We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roof updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
“Red Roof updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in two different locations on this trip. Nice to see that both Red Roofs have spent some money on redecorating & cleaning. The Rockville location was really in need of the re-do. Also, Kellie at that inn, was her usual great help. She really does a good job of meeting & greeting. She goes out of her way to provide great customer service. Thanks again, & we will be back. This was not any of your options below, but Business is close.

Room Tip: No pool, no restaurant, no correct option to select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Kellie is an asset to our team, and we really do appreciate all that she does-great to hear that you like the new rooms, we are proud of the new product and are willing to do our best to keep it appealing to our awesome guest. Thanks for choosing us, and we know we will see you soon!


Shirley Jordan/ Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    24
    24
    14
See reviews for
23
25
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I can't get over how friendly and helpful the front desk staff was. Thanks to all of you. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. My complaints are minor. There are other motels in the same area in which I have stayed that you can book for around the same price. Those motels provide a decent breakfast (one has their own restaurant buffet) and better shuttle service. I understand that Red Roofs do not normally provide breakfast; however, I think that for the money one pays the shuttle service could be improved. There is a bus (No. 43) that you can take from near the motel to the Shady Grove Metro when the shuttle is not running. Parking is scarce at the Metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It's always good to hear that our team has hit the mark with providing awesome customer service. We are working on improvements with our shuttle service-your feedback has given us a clear direction..".We need to be more flexible with the hours of operation". Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livnim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff polite and helpful, all of the rooms are entered from the outside, which I think is less secure than a main entrance, but I had no trouble. I wouldn't have any problem recommending red roof in to family and friends. I also stayed in a red roof near BWI airport and had a similar experience .

Room Tip: Get the room with coffee maker, fridge, and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It's always good to hear that our team has hit the mark with providing awesome customer service. We are working on improvements with our shuttle service-your feedback has given us a clear direction..".We need to be more flexible with the hours of operation". Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This motel was scary looking from the outside, but the room was newly remodeled (apparently) and very clean. The only complaint was that our room was equipped with two towels...for four people. If I was going to be in the area again, I would most likely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback-a positive consistent experience is always good! knowing you would recommend us to your family and friends really does mean a lot to us. Hope to see you very soon.


Shirley Jordan/Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a room in the very back which was nice because there are lots of trees. The location is near a Melting Pot and a Chinese place which we made use of. The furniture was new, the linens were clean, however, the room itself was not very clean. It appears that housekeeping vacuums and changes the linens, and that's about it. I had to clean the toilet to my satisfaction, and wipe down other surfaces that clearly needed it. The coffee pot is barely that, it has single pods for brewing which have no flavor. The internet is not high speed as far as I could tell but was sufficient. Not much in the way of cable channels but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The pillows were hard as rocks, and the staff gladly brought me two others but the first night with them was uncomfortable. I had to walk past two ice machines to find one that worked. Two important things for me when choosing a hotel are cleanliness and comfort, unfortunately they need improvement in those two areas. With the upgrades that were recently made, it could have been a nice choice for the money if the toilet was clean and the pillows were better. On a positive note, I will say, no bugs and I liked having a microwave and refrigerator! If the rooms were spotless, I would have given this a 3.5.

Room Tip: you must get the best room they offer, and the back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
thank you for your feedback-room cleanliness is very important to us. We are very sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We have scheduled a clean team meeting /training to assure this does not continue. Again, your comments help us with our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
Overall, the room (two beds) was good!
Clean (!) bathroom, soft beds, floor half carpeted half hard wood floor, a little bit noisy a/c but you get used to that, spacious room, iron/hairdryer on request, TV if you at all need it, pretty quiet environment.
If you don't use the safe in the room - please specify this upon check-out! Otherwise they automatically charge everyone ;)
if you go out for breakfast or for a coffee or anything else...don't expect many options around (only Burger King...Chicken-something and alike). Though, bus 43 will take you to Starbucks or Panera - 10 min ride, the bus stop is right across the road :)

The staff is extremely helpful! Every time we would go to the reception with any question, there was a guy named Patricio! He was multi-tasking and yet going out of his way to help us with everything, always smiling and giving everyone full attention. Thank you so much for having him on-board :) He made our stay as smooth as possible and still took his time and helped us A LOT even after we checked out!

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others!
And would also recommend Patricio being promoted ;)

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the room (two beds) was good! Clean (!) bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I have shared your comments with my team-too hear that Patricio went above and beyond, giving you the service you deserve (makes me proud). Thanks for sharing your experience.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this property in March 2013. The room had been recently remodeled quite nicely with carpet, flat screen tv, and other various things. There are plenty of outlets for computers and cell phones.I found it to feel smaller than it actually was because the adjoining room door took space away from the desk area and space where suitcases could be placed. The heating unit had not been a part of the upgrade and was very noisy going on and off with a loud clunk. I would stay here again asking for a room with no adjoining room door and testing the heater/ac before unpacking m y things.

Room Tip: Check your ac/heater before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Glad to hear you are pleased with the renovation-Sorry to hear the AC/Heating unit was noisy. You are on point with your comments on the adjoining rooms. We have replaced over 60% of our AC/Heating units, and will continue with that process( as units fail). Good to know that we will see you again! Thanks for your feedback.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Hotel
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn
Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.