We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guarantee is worthless!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Guarantee is worthless!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a very important meeting. Asked for a 7 am wake up call. It never came. Woke up late. Missed my meeting. Asked the clerk for a refund he said that's only if there is something wrong with the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I’m sorry to hear that we failed to provide you with an important wake-up call. Please accept my sincerest apologies along with a free night stay, which can be used at any of our locations. Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn. We hope you will consider giving us a better chance to serve you in the future.
Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    31
    27
    18
See reviews for
32
31
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here when my husband had surgery nearby. The staff was wonderful. Every hotel should have someone like Kellie up front, we couldn't have had anyone more helpful, cheerful or friendly. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean!

Room Tip: Love that all rooms have outside doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Thank you for your recognition. Kellie provides awesome service to our guest, but we never get tired of hearing how she has made sure your need have been met. I will be sure to pass your comments along to her. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to your next visit to our Red Roof Inn.

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noneya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can agree with what everyone else has mentioned about the staff. They are great, especially KELLIE. I stayed here for an extended time while transitioning to the area and Kellie and the rest of the staff were always friendly and always helpful. The hotel has the best accommodations for the price IMO, and it had everything I needed for an extended stay. I used the desk quite a bit and found it very useful. I also used the iron & ironing board and fridge which all worked like a charm. Unfortunately, I would also have to agree about the internet. It is almost useless; 3G on my phone was much faster. With that said, it still works but should be upgraded. Lastly, the hotel is in a nice area and close to whatever you may need like food, grocery, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your comments made it clear that we are fortunate to have Kellie in our team. We do appreciate all what she does. Glad to know you are pleased with the renovations. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to your next visit to our location.

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneap
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Was on a roadtrip out east from the Midwest. We stayed here over a weekend with an ipad in a closed backpack. Never took it out on my own, then a couple days later, on Wednesday, I was looking for it and couldn't find it.

Called up Red Roof to see if maybe I misplaced it, they said they had found it, but someone else came and picked it up the day after we left - Monday. The scary thing: they said my boyfriend (one I was roadtripping with) came and picked it up. We don't know anyone in that area! THe only people that knew him by name in Rockville were the hotel staff... Hotel manager was the least helpful person of them all - no sense of apology, blamed us for "losing" the ipad in spite of the clear lack of continuity in the timeline she gave and we gave. Seemed confused, but unwilling to recognize the facts presented to her.

DO NOT STAY. IF YOU DO, KEEP VALUABLES WITH YOU AT ALL TIMES.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was clean, the AC worked perfectly, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable (which is usually an issue when you book at the 2-3 star hotels) nothing beats a good night’s rest. Also, it was particularly refreshing to get such a warm welcome at the front desk. Kellie's joy and smile were contagious. I will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very happy to hear how we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable room. I will make sure to pass your comments on to the entire team. Your kind words regarding the staff will help to motivate everyone to keep up the good work. We thank you for choosing our Red Roof Inn and look forward to your next visit in Rockville!

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The entire staff and the property are excellent. Patricio, Kellie, Isaac, Kokou, Cesar, David , Miquel are all superior to others in the industry. Shirley, who has lefy for Alexandria, and Claudia the current General Manager, are a credit to the professionalism of the hotel. However, the internet is a disgrace to Red Roof. The worst part about this is upper management has known about this issue for an extended period and has not addressed it. The casual traveler may not care but those who stay for business makes it difficult to continue to stay. Upper management should be more proactive with regard to this issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had issues with your internet connectivity. Being able to work in your room is critical, especially when traveling on business. We want all guests to ensure that they are getting a fast, reliable signal, no matter where their room is located. We are working with Wandering Wi-Fi, our internet provider, to correct this issue. I hope to have a resolution soon. We appreciate your business and loyalty to our location.

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Travelling from England, I stay at the Shady Grove Red Roof Inn two or three times a year. It is very well located for my needs and close to many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel is reasonably priced and the service is always fast, efficient and friendly, especially from Patricio at the main desk who has dealt with me exceptionally well during my stays over the past 7 years, taking time to exchange friendly conversation when he sees me about the latest news from England and Scotland (my home country).

Room Tip: As a senior citizen and pensioner, I always choose the most economical room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you very much for the comments about Patricio, I will make sure to have Patricio read your comments as I know it will make him proud. Our team realizes that excellent customer service is what all of our guests should expect all of the time. Thank you for your recognition. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Rockville.

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
5.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#2 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#6 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#12 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rockville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.