We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rockville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Rockville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Spanish Fork, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A nice hotel right off the freeway. The price for a room was decent and acceptable - considering it's location close to Washington DC. When we checked in we were REALLY happy that we were given room 101...the first room on the bottom floor...right next to the door. When we went to the room it smelled big-time of smoke...in a non-smoking room and hotel. We went back to the desk and asked for a different room. We were given a room halfway down the hall on the second floor..."miles" away from the door, the stairs and the elevator. Yuck. Not happy about that, but whatcha gonna do. That was the only other room available with a king bed. The room was large with a HUGE flat screen TV. The king-size bed was very comfortable. There wasn't a continental breakfast. Overall, the hotel is a very nice and very clean. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I want to thank you for your response and feddback regaurding your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvienence of having to switch rooms due to a smoke smell. We are proud to be a non-smoking hotel and although there are penalties involved with smoking in the rooms, some guests still choose to do so. We do have procesures in place to clean rooms that we believe have been smoked in and I apologize that we appear to have missed that room, and will use your experience in training our staff in the future. I am glad that we were able to provide you with another room with a king bed, during this busy time of year, and am very happy to hear that it was clean and comfortable for the remainder of your stay. Thank you again for your feedback, and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
16
9
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked the Courtyard for a recent weekend trip to the area. The hotel is well located; tucked out-of-the-way from the city center, but close enough for quick travel to restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotel staff was very accommodating, addressing our various requests without issue. We were assigned a room on the first floor, directly adjacent to an exterior exit, which provided easy access to our vehicle. Our first floor room also provided direct access to the common courtyard area with numerous sitting / meeting areas. The room was very clean and its size was adequate, with one existing king size bed and ample room for an inflatable air mattress. We also had a compact refrigerator and free Wi-Fi. The room, the staff and the hotel location were excellent.

One issue, the walls are “very thin” and with many, many children staying at the hotel, running through the halls and engaging in enthusiastic play, quiet time was fleeting. Bring some headphones.

Room Tip: First floor provides walkout access to Cortyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed the room accomodations, and access to the courtyard, which is so nice to relax in this time of year. I do apologize for the noise. As we are in close proximity to the Maryland Soccerplex and Sporta Arena, we at times get sports groups and teams. For future stays please let our front desk know and we will happily block your room in a quieter area of the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nicely updated hotel, in a office park right off I-270. Not too far from Shady Grove Metro station. If you continue away from I-270 there is a shopping center with a variety of casual restaurants, if you don't know it's there it looks pretty empty. Desk staff is OK but the "breakfast area" in the lobby is too expensive and very limited

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review of our hotel. We are located near the Pharma-Technology Corridor in Rockville, in close proximity to many businesses. We are happy to announce that we now offer a complimentary shuttle for guests that goes within a 3 mile radius of the hotel to local businesses, shops, dining, attractions, and the metro station. We hope that this amenity will give our guests more options to explore the area. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed a weekend at this hotel. Check In and out was fast. property and rooms are very clean, lounge area is pleasant. had appetizers which were good, drinks were pricey. would I stay again if in the area. For sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly value your feedback, and appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is pretty close to a lot of things and situated in a nice area. The pool is quite nice and it has a lovely interior park like setting to relax in, It has a very nice and friendly staff a few issues though were the sliding door didn't open all the way which would have been nice to bring in all the stuff we had. It teasingly opened up a mear 2 inches this is just a simple annoyance really and not a major complaint and it is easy to see the reasons they wouldn't want it to open all the way. The real issue was there was a minor ant infestation in our room. It may have been an isolated incident but insects are not something you want to see on any vacation you might take. For this reason I had to give it a poor rating. Happy travels people.

Room Tip: Drive way entrance dips down a bit so if you have a low profile car .... BEWARE!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I want to first thank you for your review of our property, we truly appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests as to how we can improve our operations. In regards to the exterior sliding door, it appears you understand our reasoning behind limiting the amount they are opened. It is purely a safety and security measure. While we are located in a very safe area our exterior sliding doors only open a couple of inches as a security measure. In regard to the pest issue you experienced, we take any reports of ants or any pests very seriously. Upon receiving a complaint we contact a third party pest service to inspect and if necessary treat the room for any issues. Our housekeeping and engineering teams inspect all guest rooms on a daily basis for such issues to prevent experiences such as this. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the property directly and I would be happy to speak with you personally. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel great location, but since they have marketplace bristo they have stop providing coffee in lobby. I feel they need revenue in the bistro. This is first hotel I have been to in 30+ years that did not have coffee in loby for guests. Will use again but will plan to go down to service station to get morning coffee. Yes there is coffee in room is but i'm up at 6am and family does not get up till 8Sunday am

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin A, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I want to first thank you for your review of our peroperty. We truly appreciate feedback from our guests. While we no longer offer comlimentary coffee in our lobby, we have upgraded our in room coffee brand and one cup brewers to better accomodate our guests needs. We are also proud to serve Starbucks, all day in our Bistro. I want to thank you again for your review, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great visit. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and the location was very quiet. Enjoyed the bistro. Very good location in relation to hospital and rehab center. Enjoyed the stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rockville

Also Known As:
Courtyard Rockville Hotel Rockville
Courtyard Rockville Hotel
Rockville Marriott
Rockville Courtyard
Address: 2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rockville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Starbucks on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.