We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
“We love this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My son goes to college in Washington, DC so three times a year or so we travel from Ohio to pick him up or take him back to DC. We found the Sleep Inn and haven't looked any further since. The place is always clean and quiet. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. They provide a shuttle to the Metro and they have a very nice free breakfast with hot items like waffles and sausage, as well as bagels, donuts, cereal, etc. I just returned to DC over this past weekend and was very pleasantly surprised to see that they had remodeled the guest rooms! While I thought they were fine before, they are very nice now!

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
25
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

New GM welcomed me..told me about renovations..great hotel..van service to metro..free WiFi & breakfast..Bar & pool& restaurant close by..a short walk to Crowne Plaza..its sister hotel..plenty parking even for buses..rooms are brand new..all I can say is perfect..price is fantastic..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

this is the second time i've been here and i wouldn't go anywhere else for each of the above reasons. the facility is clean, neat and quiet (i was there during cherry-blossom time when there were tour busses to deal with and things went smoothly). their people were wonderful to deal with from Tahira at check-in to the shuttle driver who drove to/from the metro. the breakfast was tasty and filling; a wonderful way to begin exploring washington. the access to/from the interstate as well as the proximity to the metro was easy and close-by. i've told several people that if they're accessing the washington area from the northwest, this is the only place i recommend.

Room Tip: just tell the front desk what your looking for...they will take care of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Everyone was happy and very helpful.Very quick and clean service. Loved it!

Even had a great breakfast ready. Near everything. Rooms decorated well, even refrigs. My dog had a great time. 35 minutes without business traffic to downtown DC. Fab resturant around the area, especially in Potomac.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amir C, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Valued Guest;

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We are glad you had a nice stay with us, and that our hotel and services met your approval. We work hard to provide a great experience for our guests, and we appreciate your input and comments.

Make sure you come back and visit us again!

Regards,

Amir Chaudhery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had two false fire alarms during night. Heard there had been others. Bathroom floor not washed . needs a chair other than the desk chair , for comfort. Courtsey van did not pick us up at metro and after 45 mins in the cold we got stuck for a cab. Scrambled eggs only come out in the am if there is a bus tour. With the bus tour breakfast area is tight. This is a good location for visiting Washington and with some effort could be excellent. All the rooms have been refurbished but the fridges and HVAC units are noisy. Had to pull plug on fridge to sleep.

Room Tip: Be aware of hotels shortcomings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amir C, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey.I reviewed your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and in the services we offer and I am disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We are constantly striving to improve our product and services, and it is through comments like yours that we are able to recognize any deficiencies that may exist and correct them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A basic hotel but nice and clean, better than the last Marriott I stayed at in Arizona. No frills but service was great. Choice Hotels does a good job. I was pleased and wasnt sure what to expect on this trip

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amir C, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I liked the layout of the room and the furniture. The price was also a good deal and the staff is courteous. The room was clean and the color of the paint on the wall was nice and relaxing.

However, I am giving 2 stars to this hotel because of the following:
- the internet is desperately slow
- the bed sheets had visible stains on them (yeah, everything is clean except when you decide to go to bed and discover the stains on the bed sheets - BAD SURPRISE!)
- the room smelled smoke, although it was a non-smoking room
- the hallway smelled smoke
- too far from restaurants

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amir C, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Shady Grove, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey and letting us know about your experince at our Sleep Inn Shady Grove. I am glad to hear that you had good stay, however some negative things you encountered during your stay, which i am very sorry to hear, please be assured that these issues have been addressed. I sincerely apologize for all these problems. I hope to be able to meet you on a return visit to our hotel if you'll give us another opportunity to prove to you our award-winning service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.