We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucked.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sucked.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I hate RRI's and only stayed 'cuz no other hotels available. Small room. Overpriced. No b-fast or pool. Worst still - they wanted to charge $8 just to use the internet. It sucked so bad I cried..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    31
    27
    18
See reviews for
32
31
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tri-State
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The service is excellent - attentive and very friendly staff. The place is quiet and the rooms are clean and always ready early. This is the most cost-effective place to stay in Rockville.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

This is a basic ripoff hotel,it looks nice but the service is questionable. First they do not accept Travlers Checks. Second there is rate discount if you pay the full week, but they do not tell you this information. Internet is $3.00/2 hours of use. The shuttle is spotty.
You need to be a very seasoned traveller,who just needs a place to stay. It is als 1 hour outside of DC by bus and than a Mtero train or $10..00 from the hotel tothe train/hotel.
If you are a non US ctizen they will prey upon you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

They charged heavily for internet usage.

Though the room was comfortable with a small refrigerator and oven. Overall it was satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rampant75
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

I've stayed here before. The rooms look clean, and the people are nice. And if not for my most recent stay would recomend this place as a "nice for the price" hotel. But I am up typing this review because I can't sleep right now. (It's 4 am). And I can't sleep right now because of the over 200 itchy bed bug bites I got there. It's almost a week later and they're still itching. I'm jumping out of bed every time I have an itch because I think the bed bugs are getting me again. They have assured me that they are taking care of the problem, but I would hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — A mostly comfortable room
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

The Red Roof Inn is what you pay for. It's not fancy. The rooms seem clean and there's new furniture. WiFi is now free with a special day pass they give you at the front desk on T Mobile. They give you one daily. The rooms have a tiny refrigerator and microwave but no shampoo. The towel are a bit hard. The location is right across a Burger King but for reaching the highway and nearby meeting places, the location is right on. I can definitely hear the activity outside, though. I'm on the street level and it feels really loud.

  • Liked — The price.
  • Disliked — The noise.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, oh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

One of the cheapest hotel options around DC, but you get much less than you pay for. It's a motel. The beds are nasty and uncomfortable. Bathroom floor was peeling away. They do not provide anything except for some soap and a ketsup size sampler of tasty shampoo. TV with some cable stations and at least one movie station.

Pretty much, a rip off cheap motel. It is convenient to DC though. We drove into DC the next morning during rush hour, and the traffic was very tolerable, which was surprising.

  • Liked — location on outskirts of DC
  • Disliked — Gross bathroom and beds, no amenities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
5.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#2 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#6 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#12 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rockville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.