We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

when i come to the Red Roof Inn in MD I stay here for a few days and one of the great staff Member name Kellie makes my stay just that much better always willing too give good advise and with a friendly smile Customer Service is a rare commodity these days and and Kellie deserves that reward Thanks!! Mr Jackson!!

Room Tip: the rear location seems too be a much better location and Quit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for recognizing Kellie as an awesome team member! We really do appreciate all that she does. We will be sure to pass your comments on to her.

Thank you
Claudia Lazo G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    26
    27
    14
See reviews for
27
25
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I travel weekly to Rockville, MD and the staff at the Shady Grove Road Red Roof Inn in Rockville, Maryland is always incredibly helpful. I am especially grateful to Kellie at the front desk!! Thanks so much.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms nice and shady with a lovely view of blossoming cherry trees in spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule( to do the review)...you really are family to us-I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team!

Thank you
Shirly Jordan, Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for several nights. The toilet clogged on the first night - so we were moved to another room - no big deal. The rooms are small. Two people could barely walk past each other. But, it served our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor double
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced with having to move rooms-We do hope that our team took good care of you...we hope to see you again!

Thank you for choosing RRI
Shirley Jordan/ Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Inn was wonderful, clean and very comfortable. The staff when checking in and out were absolutely amazingly friendly and helpful. I would NOT opt to stay anywhere else. The rooms are all renewed and fresh. The set up of the room (deluxe king) was a great set up for work and or play, Open and airy which is very important to me as I am seriously claustrophobic. I LOVED IT and I WILL be going back. I would MOST DEF recommend this RED ROOF INN.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a fridge and coffee pot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Glad to hear that our team took very good care of you...And we are very proud of the Renovation and will continue to work hard at keeping it well maintained. We look forward to seeling you real soon.

Thank You, and we will pass your comments to my team

Shirley Jordan/ Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

PLEASE stay here. What a fantastic hotel for a good price. If you dont want to read my whole review, please read the bottom line! My husband is active duty military, and needed to go to Bethesda for sugery, and we chose Red Roof for its pet policy when the Navy lodge was full. We booked through Expedia for 8 days. The manger Kellie gave us the BEST customer service I've ever experienced in my life. She treated us like old friends, and our room was large, very clean, and comfortable. Now, I had a not so good experience at a red roof inn in Groton, Connecticut. (Corporate Red Roof, please get rid of your terrible manager there, and if you can replace him with someone even half as amazing as Rockville's Kellie, you will be doing it a world of good!)
Unfortunately, because of the Groton experience, when the Navy lodge called us halfway through our drive (9 hours from Maine) and told us they had an opening, we cancelled 7 of our days through Expedia and opted to just stay one night. Well, after we got there, and met Kellie and got our room, I regretted cancelling, even though the lodge is right on base. THEN, the next day, after checking out and packing all our stuff and getting our car towed to a tire shop for a flat tire that needed to be entirely replaced, we get call from the Lodge saying they made a mistake and no longer have our reservations. I was furious, and felt exhausted and stranded. We had the lodge call red roof back to see of they could possibly salvage our reservations there. I had little hope. But they put me through to reservations.com and the man there said they could get us in. For $30 MORE a night!! We just accepted out of desperation.
When we thought things could only get worse, my husband checked in with Kellie. Without him bringing to up at all, she took the time to look at our reservation, and told my husband since we were staying so long, she could give us the extended stay price, which ended up being LESS a night then our original first reservation through Expedia!! She held it for us while we cancelled the other reservation through reservations.com.
BOTTOM LINE: Kellie made our day and our week. I felt like there was a hold in our pockets with the tire, the tow, the trip! She had a few rooms available and let us pick one! She walked and talked with us, and showed us the rooms. She was so cheerful and funny, and her staff was friendly and helpful too. This hotel is just up the road from the metro station that will take you right into DC and the Smithsonian hotels. There are lots of places to eat, and it's just far enough from the 322 to get out of the traffic, but plenty close to downtown and the metro. Despite having military privileges at the base hotels, when we come back we are staying at Rockville red roof as long as Kellie is there! Oh, and don't bother with Expedia and other 3rd parties. Just call the hotel directly, you will get faster and friendlier service that way! Thank you Kellie, for turning our trip around, and being a rare gem in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for that awesome review...Actually,Kellie is our 7-3 team member-her customer service skills often surpasses that of the management staff. You were in very good hands. She takes her job very seriously and we are lucky to have her. Sometimes we have to cut her conversations short( with some of the guests)-:). She has never met a stranger, and we love her. Thank you so much for taking the time to remind us!

Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed almost 2 weeks waiting to go to Europe. The prices were reasonable and the staff was great. Kellie and Patricio at the front desk are courteous and totally professional. The housekeeping staff did a good job and were always pleasant to deal with. The hotel is convenient to the Metro which was very nice. Overall, a very nice stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Everyone is busy, with important things to do! thank you for making this review one of them. We are very happy when our guests notice the condition of the property, but especially happy when a team member goes above and beyond expectations. Kellie is great, and is a value to our team

Thank you.
Shirley Jordan Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed there for a full week. It was kept very clean and pleasant. Even the sidewalk outside our room were electronically cleaned. Everyone was nice, but one person stood out from the rest as being above and beyond friendly and helpful.

Her name is KELLIE. She was extremely friendly with a sweet voice and smile. She made one feel like she would help with any problem and she did. She explained the metro system carefully to us. She suggested places to eat.

When we were stuck with an issue and everyone else remained quiet, Kellie said cheerfully, " I can help with that "; She Did. She acted like a concierge of the best Hotel.

Room Tip: We had the room with the microwave and refrigerator and king bed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Kellie is our resident miracle worker-) We really work hard at making certain our guests have an awesome stay...your recognition makes it all worth while.
again, thank you

Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.