We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With tweaking, great potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Brome Howard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Mary's City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Brome Howard
Save
You added The Inn at Brome Howard to your Saves list
18281 Rosecroft Road, PO Box 39, Saint Mary's City, MD 20686   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Benedict, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“With tweaking, great potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First off, this is a B&B is in transition, but the innkeeper, Leigh, was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing and the view to the St. Mary's River cannot be beat. That said, a few things that might help would be to have a sitting out area for the guests, there is a great library room facing the river just meant for reading a good book - but at present the whole first floor is devoted to the restaurant which is not a part of the inn. The restaurant has sort of taken over at the inn's expense - just a personal thought. Also, maybe a small television in the rooms - or even in the common room, would be nice to catch the weather or just lounge since there is no "nightlife" within 10-15 miles. Another thought would be to the person/persons responsible for the grounds, here is a beautiful 1840s historic home with a wonderful setting and the landscaping is definitely suburban track home. One would expect trees and lawn with the requisite brick patio for wedding receptions, but the concrete, overgrown shrubs against the house - well you get the picture - does not compliment this gem. That said, cannot wait to return in a few years and see how things have progressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped for lunch here while touring the area. Everything was delicious, we ordered the club sandwiches which were so yummy. The place is beautiful, just perfect for a special occasion The staff was so sweet, we got there towards the end of the lunch hour, and they were very accommodating. I mentioned it was my mom's birthday, and they brought a little cake out. I would love to come back and stay a couple nights at the Inn, it was gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaefferstown
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our room was clean and (like the inn itself) quite charming. Be aware, though, other than Historic St Mary's City, there is not much to do in the area--it is very very rural. Also, management needs to pay a lot more attention to small details. Some areas of the exterior of the inn seem neglected. There were problems inside, too; flowers on our table at breakfast were dead. There was a coffee maker in the hall outside our room, but there were no cups; and there were no cups or tissues in our bathroom. Our room had recently been painted and looked very fresh and attractive, but the dusty drapes and a paint can were sitting on the floor of our closet. Our sheets and towels were not changed (the room was not made up) while we were there--had some one checked, the tissue box might have been replaced. We were not informed about any attractions in the area (we stumbled on some pamphlets in a desk in the downstairs hall) or even how to lock/unlock the front door if we came in late. Breakfast was mediocre and presented in an indifferent manner by the innkeeper--who is clearly expected to do too much by her employers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed visited for a night, six or eight years after our first visit. We had the wonderful room that stretches across the front of the house and faces the beautiful St. Mary's River. Everything was beautiful, and the welcome was warm, although the College of St. Mary, which runs the inn, was still in the midst of transition to new management. As a result, our breakfast, which was very good, was cooked by the director of Historic St. Mary's City, the fascinating archaelogical site next door to the house. We expect that everything about this place, that is now very good, will get better and better.

Room Tip: Choose the red room, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore Of Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed here on 11/18/2011. It was the first week for the new innkeepers a very young couple with a 2-yr. old and she worked full-time at a motel in Leonardtown I believe.

The heated did not work in the Hogeboom room but an oil filled space heated was provided and adequate. The cleaning could have been better in corners, ledges, behind toilet, etc. There was only shampoo and lotion provided as toiletries. I did not bring any because they are usually provided at Bed & Breakfasts, so this was a bit of a problem - no soap.

The breakfast was not fresh or to-order. Cereal, muffins, fresh apples, oranges, and bananas were set out with yogurt and milk. Coffee was provided and orange and cranberry juices. A slice of left-over quiche was provided after I asked about hot food.

I understand the situation and was pleased with Leigh's hospitality and Regina's service at breakfast. I hope as they get in the swing of things, these little items will improve.

This B & B is different from most others as the home and grounds are owned by the State as part of historic St. Mary's City. The innkeepers are given an apartment in the basement and a salary. It is the closet place to stay to St. Mary's College of Maryland.

It truly is a beautiful 1840 historic home in a beautiful spot!

Too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A woman named Lisa is one of the managers at Brome Howard, and for catered event I was part of in the fall of 2011, there were several contractual obligations she and/or her organization failed to meet. Furthermore, when confronted about it, she tried to turn the tables and refuse to accept blame. She went so far as to make slanderous accusations. Never again will I step foot into this establishment. .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlia_777, Public Relations Manager at The Inn at Brome Howard, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
We are sorry to learn about your experience at The Brome Howard Inn (today doing business as The Inn at Brome Howard). The Inn is now being managed by the owner, Historic St. Mary's City (HSMC), and there is a new, on-site innkeeper. Expressions is under contract as the exclusive caterer for The Inn, and other properties, at HSMC. We are excited to move into a new era of hospitality and professionalism and look forward to re-establishing The Inn as one of the most gracious B&Bs and event venues in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at this lovely B&B to celebrate our anniversary. The rooms are just beautiful. We stayed in "Terry's Room," with a river view. We got to see the other rooms, too, because we were the only guests that night. The large, historic home sits off a main road in St. Mary's City, but try to get there before dark because it's hard to read the house signs otherwise. The grounds are spacious, and we enjoyed reading by the river on Sunday morning. The breakfast was fine but nothing spectacular--omelettes, muffins and fruit salad. The host was very accommodating when we left a message early in the morning to say we wanted to eat later than originally planned. The only strange thing, aside from being the only guests, was that we never met the owners, only their adult son, who was very polite. Were they even there? We had no idea they wouldn't be there until we arrived. It was kind of weird. Other than that, it was a great place for a romantic getaway. We enjoyed touring Old St. Mary's City, a "living history" of Maryland's first settlement and colony, which was nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Brome Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Brome Howard

Address: 18281 Rosecroft Road, PO Box 39, Saint Mary's City, MD 20686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Saint Mary's City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mary's City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic St. Mary's City's Inn at Brome Howard is the best lodging option for people visiting St. Mary's City. Rest easy at this restored 1840s home furnished with many period pieces. Enjoy views of the serene St. Mary's River, starry nights, and the quiet comfort of one of four serene bedrooms tastefully decorated with heirloom furniture, luxury linens, antiques, and period artwork. Plan a small gathering in the restored plantation house or formal garden, or decorate our on-site party tent for a larger celebration. Full coordination of your event, from furnishings to flowers and everything in between, can be flawlessly presented at affordable prices. A day away, a weekend event, whatever you're planning -- we are ready to help make it happen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brome Howard Hotel Saint Mary`s City
The Inn At Brome Howard MD

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Brome Howard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.