We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
564 helpful votes 564 helpful votes
“Hotel is good for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

We chose this hotel because #1 it was close to the last Metro station on the red line, and #2 because we've visited other renovated Red Roof Inns and found they were a good value.

(We wanted to take the Metro into Washington, and didn't want the hassle of driving and parking near the monuments. It was about a half hour Metro ride to the White House).

This hotel is fine for an overnight stay. Wouldn't want to spend a week there.

Check-in was pretty quick, considering there were many people checking in at the same time.

Room was fine - pretty standard, but clean.

Staff were helpful at check-out, and gave us printed instructions on how to reach the Metro station. (Tip: parking at the Metro station is free on weekends!).

We paid $84.09 (CAD) and got what we paid for. Nothing fancy ... just a decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    24
    24
    14
See reviews for
23
25
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

This is a basic room. They charge 10.50 for one night of internet.
There is no hair dryer, no iron, and the bathroom is in great need of updating. There's also no breakfast! We simply wanted a room near DC but this is very basic. There are no restaurants around either!!! Don't think I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Nothing to like
  • Disliked — The icy parking lot....we almost killed ourselves getting to the car.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

The room was clean, the staff were freindly. We took the train to DC and the shuttle to the station was timely both for drop off and pick up. We asked for extra towels and they showed up promptly also. I have to say its a very well run establishment that met all my expectations. Thumbs up here people

  • Liked — I was very impressed by the staffs eagerness to please
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

A simple hotel that is located within 2-3 minutes of the Metro Station depending on traffic at the time. It is a very busy area, but the hotel sits back from the road, so noise is not a problem. The hotel was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

My husband and I spent two nights in the Red Roof. It is what economy lodging should be. There were no extras--no iron, no hair drier, no coffee pot, no cute little bottles of toiletries. But everything was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot. The people at the desk were pleasant and efficient. The location is in a commercial area and there is some road noise during the morning rush. But accommodations near Washington are very expensive. This motel is only a short drive from the Shady Grove metro stop. If you need a safe, simple place to sleep and you are on a budget, this is a sensible choice.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So CAL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

The price was good, but in retrospect we should probably have paid more for a nicer place. There were several people "hanging out" around their room doors when we arrived, which initially put us off, but we took all valuables with us when leaving for the day. Our room offered the bare minimum--no hairdryer, no iron, no coffeemaker, small rough towels, and the room certainly could have been cleaner--the tiny table was sticky in one spot, and we found trash on the carpet in the corners. The ice machine was not working one night--twice we called the front desk to inquire, and twice were assured we would receive a callback, but no one ever returned our call to update us. There is a nice shopping center about a mile or so away, with lots of inexpensive places to eat, and a Safeway market. Overall we did not feel very comfortable here, but it was adequate for the price. I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Beach, Fla.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

Good place for a short-term Montgomery County visit.
Request newer (upper level)section.. much nicer than older part. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to 270 and convenient to most county attractions. Clean and fairly spacious rooms.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Hotel
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn
Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.