We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a room in the very back which was nice because there are lots of trees. The location is near a Melting Pot and a Chinese place which we made use of. The furniture was new, the linens were clean, however, the room itself was not very clean. It appears that housekeeping vacuums and changes the linens, and that's about it. I had to clean the toilet to my satisfaction, and wipe down other surfaces that clearly needed it. The coffee pot is barely that, it has single pods for brewing which have no flavor. The internet is not high speed as far as I could tell but was sufficient. Not much in the way of cable channels but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The pillows were hard as rocks, and the staff gladly brought me two others but the first night with them was uncomfortable. I had to walk past two ice machines to find one that worked. Two important things for me when choosing a hotel are cleanliness and comfort, unfortunately they need improvement in those two areas. With the upgrades that were recently made, it could have been a nice choice for the money if the toilet was clean and the pillows were better. On a positive note, I will say, no bugs and I liked having a microwave and refrigerator! If the rooms were spotless, I would have given this a 3.5.

Room Tip: you must get the best room they offer, and the back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
thank you for your feedback-room cleanliness is very important to us. We are very sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We have scheduled a clean team meeting /training to assure this does not continue. Again, your comments help us with our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    30
    27
    16
See reviews for
28
28
33
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
Overall, the room (two beds) was good!
Clean (!) bathroom, soft beds, floor half carpeted half hard wood floor, a little bit noisy a/c but you get used to that, spacious room, iron/hairdryer on request, TV if you at all need it, pretty quiet environment.
If you don't use the safe in the room - please specify this upon check-out! Otherwise they automatically charge everyone ;)
if you go out for breakfast or for a coffee or anything else...don't expect many options around (only Burger King...Chicken-something and alike). Though, bus 43 will take you to Starbucks or Panera - 10 min ride, the bus stop is right across the road :)

The staff is extremely helpful! Every time we would go to the reception with any question, there was a guy named Patricio! He was multi-tasking and yet going out of his way to help us with everything, always smiling and giving everyone full attention. Thank you so much for having him on-board :) He made our stay as smooth as possible and still took his time and helped us A LOT even after we checked out!

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others!
And would also recommend Patricio being promoted ;)

Room Tip: We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the room (two beds) was good! Clean (!) bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I have shared your comments with my team-too hear that Patricio went above and beyond, giving you the service you deserve (makes me proud). Thanks for sharing your experience.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this property in March 2013. The room had been recently remodeled quite nicely with carpet, flat screen tv, and other various things. There are plenty of outlets for computers and cell phones.I found it to feel smaller than it actually was because the adjoining room door took space away from the desk area and space where suitcases could be placed. The heating unit had not been a part of the upgrade and was very noisy going on and off with a loud clunk. I would stay here again asking for a room with no adjoining room door and testing the heater/ac before unpacking m y things.

Room Tip: Check your ac/heater before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Glad to hear you are pleased with the renovation-Sorry to hear the AC/Heating unit was noisy. You are on point with your comments on the adjoining rooms. We have replaced over 60% of our AC/Heating units, and will continue with that process( as units fail). Good to know that we will see you again! Thanks for your feedback.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently enjoyed a two night stay at the motel-like Rockville Red Roof Inn when having minor surgery locally.
My “Superior King” bedroom was nicely remodeled with a combination of rugs and laminate wood flooring, modern furniture, granite counter around the washbasin, a flat screen tv, microwave/fridge and, wonder of wonders, an AC that did not cycle on and off on the heat setting . The worktable and chair worked better for me than the desk in higher end hotels. The bathroom was basic but functional. I found the bed comfortable, although the pillows were a little high for me. Everything was clean.
The friendly staff, notably Claudia, went beyond the call of duty to assist me and make me comfortable during my stay. I hope not to repeat the surgery, but otherwise would look forward to returning to this property!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Claudia is a key team member, glad to hear she was helpful. Surgery is never pleasant, but sounds as if all went well. Thanks for making us your choice.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This red roof inn is located on Shady Grove which makes it accessible to route 270. The motel was recently renovated and it appears in the "de lux" rooms. Rooms are big, bed is comfortable and there is a good working space equipped with a large desk, many electricity sockets and a lamp. The room also has a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker which makes a long stay more comfortable. The room is heat by AC which its engin is located at the outer side of the rooms vitrine. My room had a very noisy AC. The main con that I have raise here is that room maintanance in general lacks good service. New coffee pads were not provided every day. The same was for shampoo and conditioner. The safe was locked when I entered the room so i couldn't use it untill they sent someone to unlock it. I have to say that the guy at the front desk was very helpful and took care of all my complaints but I think they should supervise their room maids more thoroughly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We take pride in the newly renovated rooms, we are working closely with the clean team to ensure the product is maintained-clearly we still have work to do. Thanks much for bringing this to our attention.

Shirley Jordan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was or first Red Roof Inn. With the sharp, colorful advertising, we thought it was a step up from Motel 6. We were wrong. The property is old and the manager is trying to upgrade the property. She was very friendly and glad to have us as guests.

The beds were okay. I thought they were fine for a motel, my wife thought they were too soft. The raised sink in the bathroom was unusual and interesting, as were the faux floors. We were there 5 nights, the maid service was erratic-had to ask for towels twice. They did not vacumn in 5 nights. The bathroom vent was filthy. There were stink bugs in the room. I thought they were bed bugs at first. Damn near had a heart attack. Free Wi-Fi was very slow. Nice flat screen TVs and HBO included. The parking lot needs seal coating. The concrete was painted over and shows its' age.

The only highlights were the free coffee, 75 cents at the Coke machine and the curtains opened and closed easily. The ice machine by us was out of order our first three nights. May be okay for one night, but for five nights I should have upgraded to a nicer property with more amenities.

There were several tour busses and groups staying there.

This Red Roof Inn was not worth the extra money over a Motel 6.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations-that really is our goal. Your concerns /comments help us to improve our service. I have shared your concerns with my team and we are working very hard to make sure they are corrected. No excuses for ice machines not working, poor room cleanliness or the dreaded stink bugs! Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had to travel to the D.C. area for a family funeral so booked just a few days in advance. Had a very difficult time finding a truly pet friendly hotel - all the ones I called that were listed as pet friendly charged $100 (non refundable), which is not pet friendly (I always call the hotel to check on the pet policy - must of the info online is inaccurate/incomplete). I was pleasantly surprised that there was no pet fee at the RRI - most hotels (at least in other areas) charge a minimum of $10/pet. As many reviews have mentioned, the rooms are recently remodeled. They are basic but comfortable. We had a superior king, which has a frig/microwave/work desk. The sheets and towels were clean and they definitely use bleach to wash the towels. The room had a hair dryer and an iron/ironing board. We were on the side facing Shady Grove Road and there was some traffic noise but not so much that you could not sleep (not like being next to an interstate). We travel with two dogs and there is plenty of space to walk them. My only complaint is directed other people who travel with dogs - _please_ pick up after your dog. They have plenty of trash cans around so there is no excuse not to. This is why hotels have exorbitant pet fees - owners have to take some responsibility.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, ask for a first floor room - those on the courtyard side have more immediate acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Your comments were awesome and right on point...we really are one of the few hotels that are truly pet friendly. Thank you for being a considerate pet owner. and for choosing RRI. We look forward to seeing you and your other family members real soon-again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.