We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Closed for Private Lessons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Rockville to your Saves list
Courtyard Rockville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
Morrisville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pool Closed for Private Lessons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have been to this Marriott several times. It is much the same as other Courtyard. The rooms are clean, the food is decent, the staff generally friendly. The only continuous problem I know of is the Internet goes down quite a bit. But still, as a Platinum member it's reasonable andwhat I expect.

The problem I have is that when we checked in Wednesday July 1, we wanted to use the pool and were told it was closed every Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday to private lessons. Not sure if it's for pay or donated, but either way it's not right. For what it's worth the counter staff seemed as frustrated as we were.

We were told it would be open Thursday. When we went to use it Thursday at about 4:20PM it was still closed. Then later we were told it would be open at 6:00PM.This is just not right. We pay for that pool with our nightly fees. If it's there and operating the guests should be able to use it.

I have never had this problem before with this or any other Marriott. I could understand if there was something wrong with the pool. That happens. Also, had it been listed in the amenities for the hotel that would have been different. Neither of those things happened.

Overall, it's not a bad hotel. But call before you book if the pool is important to you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
16
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've been staying in this hotel, several times a year, for more than 20 years. The only people who seem to remember us are the sweet kitchen ladies. Really? Why can't they flag our profile and at least offer a "welcome back" when we show up? I've been a loyal Marriott customer for decades because I grew up in the DC area and went to high school with Doug Marriott. But I've reached the end of that loyalty.

When we started at this place, there was coffee in the lobby 24/7; a decent breakfast buffet, newspapers delivered to our door each morning; each room had a 4-cup coffee pot with good coffee and real mugs; bath products included lotion, shower cap, sewing kit, shoe polish cloth. And...Marriott charged 10 cents for local calls and had their hangers attached to the rod in the closet, and they charged for wireless. Now, none of the above is the case. The free wireless is slow and annoying, demanding constant re-logging in. The rooms are just this side of being actually cramped. The beds are merely okay and I think smaller than a standard king. Even the pillows are small. The bathroom vanity is too small for two people. The shower has a water saver which makes it difficult to rinse shampoo. You're probably wondering why we keep staying in this place. It's the closest hotel to where my dad lives. The staff is nice and professional; the hotel seems clean and well run. The food in the Bistro is okay, but breakfast can be slow when things are busy. Since this property caters to business travelers, they sometimes close the Bistro on weekend evenings. If you're counting on eating there, check ahead. My complaints probably have more to do with Marriott policies than this particular property. If you're okay with Marriott's parsimonious business model, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: As for rooms facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Rockville.

I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty with Marriott, it is much appreciated. In regards to your past few stays, please accept our sincere apologies for the issues addressed in your response. I have shared your feedback with the team and we will continue to focus on ways to meet guest needs.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Again, thank you for your continued loyalty with Marriott and we hope to that when in the area next time you would give us another change to regain your trust.

Warm regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I often stay at Courtyards because they can offer a better value than full-service Marriott hotels. This was one of the better Courtyards. It is very well maintained. My room was super-clean, bright and the bathroom was spotless. (You would be surprised sometimes!)

I was disappointed that as an elite member I didn't have a room ready when I arrived despite having requested an early check-in. I was told the front desk would call me when a room was ready, but this never happened. Staff were friendly, although I didn't get addressed as "Mr. XXX" nor did I get thanked for staying there despite a plethora of options within say 30 minutes of Rockville. In fact, I received no special recognition for my status -- not even a free drink coupon (most Courtyards give these out to gold and platinum elite members).

The two fitness rooms were cramped. There were no sanitary wipes when I was there. The pool was also busy with kids, so I didn't use it but it was decent. The courtyard with outdoor patio furniture was very nice, especially for sitting outside with a glass of wine on a warm summer evening. The lobby and bistro were busier than many Courtyards but the lobby itself was missing a few of the usual touches. Normally, there are a good number of tabletop books to flip through but not here. Some of the decorative touches seemed missing as well. Also, they don't have The Wall Street Journal, which I thought was odd. Every other hotel does.

All in all, from a cleanliness standpoint, it was better than most hotels. The price was right too. However, the little things kept it from being the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, I am very impressed. Customer service at the front was excellent. Rooms were very well maintained and comfortable. Lounge area was excellent and I absolutely loved the landscaping. The garden in the middle makes this place very beautiful.

Couple of things that can be improved:
1. Cleaning lady was not very courteous.
2. Pool was not accessible. We went to the pool in the morning and they told us it will be open for guests after 5 PM. We went there at 6PM, they did not allow us in due to some private lessons going on. I feel as hotel guests, we should have access to these amenities.

Overall - Excellent stay, I would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The attractive lobby and friendly desk clerk made a good first impression. Our room was clean, fresh, well lit, and comfortable. While we could hear people from other rooms and the hall, we sill had a good night's sleep. And since we were there on a weekend, the rate was very reasonable. If we get back to the area we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was meeting a friend in DC and used this as a base. The rooms were large, well equipped and very clean. The indoor pool was appreciated after a day in the city. Staff were polite and professional and as a lone female traveller this hotel felt safe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel was nice.The staff were very friendly,the room was so nice,the beds were really comfortable and the balcony was cute.It even had a book of mormon which is awesome.It was in a nice town,near some good food nearby.Will return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rockville

Address: 2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rockville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Starbucks on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rockville Hotel Rockville
Rockville Marriott
Rockville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.