyone. They made you feel like family. The pre recorded presentation as we cruised proved to be invaluable for the river knowledge. As we glided across the water taking picture after picture and talking to the various other guest you couldn't help but RELAX! The trip is only 1 hour but to me it felt much longer in a good since. I didn't want to get off the boat. I even got and opportunity to steer the boat back part of the way which brought out the kid in me and it showed to everyone on the boat. The other good aspect about this is most things in the town are walking accessible like the maritime museum right next door as well as some really good restaurants. This is definitely a must take trip if you are in St. Michaels, Md or in Maryland period.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great thing to do on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sailing on the Patriot was a wonderful excursion on what was an otherwise dreary Saturday. The historical narrative was informative, and everyone could be "captain" for a moment piloting the ship. A great thing for kids of all ages. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennettsbridge, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“the mists of time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

even on a grey & drizzly Saturday afternoon in October, Patriot Cruises was a great experience. Serenely gliding along the Miles River, past wildlife & some ancient houses, you gain a deeper understanding of American and local history. The Captain has a wealth of knowledge about the landscape and people who've inhabited it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patriot Cruises also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Patriot Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patriot Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.