We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rockville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Rockville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Smyrna, DE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is nice, clean and spacious. I like the new bedding. Pool was open and it was nice. For breakfast, I would rather go to nearby PaneraBread(we paid $7 for a banada and a cup of cereal for my son). The lobby only has free water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard Rockville. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our new bedding. I also appreciate your feedback on the pricing of some of our items in the Bistro, and will review the pricing and compare to some of the other hotel restaurants in the area, and adjust it if we do not appear to be competitively priced.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
15
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed on August 24, 2013 for one night. This was my second time staying at this hotel, and during both visits all aspects of the stay was exceptional. The location is very convenient, and the weekend rates provide an excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard Rockville, and I am so happy that we were able to provide you with a productive and relaxing stay once again. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes and Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed overnight in preparation for a family member surgery at Shady Grove Hospital early in the AM. Bed and bedding by far was the most comfy Marriott yet! Rooms very nice. Great staff too! Kids used the pool. Nice lobby and breakfast bar, coffee in morning. Easy to find. Another Marriott winner!

Room Tip: Just call before to ask for your needs. We needed adjoining rooms and easily done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that our staff and amenities were able to help you relax on the evening before your family members surgery. At the Courtyard Rockville we take great pride in making each guests experience as comfortable as possible, and we truly appreciate the feedback. Thank you again for staying with us, and for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We had driven a U-Haul truck from Alabama with our oldest child's furniture to her new apartment in DC. We needed a place with good parking and close to a metro stop. We prefer Marriott and Hilton and this place fit the bill. We checked in and we were hot and tired from the drive and as a rewards member we received cold bottled water. The room was nice and quiet. The hotel staff was friendly and we enjoyed our stay even though we spent very little time at the hotel. The room was a good temperature and the only complaint we have is that each day we were only provided one regular coffee and one decaffeinated coffee. Most hotels provide two and two. We ate no meals here but the lobby was the new and improved Courtyard style and was very nice and the bistro was very invitingThe lobby area was very clean and neat as were the outside grounds. There is a decent Italian restaurant across the street. The shady Grove Metro stop is a short drive and there is ample parking. Hop on the Red Line and be in The heart of DC in no time. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased to her that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, and location. We a re happy to announce that we now provide a complimentary shuttle service for guests to the Shady Grove Metro Satation, as well as other attractions and businesses within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future, thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was very clean. The bed was comfortable. There was a refrigerator in the room. The staff was very friendly & helped us with good restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was very good, but a little overpriced. Although we used our Marriott points for the room, the regular price is not unreasonable for the area. The only negative would be that none of the computers in the lobby were in service when we visited. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I want to thank you for your review of our property. I do apologize for the issues with the computers, and they hae since been resolved. We do hope to see you again soon, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good hotel in a great,upscale area.
Plenty of restaurants around and very close to the highway.
Only 30 minutes to get to the White House without having to pay toll!
We were in an updated room,very nice decoration with a good bed.
Unfortunately there is only one elevator in the far right corner, in the back of the building.
Our room was in the front on the left which meant a very long walk with our luggage to get to the room.
There were stairs nearby so without heavy luggage this is not a problem.

Room Tip: if you don't like walking a lot get a room near the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Courtyard Rockville, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our newly renovated guest rooms. We too would love a second elevator, but hope that if any future guests would like assistance to their room, they contact the front desk as we are always happy to assist with luggage or ay other items that might make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you gain, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A nice hotel right off the freeway. The price for a room was decent and acceptable - considering it's location close to Washington DC. When we checked in we were REALLY happy that we were given room 101...the first room on the bottom floor...right next to the door. When we went to the room it smelled big-time of smoke...in a non-smoking room and hotel. We went back to the desk and asked for a different room. We were given a room halfway down the hall on the second floor..."miles" away from the door, the stairs and the elevator. Yuck. Not happy about that, but whatcha gonna do. That was the only other room available with a king bed. The room was large with a HUGE flat screen TV. The king-size bed was very comfortable. There wasn't a continental breakfast. Overall, the hotel is a very nice and very clean. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I want to thank you for your response and feddback regaurding your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvienence of having to switch rooms due to a smoke smell. We are proud to be a non-smoking hotel and although there are penalties involved with smoking in the rooms, some guests still choose to do so. We do have procesures in place to clean rooms that we believe have been smoked in and I apologize that we appear to have missed that room, and will use your experience in training our staff in the future. I am glad that we were able to provide you with another room with a king bed, during this busy time of year, and am very happy to hear that it was clean and comfortable for the remainder of your stay. Thank you again for your feedback, and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rockville

Address: 2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rockville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Starbucks on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Reservation Counter so you can book your Courtyard Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rockville Hotel Rockville
Rockville Courtyard
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.