We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
West Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Clean and a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

One of the previous reviewers is correct in pointing out that the lobby is much more contemporary than the rest of the hotel. The decor of my room was quite dated and different from a lot of newer Sleep Inns. I was also concerned about the presence of smoking rooms; however, the smell never got into my room. What impressed me was the cleanliness of the rooms. The fixtures, despite being older, were all very clean and well-maintained. The bedding was also up to date; it didn't have the bulky comforters that other hotels still use. I also appreciated that the Sleep Inn carried the menu for the restaurant at the Crowne Plaza next door. Overall, I think the Sleep Inn offers quality rooms at a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    71
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
39
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions, and have had very uniform positive experiences. The rooms aren't particularly large or fancy, but how much fancy do you need when you are in town on business and awake in the room for only a couple of hours a day? The hotel is very clean, service personnel are friendly and efficient, and the beds are fine. On a couple of occasions, I have been in a room with a noisy air conditioner, but that is the only negative that I have. Breakfast is pretty much standard for this genre. Overall, in consideration of the price charged, this hotel is very good and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Lets just say if the rooms looked as expensive as the lower level entrance then it would be a Holiday Inn Express , but its Not . The bathroom is small and the has only a shower option. Besides the hotel the Rockville Towne Center is amazing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

the room I had was pretty clean. Ok size room with a queen size bed. The decor doesn't strike me nice. Just average. The bed isn't as comfortable as I would like it to be. It feels kind of flat. Not too much room for truck parking. I feel this place would suit others more than myself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel from one of those "discount" sites, because of this I was slightly worried that I might have got stuck with a smoking room. They were quite accommodating and gave me a non smoking room. Location is next to interstate, and close to metro for quick and easy access to Washington. Although the room's decor was outdated I found my room to be very clean. Nice fresh smell, and very clean crisp white linens. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Metro. Staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was fresh, and exactly what you need to get your day started. This hotel is a good choice if you would like to travel to the dc area on a budget.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As an alternative to downtown Washington this is great its is close to the train line direct into the city. And, they have a shuttle to pick you up. You have to be patient though and let them know in advance when you are arriving back at the station. The rooms were adequate clean and quiet. the staff friendly and proficient. all in all a good choice would return there if i was in Washington again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I can't fathom the horrible review given. I just took 42 people, 39 were students, to the Inauguration and we stayed here. My room was clean and I had no problem with the Internet. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The bed was fine..it wasn't home and it wasn't a 4 star hotel. But then, I didn't pay those prices either. If you want a higher quality, go across the street to the Crown Plaza, but you'll pay a lot more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#9 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.