We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everthing Rises or Falls on Leadership” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Rockville to your Saves list
Courtyard Rockville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Berryville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everthing Rises or Falls on Leadership”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

2.5 stars would be more accurate.
"Everthing Rises or Falls on Leadership" was the motto of my college president. This Courtyard is lacking leadership. Front office staff while very friendly and courteous, is basically not trained properly. I was staying at the hotel (yes, another soccer tournament) and was to have a comp room. When I called ahead of my arrival to confirm we had two beds, they had trouble finding my reservation. I gave them the confirmation # and right away was told "Oh, that is why we couldn't find it. It's a comp room. Would you like to put it in your name?" Figuring it would be easier to check in, I said yes. BIG MISTAKE! When the front desk clerk changed it to my name, she took it out of comp status. When I checked in, the FD Clerk had me sign a paper, no smoking and no pets. It was folded over. She did not show me the other side which typically has the room rate on it. She asked for my credit card and I said what for? For incidentals. Fine. I am used to that. Next day I go to work and ref my games. I get a text message from my bank that I am almost out of money. What??? I check with the front desk and am told the room is not comp,and I will get my money back from my company after the tournament. NO NO NO! That is NOT how it works. I asked to talk to a manager and was told I couldn't talk with one until Monday. They just kept insisting the room was not comp. RUINED my whole weekend. Then I checkout on Sunday and Sunday afternoon they hit me up again which I find out from my bank which texted me that I was now overdrawn. The front desk kept saying it was just a hold, but I still had no access to my money. Well, here it is a week later. One charge has been removed, the second is still there. Front Desk needs to be better trained and managers need to be available for situations like that.
That said, the hotel was decent. Not great, but certainly better than the last couple of hotels I was in. The Good: enough electrical outlets for all our modern day technology that needs to be charged up. Very clean rooms and common areas. Everything worked in the business center. The bad: Bed and pillows way to soft. No microwave. Poor Wi-Fi Reception. FD had to keep resetting. Front desk seems to love to point people in the direction of their rooms (think courtyard, desk at SE corner- " Your room will be that way on the west wing" failing to tell you the only elevator is in the NE corner. So everyone takes off towards their room looking for an elevator and walks 3/4 of the way around the hotel before finding it.) A better way would be to tell people that their room is on the west wing and the elevator is in the NE corner. We weren't the only ones. Most of the people complaining all had the same desk clerk we did.
One other bright spot was Jorge. He managed to stay calm and polite as i was getting increasing frustrated with the FD. and not having any available money to go out to eat,etc. Working the other half of the tournament this weekend. I hope we have a different hotel as I can't afford to spend the weekend with promises of you will get your money back. I am still waiting for my $300 from last weekend. And also Leslie who is trying to straighten out the mess.

Room Tip: With only 1 elevator in NE corner (assuming FD is SE corner) rooms on N and E wings require the leas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the Courtyard Rockville.
I wanted to first apologize for not being available this weekend, however we did have managers on duty both days during your stay I am sorry they were not available to you. I am glad to know that the staff was able to help you as much as possible but we did fail on several fronts which I will be going through with all associates and leaders of the hotel. I have contacted your bank on Tuesday and will follow up again today regarding the authorizations to your credit card as they have told me they see that we released it and they just need to process the reversal. I know how frustrating it can be when money you expect to have is not available to you. However, we cannot comp a room until we ensure that your group has proper pick up according to the contracted agreement so we typically do charge the room and change the rate upon review of group pick up. I know you booked the group through a third party and we will reinforce these terms with them.
Again, I apologize for the service failures during your stay and I promise you I will review with the associates. We appreciate your feedback and if your travels bring you to the Rockville area again I hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Warm regards,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
22
15
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not really a bad hotel, but if you do happen to stay here DO NOT stay in room 170. The room is right next to the indoor pool. When we realized where we were located we weren't all that happy, but the hours listed on the pool were 10:00 am until 10:00 pm so we thought that it would be OK. We were woken up just before 8:00 am to screaming kids who didn't want to be in the pool at 8:00 on a Saturday morning in what happened to be the coldest weekend of the fall so far. As if that wasn't bad enough...the kids kept on crying for almost an hour straight. I have lived through that phase and didn't want to have to live through it again while paying $140.00 per night. Furthermore we never received a hot shower. Originally I thought maybe because I was taking a shower in the morning, there might have been not enough hot water, but my daughter said she didn't have hot showers and she took them in the afternoon and in the evening.

When I took this information to the manager at the front desk she offered no retribution and it was clear that they were going to continue to have swim lessons on both Saturday and Sunday in the morning.

With so many hotels in the area I would not go back to this hotel and if you do stay here on the weekend do not settle for room 170.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Rockville Courtyard, your feedback is important to us.

I apologize that you were not able to enjoy a restful weekend away from home. I understand frustrating this must have been and doesn’t start your day well. This is not a typical occurrence, but I am happy you brought it to our attention. This week has been colder than normal for this time of the year so we will keep monitoring the water temperature throughout the day.

