We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cornerstone for a St. Michael's visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
213 N. Talbot Street, Navy Point, St. Michaels, MD 21663
410-745-2916
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay — cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman’s shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way. Visit cbmm.org for a complete events schedule.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good cornerstone for a St. Michael's visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Comprehensive but not overwhelming local historical museum. Worthy of a primary sight on a trip to St. Michael's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Vice President of Communications at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and recent visit. Be sure to stop back again when our new tugboat exhibit is up - April 21 through 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    71
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Lots of heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Plenty to see and experince. Holds a lot of history about the bay area as well as an active boat repair / building yard.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were in the St. Michaels area for the Presidents Day weekend and planned to visit the museum on Sunday. When we got to our hotel, we saw a sign that the museum was free on Monday. We gladly changed our plans and visited on Monday.

It is a wonderful, well thought out museum with a lot of information about the Chesapeake Bay area history. I would have gladly paid the $13 admission charge, though I have to admit it was even better free :-)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“CBMM - In a Class Buy Itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lots to do and see. Some docents. Volunteers in the boathouse rebuilding old workboats and building new ones. Dozens of Chesapeake Bay small hunting and fishing boats going back two centuries. Good oystering exhibit and a great platform lighthouse that you can tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBMM_Munson, Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum in historic St. Michaels, MD.

Your review helps us share our love of the Bay and the people whose lives have been shaped around it.

A new tug exhibit opens April 21. We hope you can visit us again, and often.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's worth going here for the walk around the point. But there's always something going on pertaining to Chesapeake Bay life. Some beautiful old boats to see, some of which are being lovingly refurbished.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.