We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumpy pillows, itchy sheets, scary neighbors and ants, oh my!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Lumpy pillows, itchy sheets, scary neighbors and ants, oh my!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I should have figured that, for the price I paid, I would be getting a room like this, but I must have had a momentary lapse in reason. The location was perfect for us, the room a good size and the price unbeatable. I was not very happy with the ants in the bathroom, the limited amount of shampoo (1 small packet for a room of 4) and the less than comfortable sheets, mattresses and pillows that seemed to have had much better days. Some of the other guests seem to be frequent short term guests, if you know what I mean. Although there were other guest that were of a better caliber. The front desk help varied in helpfulness. I warn you about the charge for the in room safe. If you do not use it make sure they take the charge off your bill. The last thing I would mention is the cleanliness of the room. Gross things and old socks under the bed and some less than appropriate reading material left in the bureau were unacceptable, but I could tell the front desk was not going to help much so I left well enough alone. If you are willing to take a chance for the price, be their guest. Otherwise, there is a Comfort Inn 2 minutes away that may be a little better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    39
    27
    26
    14
See reviews for
26
26
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

When I tell you that I am on the road half of 367 days of the year and this was one of my most peaceful sleeps thanks you to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel was in decent condition for the price and location is good(walking distance to shady grove metro). Customer service is the problem here. I had a meeting in the morning to attend and had to wait three minutes for two hotel employees to finish their clearly non work related conversation before being helped and was not even helped after the conversation was over. I was not told I will be with you shortly, simply looked at as the gentlemen continued with their conversation. Someone that just walked into the lobby to check in was somehow immediately able to create a break in the conversation and the employee readily asked how he could help the person. The customer informed the employee that I was in line already and he responded to me, yes?. I am calling this customer service "biased", make of it what you will. If this was not bad enough, the shuttle service that is advertised, I was told only runs from 9-10, however, the previous day I saw the shuttle leaving shady grove metro in the evening when I arrived. I was told to wait for a public metro bus that stops outside of the hotel. I ended up walking to the metro station on a pretty hot day and somehow was on time for my meeting.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

This hotel is horrible! True story. When I was away from the room, someone with a key used the room for sex. They left the condom wrapper on the floor next to the bed. When I lodged a complaint they did absolutely nothing! Hands down, the worse place I've ever stayed. The rooms are dirty and obviously used recreationally when guests are away. Don't stay here, not even at these prices!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The Red Roof Inn is close to the Shady Grove Metro station to DC. The Tv reception is terrible with few channels. No coffee pot but had a safe, fridge and microwave. Not enough hot water for a shower.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Descent bed,
Awesome message center
Descent Wireless Internet
Good Capachinos

Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here with a small dog and the trees and space outside our room was perfect for him to run a bit. The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. It was close to a shopping area with a nice variety of restaurants to chose from.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.