We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic roof over my head kind of stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very basic roof over my head kind of stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For the prices I paid this was not a great choice. The room was very small, especially the bathroom. The Free WIFI didn't work, bad connection. Everything was very basic and average. AC was very loud. The only good thing is its location, very close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet services and plan to have the project completed by the end of this week.
If you return to the Rockville area we hope to see you again.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your experience with us.
Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    30
    27
    16
See reviews for
28
28
33
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington County, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've been staying here for years and it is still a good place to stay. Rates are very reasonable, amenities such as cable TV stations and internet access are fine. A recent renovation of the rooms resulted in a more pleasant room environment. Kellie has been at the front desk during the day for a few years now and always makes sure everything is to your satisfaction.
Although it is not convenient to the airports, it is convenient to the metro, with free shuttle. From there, you can get to just about anything you might want in DC.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the main highway on which the facility borders. Traffic can sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
It's always nice to hear from a guest that has had frequent experiences with us.
We're happy to hear that our recent room renovations have had a positive impact as we continuously strive to improve our guest's experience with us.
We hope to see you in the near future and please let us know if there is any way we can continue to meet your expectations.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogers222
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Plus - front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to help out clients.. Room is acceptable if you get a discounted price. Rooms can be had for under $100.

Minus - everything else. Location is poor, it's got a Rockville MD address, but is quite far (15 min drive) from the town center, and not really accessible to Bethesda, much less downtown DC. Rooms are small and dingy with a Holiday Inn 1970s decor. The housekeeping is abysmal, forgot to replace bath towels, someone else's hair found in bathtub, dirt scum on sink and in fridge. The air conditoners work, but the condensation lines leak all over the room floors - don't put your suitcases or shoes near the a/c unit.

The ads tell you that you will have free wifi in your room - lol. There is no wifi. I asked the manager about this and she just shrugged and mumbled something about the internet company wouldn't send technicians out to fix the weak signal. Whaa??? You're the manager, lady. Get on the phone and get the techs out there, spend a few bucks and install a few powerful routers. Get your customers what you promised them, or stop advertising free wifi ! The front desk clerk knew all about this long-running problem, since she put me in a room that she "hoped" would have a signal -- it didn't. So she knocked 10 bucks off the room rate.

The weirdest thing is the 11:00 am checkout time. I'm not making this up -- at 11:00 every morning they send this ex-convict named Miguel around to bang loudly on doors of departing guests and yell at them with equal parts threat and intimidation: "you NEED to get checked out, NOW!" He has a gang-banger's attitude that suggests he'll punch you if you overstay. If Red Roof hired this goon because of recurring problems with departing guests, it doesn't speak well for the quality of their clientele. But in any case, it's got to be a PR nightmare having an employee in a company uniform shouting at your guests -- not to mention potential liability for a lawsuit when this guy inevitably gets physical with somebody. He gives the hotel all the charm of a crack house.

Wouldn't stay there again, wouldn't recommend it to friends or colleagues.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your valuable input.
We have passed on your comments to our front desk staff, housekeeping and management staff.
Each incident, both good and bad, has been addressed with the individuals you mentioned.
We are currently in the process of having our internet services upgrade and expect that to be completed by the end of the week.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've been staying at this property on and off for many months. I stay in Hotels very, very often and I wish they were all the same high quality as this property. Lots of TV channels when I'm not busy working. Internet is definitely better than the average and I can use it effectively for my business and streaming needs. I often work from the room so this is very important to me. Claudia (the Manager) is very on top of things and things run very smooth!!!

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage, we truly appreciate it.
We hope you will continue to give us continued feedback, as we value your input
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We traveled to DC for a conference and we were on a budget so we had to pick a cheap hotel. This was the cheapest hotel we could get with a reasonable quality. But obviously there were plenty of problems.
1- We stayed there for 5 nights and our room got cleaned only twice. I even called the front desk one day and asked them to clean the room but they didn't care.
2- The room had a strange smell of smoke even though it was smoke free.
3- The front desk was not helpful at all.
4- There is no fridge, gym, pool or breakfast in this hotel. They only have coffee at the front desk.
5- The nearest metro station is in 30 minutes walking distance, so if you don't have a car reconsider staying here. Also it takes about 45 minutes for the metro to go from the nearest station to downtown area.
6- The towels and sheets were clean. The beds were comfy. The room had enough space.

I believe the main problem of this hotel was the quality of service they are offering and the management, not the room amenities or the property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Customer Service is what we do, but it sounds as if we have lots of room for improvement. Thank you for your comments, they help us to improve the service we provide.

Shirley Jordan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Neck, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Traveled to Rockville area from out of state because our young adult son was admitted to nearby hospital. Registered at office for one night's stay, not knowing how long son would be hospitalized. Gentleman who handled initial check-in was very efficient and helpful (sorry we did not get his name). For the next 4 days we went to the office each morning to request another day's stay as the hospitalization continued. Team member Kellie was outstanding in her helpfulness and understanding of our situation. Because my husband and I were in the office so often, we observed Kellie helping other travelers in person and by phone. Her customer service skills are top-notch. She is a gem -- a real people person!

Our king room was so much better than I expected. Everything was very clean. I inspected the bed from the top all the way down to mattress and commented that the mattress looked newer than ours at home. Bathroom was basic but also very clean. I liked the laminate flooring and work desk in the room. We will definitely stay here again if we need to return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive to make every guest stay an enjoyable stay. I will be sure to let Kellie and the other staff members know how much you appreciate them and post your nice comments for them to read. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel has for the last 4 months provided excellent service, clean rooms and a friendly and helpful staff. They are to be congratulated for the very positive image they present for the hotel. Kellie - who see's me every morning I am in the office is quite attentive, watches the details and deals with myriad people at the same time making them believe they are very important.

Room Tip: Fpor someone who wants to beat the traffic, get to work refreshed and a hotel close to myriad road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia L, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very happy to hear how we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable room. Thank you for choosing our Red Roof Inn and look forward to your next visit in Rockville!

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.