We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I go down to this area once a year for a trip with friends. Last year, we decided to try a new hotel (this one), and weren't satisfied at all.

Starting with the positives:
It's very clean
The staff is very helpful & accommodating (when asked for something, they immediately found/sent up what was requested)
Parking want hard to find
It was cheap/night

Negatives:
The room was incredibly tiny - my living room at home is twice as large. The room we stayed in felt like a bed jammed into a closet.
The bed was horribly uncomfortable - neither my husband or myself slept those nights
It was noisy - between the air conditioning unit and the noise from other rooms, we heard a lot of noise all night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    79
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
49
45
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it is a very good value for the area. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating, even to the point of transporting me to a business meeting in one of the managers personal vehicle during a torrential downpour!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

One of the previous reviewers is correct in pointing out that the lobby is much more contemporary than the rest of the hotel. The decor of my room was quite dated and different from a lot of newer Sleep Inns. I was also concerned about the presence of smoking rooms; however, the smell never got into my room. What impressed me was the cleanliness of the rooms. The fixtures, despite being older, were all very clean and well-maintained. The bedding was also up to date; it didn't have the bulky comforters that other hotels still use. I also appreciated that the Sleep Inn carried the menu for the restaurant at the Crowne Plaza next door. Overall, I think the Sleep Inn offers quality rooms at a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
242 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions, and have had very uniform positive experiences. The rooms aren't particularly large or fancy, but how much fancy do you need when you are in town on business and awake in the room for only a couple of hours a day? The hotel is very clean, service personnel are friendly and efficient, and the beds are fine. On a couple of occasions, I have been in a room with a noisy air conditioner, but that is the only negative that I have. Breakfast is pretty much standard for this genre. Overall, in consideration of the price charged, this hotel is very good and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Lets just say if the rooms looked as expensive as the lower level entrance then it would be a Holiday Inn Express , but its Not . The bathroom is small and the has only a shower option. Besides the hotel the Rockville Towne Center is amazing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

the room I had was pretty clean. Ok size room with a queen size bed. The decor doesn't strike me nice. Just average. The bed isn't as comfortable as I would like it to be. It feels kind of flat. Not too much room for truck parking. I feel this place would suit others more than myself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel from one of those "discount" sites, because of this I was slightly worried that I might have got stuck with a smoking room. They were quite accommodating and gave me a non smoking room. Location is next to interstate, and close to metro for quick and easy access to Washington. Although the room's decor was outdated I found my room to be very clean. Nice fresh smell, and very clean crisp white linens. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Metro. Staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was fresh, and exactly what you need to get your day started. This hotel is a good choice if you would like to travel to the dc area on a budget.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
4.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#3 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rockville
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#7 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Otel, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.