We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a budget hotel - pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
State College, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value for a budget hotel - pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had to travel to the D.C. area for a family funeral so booked just a few days in advance. Had a very difficult time finding a truly pet friendly hotel - all the ones I called that were listed as pet friendly charged $100 (non refundable), which is not pet friendly (I always call the hotel to check on the pet policy - must of the info online is inaccurate/incomplete). I was pleasantly surprised that there was no pet fee at the RRI - most hotels (at least in other areas) charge a minimum of $10/pet. As many reviews have mentioned, the rooms are recently remodeled. They are basic but comfortable. We had a superior king, which has a frig/microwave/work desk. The sheets and towels were clean and they definitely use bleach to wash the towels. The room had a hair dryer and an iron/ironing board. We were on the side facing Shady Grove Road and there was some traffic noise but not so much that you could not sleep (not like being next to an interstate). We travel with two dogs and there is plenty of space to walk them. My only complaint is directed other people who travel with dogs - _please_ pick up after your dog. They have plenty of trash cans around so there is no excuse not to. This is why hotels have exorbitant pet fees - owners have to take some responsibility.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, ask for a first floor room - those on the courtyard side have more immediate acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Your comments were awesome and right on point...we really are one of the few hotels that are truly pet friendly. Thank you for being a considerate pet owner. and for choosing RRI. We look forward to seeing you and your other family members real soon-again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    26
    27
    14
See reviews for
27
25
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this location for two nights. It is recently renovated with faux wooden floors and new furniture and sinks. It's a big change from when I stayed there about six years ago. At that time, I booked for three nights and left after the first night.

For this current stay, the person who checked me in was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a good location, right off of I-270 and about 10 minutes from the Metro train station. The hotel also has a shuttle. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel, and there are two supermarkets about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: I always stay on the second floor or above for motels to avoid many things, including foot and car t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Glad you like the renovation, we are working very hard to maintain the property. Your feedback is critical and we really do appreciate it..

Thank You
Shirley Jordan & Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Was in a rush to rent a last minute room for valentines day. Looked everywhere and room prices were extremely high. I found red roof but never though of renting with them for the simple fact that i never knew how nice the rooms would be. Reservation was easy and fast. Check in and out was painless and price was right on point, no extra charged or none of those big chain "fees".the room we were giving was really really nice, very clean, clean towels and bathroom, smelled really good. The bed was very comfortable and firm with nice bed clothing. Had a really good night sleep. There was no noise of any kind. Overall our experience at red roof was excellent. The price is a great value for what u get. we would definitely come back and recommend it to others..

Room Tip: Room 117 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Sounds like everything worked out for you...We realized our competition would raise their rates during Valentines Day-we did not, thanks for giving us an opportunity to impress-)

Shirley Jordan and Claudia Lazo G.M's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came to DC from central NY state to participate in a climate rally on the mall. The weather was unseasonably cold and windy. After enduring several hours out in the elements our warm, clean room at the Red Roof Inn was a welcome sight! The smiling faces and pleasant conversations with staff made our stay even more enjoyable. We plan to make the Rockville Red Roof Inn our home away from home whenever we return to the area!

Room Tip: My husband works remotely and found the set up in the room with the king bed and desk area a conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Glad to hear the work station was convienent...Wish I could have made the weather a little better for you-) I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team members. We look forward to seeing you soon! thanks much.
Shirley Jordan G.M/ Claudia Lazo G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great location, beautiful newly renovated rooms, great prices, but more importantly, awesome staff services. Location is safe and has great easy access to all the Suburban DC areas. ALL staff members are very professional, pleasant to work with, and always respects your privacy while making sure you have all basic amenities at hand. Rooms are always clean and freshly made. I recommend Red Roof Inn Rockville for any short stay or lengthy stay! -O

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm glad that you enjoy our brand new NextGen rooms. When designing our rooms, we aimed at putting a higher end feel for an economy price. I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville, MD
i0263@redroof.com
301-987-0965
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When I saw the price for the Red Roof (very affordable) I didn't expect much, but it was close to where I was working.
But when I arrived Iwas assisted by great staff (Pat at the front desk) and upon reaching my room I was really very pleased to find a super clean, modern, comfortable room. I'd recommend this Red Roof to anyone!!
Thank you Pat, and your manager as well!

Room Tip: My room faced the courtyard and was very quiet, though it's in a busy part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you sooo much! Good to hear my team member was willing and ready to assist you. Please visit us again in the near future- it really was a pleasure to meet you.

Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a five star "two star" hotel. The prices are excellent. It is easily the best motel to stay in, in the Rockville Gaithersburg area.
It is convenient to 270, so close to everything in the suburban DC area and only 45 minutes from downtown DC.
I have stayed here many times. It is the best "basic no frills" motel around.
No room service, but an outstanding Chinese restaurant across the street and Checkers, a great ice cream/burger joint is down the street.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments..Did you know we offer a shuttle service to the Metro? that would allow you to go into the city, enjoy your visit with no worries about parking your car. Let us know if that works for you on your next visit. Hope to see you soon.

Shirley Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.