We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this Courtyard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Rockville to your Saves list
Courtyard Rockville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Skip this Courtyard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stay at Marriott properties or Hilton depending on the location, need and other factors. both chains seem to be consistent and I usually have no issues. Not this time! This hotel was/ is under construction so all my profile preferences were not available. I booked directly with this hotel and was never made aware. I was placed on the ground floor and was felt like a basement floor in an old apartment building. Lighting was dim, along with the carpet and wallpaper. The lobby was updated but the rooms were not. After I checked in I went down the street and there was a new Marriott property and a new Hilton property. That’s my new spot and the pricing is the same. also the new properties are next to a shopping center with a Starbucks, supermarket, restaurants and more.

Workout equipment was in two seperate small roooms and not upto date. In a dim and remote location.
Not coming back to this hotel location.

Room Tip: go down the street to the other chain or other marriott property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
15
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our hockey team was playing over the weekend in Rockville and we stayed here..Staff and facilities were A+...We had a group rate that included a full breakfast for our team. Will definitely stay here again when traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Hotel is set-up in a U shape..If you are staying and want to be near the lobby and amenities, ask wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Marriot Courtyard for a whole week for work. I did not expect much since I didn't plan to be at the hotel much but I was not impressed with the service provided by the front desk. Either they are understaffed or the staff just like to hang out in the back. I came by the front on several occasion and they were not there. I had to wait until someone came out from the back.
It smells funky through out the whole hotel. The only thing I was impressed with was the housekeeping. The ladies were really sweet. I only asked for room cleaning every other day but ladies always leave a bag of toiletries and clean towels in front of my door.

I felt like I was treated rudely because I did not booked directly with Marriot but instead my company booked through a 3rd party website. I understand the hotel does not earn as much when we book through a 3rd party so I usually compare prices and book directly with the hotel itself. But since my company booked this for me, I had no choice. There were at least 3 situation with 3 different staff that told me they could not accommodate my request because I booked through a 3rd party website. Well, honestly that is Marriot's choice of marketing and advertisement. So why is the costumer getting punished for it. Needless to say, I called on my last day to see if I can have a late check out. I have been here for a whole week and I can tell this hotel is pretty much empty and there were barely any cars in the lot all week but after checking my account, they told me I have to check out at 12pm. I guess they notice I was an Expedia costumer.

My co-worker ended up staying down the street at Hilton Garden for the same price and the hotel was much cleaner, very new, better service, and even came with a continental breakfast. Save your self the trouble and just book with another hotel. There are plenty around the area for more bangs for your buck. My stay was extended for 3 more days, so you know where I will be going. Courtyard, if you were nicer about my 3rd party website booking, I would of extended my stay with you. But just too bad that you didn't train your staff to have the same hospitality to all your costumers!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stay at this hotel an average of once per month. I visited this hotel in July and the elevator was being repaired and thus not working. I returned last week (August) and the elevator was still not working. Balconies on exterior-facing rooms are unfurnished and dirty. My bathroom had a long black hair on the floor near the bathtub upon check-in. Otherwise...the staff is friendly and helpful, the facilities are nice and the rooms are quiet. Marriott has other properties in the area, as do many of Marriott's competitors. A few tweaks are needed here to improve the competitiveness of this hotel.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face the quiet courtyard and are furnished. Walk across the street to Thats Amor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was in the area for a weekend training. The hotel was located close to my venue. We reserved two rooms. I did inform the hotel prior to my arrival that I needed adjoining rooms. However the rooms weren't. After speaking to the front desk, they quickly resolved the situation and accommodated us.

The hotel's lobby is very modern and has nice sitting areas. The weekend we were there, there were many teenagers for some type of basketball event. They were hanging out in the lobby and pool. There was enough room for them to hang out and others to enjoy the area.

The rooms were clean and functional. We paid $80 per night which was an excellent deal for any hotel.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Check Marriott's website for the best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found this place by accident and found it to be great for a quick overnight stay. We had a room with 2 queen beds that was very comfortable and spacious. Hotel was very clean and staff pleasant. We had a sandwich at their "Le Bistro" area and it was surprisingly good. They also brew Starbucks coffee which helped get us started the next morning. With AAA card we got the room for 85 bucks which was a deal. The downside was the hotel's elevator wasn't working and there aren't many restaurants nearby. It is mostly a business area so it was very quiet on Saturday when we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel has a very modern look with accommodating common areas inside and out. The room was well appointed for this price range. Unfortunately, while the bed itself was comfortable, I had a terrible experience with bug bites. While falling asleep I noticed a bug in the sheets. I performed a cursory examination and didn't see another - since the bug appeared larger than a bed bug I wasn't as alarmed as I might have been (I mistakenly thought all bed bugs were tiny but have now learned the adults are larger and match what I saw) I checked out without thinking more of it. However, I eventually noticed a few itchy, bumpy spots on various areas and now have 6-8 spots. I performed an internet search and pictures confirm that what I saw was a bed bug. The hotel has a pleasant look and convenient location but I would be very concerned about issues with bed bugs in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Sorry for your experience at our hotel. We wish you had reported the incident so we could have investigated the problem. Fortuneately we have had no other comments of this nature. Again please accept my apology for your experience with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rockville

Address: 2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rockville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Starbucks on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rockville Hotel Rockville
Rockville Courtyard
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.