We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again when visiting my family who live in this area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Shady Grove to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
2 reviews
“I would stay again when visiting my family who live in this area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Awesome experience. Nice pool, awesome staff. Attentive breakfast staff. Really liked the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    78
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
45
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located within two minutes of Shady Grove Road and I-270. (Two hotels' driveways are close together - watch carefully.)

Got a nice rate for an overnight stay at the last minute by calling the helpful front desk. The clean room came nicely equipped with HDTV -- maybe 40 channels (no HBO or similar, but we didn't want it), Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Fridge, Good-sized shower, Good set of toiletries, lots of helpful tourist brochures in the lobby ... Most people would find the bed comfortable, some a little stiff.

The room is equipped to douse the A/C when motion sensors indicate everyone has left. When you come back, the A/C does not restart instantly. We fiddle with it for about a minute each time, but maybe if we'd left it alone long enough ... who knows? In this particular room, room temperature was higher than the digital reading from the wall mounted A/C: By lowering it's setting to 67-69 (something we never do at home in the summertime) the temperature fell enough to let us sleep under a sheet. The A/C had three fan settings: Auto, low, and high. Unexpectedly, Low & High neither changed the fan speed, nor caused the fan to run continuously for white noise. The fridge ran 90% of the time, and it was located near the A/C, so we kinda had they w.n. anyhow. :)

Hot breakfast potions consisted of delicious Belgium Waffles and medium sized sausage links. The waffles had a pleasant buttery sense, we've not encountered at other places. The breakfast area was being actively managed by a fellow I first mistook for hotel management, in this generously sized dining area with many other morning meal options. He took his job seriously, keeping things fully stocked, and making sure users sprayed the waffle iron between servings. I had some non-fat milk that had a slight spoiled taste and wondered if it had been replaced since possibly recovering form a recent power outage affecting the general area, or whether the container had been thoroughly washed from the night before. While the hotel's policy wouldn't allow that, the flavor "hint" was there this particular time. I'd go by other reviews to determine if my experience was a total exception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Like some of the other reviews state, this is a reasonably priced, pet-friendly hotel. The rooms aren't immaculate, but with dogs we were in a smoking room, so lingering cigarette smells remained. Good price. SLOW elevator service, and the stairwell AC isn't used, so the stairwells are hot and humid. LOTs of trouble w/ room keys, which rarely work on side stairwell doors. free WIFI, fridge in room, room service from the Crowne Plaza across the parking lot is available.

Room Tip: Request non-smoking rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Arrived later than expected, but hotel was ready for us. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with pastrys, toast/bagels, cold hard boiled eggs and waffle maker, yogurt. Had a shuttle to Shady Grove metro station that came in handy. Shuttle also took us to local restaurants within a mile or 2 radius of the hotel. This hotel has decent rates. Overall, a good hotel to stay at if you are visiting the DC area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Not the brightest desk clerk I have ever met (caused much confusion over my credit card payment by telling me I'd been charged twice - which I hadn't).
Comfortable bed, peaceful neighbourhood, good breakfast and a free shuttle to and from the metro station.
Ideal for visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed one night visiting local friends. The hotel is reasonable, $103, close in to many businesses, but shabby around the edges. Room smelled very musty, and it might have been coming from the A/C unit! 1st floor windows don't open (better for security that way, I imagine) so I sprayed perfume in the unit. Carpet old and stained; did not go barefoot. No vent in commode/shower room so had some sewer smell that never dissipated. Old bedspreads and curtains. Lots of good towels, though. After 10pm lots of activity in the halls, overhead rooms... seemed like a tour bus of high school kids and international travelers. Floors and walls allowed noise through. Continental breakfast was OK, always welcome. No computer available in lobby. Basic accommodations, not fancy, not new, not shiny... Would stay at an upgraded chain in the future, not here.

Room Tip: No highway noise, only guest noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the pillow fluffy. The room clean and quiet. The staff was quick with requests for extra towels/blanket. The FREE breakfast was OK but the dining area was too crowded. I only wish they had a larger room service menu from next door...menu was limited. The grocery store and several restaurants were only a few blocks away though and the room comes with a fridge and
Jerry's delivers. I will definitely use them again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#12 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
4.7 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#2 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
0.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Shady Grove

Address: 2 Research Ct, Rockville, MD 20850-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#9 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Shady Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Shady Grove Hotel Rockville
Shady Grove Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Rockville
Rockville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Shady Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.