Again, thank you for your feedback. If your travels bring you to the area in the near future please contact myself directly so I can ensure your stay is flawless next time.
Warm regards,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

You should not have a pool advertised as an amenity if it is closed for private lessons and unavailable to the guests. I was in room 170 and the noise coming from the pool was very distracting and annoying. The side door to the building where I was instructed to park did not work with my key (the other doors did). The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean but I doubt I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and providing feedback on the Courtyard Rockville. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were unable to utilize our pool area during your stay at the hotel. We do close our pool area during the day on weekdays because in Montgomery County we are required to have a lifeguard on duty while the pool is in use. Typically our guests are here on business and don’t require the use of our pool. If you do travel to the Rockville Courtyard again please see the front desk for options that we have to offer to guest in regards to pool usage. Also, we can move you to a quiet room away from the pool area for a better experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

OK..in town for Lacrosse tournament on Fri and Sat. I was surprised to learn that the pool was closed for "private lessons" until 5pm. Wish I had known this in advance. We have kids that have been playing lacrosse and wanted to jump in the pool. Ended up visiting another hotel that other parents were staying at to use the pool. As for private lessons, I never did see anyone getting those lessons.

Rooms were nice, clean and sleep quality was good. If I could rate this place I'd give it 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and providing feedback on our pool area. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were unable to utilize our pool area during your stay at the hotel. We do close our pool area during the day on weekdays because in Montgomery County we are required to have a lifeguard on duty while the pool is in use. When your group is in town next time we would be happy to arrange for a lifeguard to be in the pool area at the times you require.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have been to this Marriott several times. It is much the same as other Courtyard. The rooms are clean, the food is decent, the staff generally friendly. The only continuous problem I know of is the Internet goes down quite a bit. But still, as a Platinum member it's reasonable andwhat I expect.

The problem I have is that when we checked in Wednesday July 1, we wanted to use the pool and were told it was closed every Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday to private lessons. Not sure if it's for pay or donated, but either way it's not right. For what it's worth the counter staff seemed as frustrated as we were.

We were told it would be open Thursday. When we went to use it Thursday at about 4:20PM it was still closed. Then later we were told it would be open at 6:00PM.This is just not right. We pay for that pool with our nightly fees. If it's there and operating the guests should be able to use it.

I have never had this problem before with this or any other Marriott. I could understand if there was something wrong with the pool. That happens. Also, had it been listed in the amenities for the hotel that would have been different. Neither of those things happened.

Overall, it's not a bad hotel. But call before you book if the pool is important to you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been staying in this hotel, several times a year, for more than 20 years. The only people who seem to remember us are the sweet kitchen ladies. Really? Why can't they flag our profile and at least offer a "welcome back" when we show up? I've been a loyal Marriott customer for decades because I grew up in the DC area and went to high school with Doug Marriott. But I've reached the end of that loyalty.

When we started at this place, there was coffee in the lobby 24/7; a decent breakfast buffet, newspapers delivered to our door each morning; each room had a 4-cup coffee pot with good coffee and real mugs; bath products included lotion, shower cap, sewing kit, shoe polish cloth. And...Marriott charged 10 cents for local calls and had their hangers attached to the rod in the closet, and they charged for wireless. Now, none of the above is the case. The free wireless is slow and annoying, demanding constant re-logging in. The rooms are just this side of being actually cramped. The beds are merely okay and I think smaller than a standard king. Even the pillows are small. The bathroom vanity is too small for two people. The shower has a water saver which makes it difficult to rinse shampoo. You're probably wondering why we keep staying in this place. It's the closest hotel to where my dad lives. The staff is nice and professional; the hotel seems clean and well run. The food in the Bistro is okay, but breakfast can be slow when things are busy. Since this property caters to business travelers, they sometimes close the Bistro on weekend evenings. If you're counting on eating there, check ahead. My complaints probably have more to do with Marriott policies than this particular property. If you're okay with Marriott's parsimonious business model, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: As for rooms facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Rockville.

I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty with Marriott, it is much appreciated. In regards to your past few stays, please accept our sincere apologies for the issues addressed in your response. I have shared your feedback with the team and we will continue to focus on ways to meet guest needs.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Again, thank you for your continued loyalty with Marriott and we hope to that when in the area next time you would give us another change to regain your trust.

Warm regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I often stay at Courtyards because they can offer a better value than full-service Marriott hotels. This was one of the better Courtyards. It is very well maintained. My room was super-clean, bright and the bathroom was spotless. (You would be surprised sometimes!)

I was disappointed that as an elite member I didn't have a room ready when I arrived despite having requested an early check-in. I was told the front desk would call me when a room was ready, but this never happened. Staff were friendly, although I didn't get addressed as "Mr. XXX" nor did I get thanked for staying there despite a plethora of options within say 30 minutes of Rockville. In fact, I received no special recognition for my status -- not even a free drink coupon (most Courtyards give these out to gold and platinum elite members).

The two fitness rooms were cramped. There were no sanitary wipes when I was there. The pool was also busy with kids, so I didn't use it but it was decent. The courtyard with outdoor patio furniture was very nice, especially for sitting outside with a glass of wine on a warm summer evening. The lobby and bistro were busier than many Courtyards but the lobby itself was missing a few of the usual touches. Normally, there are a good number of tabletop books to flip through but not here. Some of the decorative touches seemed missing as well. Also, they don't have The Wall Street Journal, which I thought was odd. Every other hotel does.

All in all, from a cleanliness standpoint, it was better than most hotels. The price was right too. However, the little things kept it from being the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rockville

Address: 2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rockville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Starbucks on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rockville Hotel Rockville
Rockville Courtyard
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.