We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place I stay while I am in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rockville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Rockville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Rockville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Rockville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only place I stay while I am in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

I love this place. Great service, friendly staff, clean rooms, reasonable rates. And, the manager Victor will do anything to make your stay pleasant. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
20
15
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2011. The Courtyard is a standard and pretty much what you would expect. There were some highlights and lowlights from my stay:

THE HIGHLIGHTS
-Good bistro, serving coffee, sandwiches, breakfast, snack items. I liked that the bistro was open from early morning until late evening.
-Lobby was nicely decorated with plenty of workspace
-Room was clean and adequate

THE LOWLIGHTS
-Nothing within walking distance
-The smell of chlorine from the pool is overpowering in the lower level hallways
-They offer swimming lessons here for kids during the weeknights and the walls in the rooms are very thin - make sure you request an upper floor room or one not by the pool

All in all, it is a decent hotel for a night or two and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool since there is an overpowering chlorine smell and swimming lessons con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Only here for one night and wish we had stayed here the night before. The hotel was recently updated. The lobby reminded us of a hotel we stayed at in Japan Town in San Fran. Warm earth tones with a soothing appeal. The room was very clean and had a balcony facing the inside courtyard. It was relaxing in the morning to sit on the balcony and listen to the sounds of the birds in the trees. Ask for a courtyard facing room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was pitch black for sleeping. We slept well. We had a king sized bed. The room had a flat screen LG TV, refrigerator, and microwave. The pool was nice- pretty large for a hotel. The rate was exceptional for a DC vicinity hotel. The metro is nearby. We drove to it, parked, and then went into DC.

Room Tip: Upper floor inside courtyard facing room is quite and good for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Courtyard Rockville, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This Courtyard property was just average. The lobby was updated but the interior corridors and guest rooms seemed outdated and slightly stale. The facility was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was not convenient as a taxi to the metro cost $12. The highlight was the very curteous staff. Breakfast was fine, but overpriced. For just a few bucks more, I would suggest the Bethesda North Marriott, which was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Was at this locale for five days/four nights. This was a business stay. I am a longstanding frequent loyal Marriott customer (several decades worth) Courtyard prides itself as a brand that caters to the business traveler first and foremost. It should be noted that I stay the majority of my annual leisure and business stays at Marriott brands because of service and quality of the brand. This experience really opened my eyes.

This trip I was part of a large (100+ person) business group where the base activities for the group and many of the events were held at the nearby Hilton (three blocks from the Courtyard) but instead of staying with the group, decided to stay at the Marriott due to elite status, so thought it would be a better experience. Also thought (based on what was advertised) that this was a fully renovated newer Courtyard - it isn't. Please be aware that the Lobby and some of the rooms have been upgraded, but the majority of the facility is both tired and antiquated.

Thanks to serious Flight weather delays (where we were flying in from), arrived to the property very late. Normally this would be a non-issue at any Marriott given one's Marriott elite status and history. While I give kudos to the check in staff member who was very professional (he was from Spain and with impeccible service ethic), the poor guy was there all alone at night and hampered with having to deal with the effects of a failure in propertyy management which is a total disaster at this location. By arriving late you got the worst room (the last room they had) which turned out to be unrenovated, dirty and used, and located at the noisiest place possible, which is an experience that should never happen for anyone, let alone a Marriott elite status customer. Although repeatedly assured that the room would be changed in the AM and trusting that Marriott was going to handle the "problem", it not only never happened, but things went from bad to worse!

Next day came back from long meeting day and discovered that they never bothered to follow through on their empty promises made, and not only did they completely drop the ball, but worse still they then were dishonest and said that they did not know anything about a room change. The person at the front desk was uncaring and hostile about it as well. From this a customer bore direct witness to the fact that there is no accountability at this property. It was also discovered that there is no general manager on the premises during a majority of operating hours, either. To have such absent and uncaring Hotel management oversight - one that does not do a thing to rectify or to properly take care of its best customers, much less do anything to cure unprofessional staff behavior - the room remained the same for the next day - what is one to do? For Marriott (which prides itself of customer care) such practices are beyond disgraceful. It should be noted that I was charged the highest business rates for the stay ($239/night) for a dirty room with the most uncomfortable bed and noise problem, and there was no compensation or even direct communication by management or follow through at any time to deal with what was reported during the stay or follow-through with the customer at any time after the stay, either.

By contrasting experience, our business group (who were based at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn) - had a Hotel with brand new modern construction that was immaculate. Many of our events were held at the Hilton and I experienced a staff was both caring, attentive, and highly professional - even though they were full. It also turned out that that the room rates at the Hilton ($189) were far less than the Marriott Courtyard ($239) and you got more value for your money and far better business amenties at the Hilton, given full breakfast benefits (included) along a full service restaurant for meals, a bar with an elegant outdoor patio, great sports facilities, all modern business amenities, and renovated upgraded and comfortable rooms (which was surprising for Garden Inn - they are nothing like I remember). The trip got me to join the HiltonHonors program, and for business now consider staying at the various Hilton branded properties ever since.

Would never stay at this Marriott Rockville Courtyard ever again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

I always love the beds at Marriott's Hotels and the beds at this courtyard were terrible. Got the breakfast special - first of all the Bistro was not open and ready for business at the advertised time - then received a microwaved sandwich. When discussed with the front desk staff we were given the canned answer about soon to be renovated - if they don't meet Marriott standards in the company's home state then maybe they should be shut down until renovated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I went with a group of ladies from my church to spend the night and we had reserved a number of rooms and had arranged for the motel to provide a nice breakfast buffet for our group in the morning. Everything went smoothly and the rooms were clean, attractive, comfortable and everybody was pleased with the service. Some of us enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub in the evening. They even had a lifeguard on duty which is most unusual for a motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rockville

Address: 2500 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rockville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Starbucks on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rockville Hotel Rockville
Rockville Courtyard
Rockville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.