We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
213 N. Talbot Street, Navy Point, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-745-2916
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay - cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman's shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I thought the museum would be one building but it was actually an entire campus of historical buildings that we spent about 2 hours exploring! Worth the visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    77
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oyster Fest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time at the museum, we went for the Oyster Fest. that was very good, but so was the museum and the exhibits they had there. It would be even better on a warmer day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Could have spent even more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great museum, loved the lighthouse and the "play" exhibit. So much to see, we could have spent more than the 4 hours that we did.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Another little place to visit with so much history. The lighthouse is fun to see. so many activity things to be involved in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need to know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What ever you need to know about the oyster and blue crab industry in the bay can be learned here. The highlight was seeing the restoration project of the Rosie Parks. We look forward to going back when it's launched.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.