We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
213 N. Talbot Street, Navy Point, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-745-2916
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay - cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman's shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum (CBMM) was a wonderful place to spend time in St. Michaels. We bought a ticket and took advantage of the free second day entry to split our visit over two separate mornings. They have fantastic exhibits on the history of the Chesapeake bay including the work and traditions of the Bay watermen and pleasure boating and sailing on the bay. We really enjoyed our cruise out on the river on the WINNIE ESTELLE - we had a wonderful guide who was knowledgeable about both the history and folklore of the river and area, and it was a great way to get out on the water and see more of the beautiful area. The working shipyard was great, and it was great to be able to see and talk to the working shipwrights and to see the recently restored skipjack ROSIE PARKS. The campus is beautiful (and pet friendly) and there are great activities for kids as well. Its a must-see in St. Michaels!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    80
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Historical info about Chesapeake Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a good stop to understand more about the history of the Bay and the economical value that it provided for its early settlers. There are plenty of buildings to browse through at your own pace. A good place to explore while visiting St. Micheals.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A wealth of information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Being able to self-navigate the museum, afforded us the opportunity to move around freely and pick and choose what we wanted to see at our own pace. There is a wealth of historical information to learn and the beautiful grounds make it a casual and informative experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“go at your own pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was a good look at the past and how life was on the bay back in the day. Don't miss the lighthouse. Look inside the cupboards, in the cooking pots, etc.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

One caveat...I was with 2 teen boys (who are more or less non-plussed about everything) and a hubby with a short attention span. It's nice that the museum is mix of the indoor and outdoor. Also great that you can return the next day for free. I think younger kids would enjoy this more and would be especially captivated by the boats, machines and outdoor exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Public Relations Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and especially for your review of CBMM on TripAdvisor, although we sure wish your visit would have been great for everyone, including teenagers. Other reviewers tell us that the Museum appeals to the interests of all ages, including teenagers, so it may be a personal preference depending on the visitor. Either way, we take your feedback seriously, and are always mindful of finding ways to gain the interests of all our visitors, at any age. Thanks again for your visit and for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.