We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Very friendly and accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Service is excellent! Top notch! Couldn't ask for anything more.
Basic necessities are always readily available, and the rooms are always clean.
Staff is very friendly, respectful and extremely patient.
Location is easily accessible and within good distance to eateries.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    43
    30
    27
    16
See reviews for
28
29
33
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Red Roof Inn was a really good experience. The room was clean and easily accessible. Also, there is a Burger King right across the street and one block away are italian, thai, and other places to eat and a bank. Very convenient! But, most of all, the staff are extremely helpful and super friendly. I needed help getting my iPad charged even though I left the charger at home and they were really happy to help me out, watch my luggage after check out time while I went to eat, and with anything else I needed. It was really terrific and 'neighbor' friendly; very refreshing for any stay, especially in Washington DC, and for a Red Rood Inn price. In particular, the manager Shirley Jordan was a pleasure to talk with while I waited for my cab -- really awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Safe area, good motel with good service and nice people. (quality)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, WV, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Generally, I love to stay at Red Roof Inns. Most of not all locations have been completely refurbished in the past couple of years, free WiFi, dogs are welcome at no extra cost, and prices that can't be beat.

This location, though, was wanting. The room was not well cleaned--hairs in the tub, dirt under the bed. Just not up to the usual standards of the chain. That said, it is an amazing bargain for this DC suburb, and the grounds were beautiful with cherry trees and dogwoods in full bloom.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

So many nagging little things wrong added up to a very poor experience. I booked this hotel to save some money for work in downtown DC, seeing they had a shuttle to the Metro. I should have checked further, I guess, because their shuttle only runs in the morning at 9:00 and 10:00 AM, making it relatively useless for business customers.
After my first night, I returned to my room the following day to see that housekeeping had only taken my wet towels, and done nothing else: No cleaning, no making the bed, nothing. The staff on duty at the desk informed me this was standard procedure, which it wasn't.
Next, I unintentionally bought a music package on the pay per view and turned it off right away. I called the front desk to get the charge taken off my bill, but was told that was impossible. I've had other quality hotels do this for me without question. Even after repeated emails to their general manager, the issue remains unresolved. No compromise offer was ever made. This is not the way you treat your customers.
Finally, after everything else, a raucous bunch of kids were staying in the room next to mine one night and stayed outside smoking and making noise. Nothing was done about it.

All in all, this experience comes off making me think that this is a hotel that will just nickel and dime their customers without having any concept-- from the person at the front desk all the way up to the general manager-- of what it means to be a customer service oriented company. I would stay I'll never stay there again, but I don't imagine this will be much of an issue for very much longer, as hotels like this tend to go out of business quickly in this economy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I travel on business and frequently stay in pricier hotels, but I am impressed with the Red Roof Inn at Shady Grove. It is located within a mile of the Shady Grove Metro station, and I use it because it is within a 20 minute drive of the LDS Temple. Red Lobster and other good restaurants are nearby. It has very comfortable bedding, and the room I rented had a nice microwave, mini-refrigerator, and desk. Free high speed internet access was provided. The beds were very comfortable, and the bedding quite pleasant. It isn't plush or posh, but it meets all of my modest needs, at a remarkable price. The front desk folks were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxedo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed with two small children and found the accommodations perfectly adequate. Close to metro to DC.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Road, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Washington DC-Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.