We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return to this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Will return to this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second stay at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Front desk staff always helpful, breakfast was quite satisfactory, albeit a bit boring after the first few days since the fare never chaged. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    193
    97
    41
    36
See reviews for
219
136
48
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

To begin, the hotel itself, as it is well described on your site, is very good. The reason I gave it five stars is that their staff is totally committed to customer service, something I find so lacking these days, even in five star hotels. I decided on a very last minute trip to Washington DC and pretty much everything was either unavailable or super high priced. I located and emailed six properties I liked that were unavailable and two replied, one to confirm they had no availability and the Best Western Rockville to say they would try to accommodate me. I corresponded with the hotel manager Ermias by email over the next couple of days, never waiting more than a half hour for a reply that succinctly answered all of my questions, something that I also find rare these days. When I arrived and checked in, the desk manager Riccardo spent nearly an half hour giving me the lay of the land, including discount coupons to what turned out to the best restaurant in Rockville, The American Tap Room. I spent eight nights there and everyone, regardless of position, was as friendly and helpful as could be.

I had an Executive King Suite at the end of the corridor on the top floor, very quiet and everything was in working order. It had a large bedroom with a comfortable king bed, TV and window, connecting to an even larger living room with a convertible couch, desk, TV, small fridge (no freezer), microwave and window. Amenities included free parking, free wifi, very good free continental breakfast (scrambled eggs, roast potatoes, sausage, bacon, waffles, cereal, mini-muffins, toast, juice, coffee) and free shuttle around town and to the Metro.

The Metro ride to Washington was 30 to 40 minutes during the week, longer on the weekend as they run fewer trains off-peak, which was fine for me to return some early morning emails and review my daily itinerary since most Washington attractions do not open before 10 am. Two or three early mornings can be used to see the monuments and visit kiosks to gather timed tickets if you’ve not reserved them on the internet (Bureau of Engraving and Printing, Holocaust Museum, Washington Monument, Ford Theatre) before the museums open. Beyond Washington, a visit to the second Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in Chantilly, just below Dulles, is well worth the day.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Comfortable rooms, helpful & friendly reception staff. Terrible (fast) food options at night, fine complementary breakfast. Easy to get to Washington DC by metro. Free shuttle bus to the Rockville metro station. Location of the hotel is nice. Nice to walk to Rockville

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived and stayed in room 200. The room was filthy dirty -- large stains on the all the carpets, smelling horrible, etc. We asked if there were other rooms available and were told that the hotel was full and we had no option.

We then tried to watch television and the reception was so poor that many channels weren't even viewable! We called the front desk again and they sent the engineer, he was nice, but just shrugged his shoulders and said, yes, the hotel has an old analog TV system and the result is that the reception is bad. How in 2015 can you not have digital TV service? Don't advertise that you have HD TVs and proper TV service if the channels don't even come in!

We then tried to go to bed, but the pillows were horrible - much smaller than a standard-sized pillow and not even made of normal pillow material -- instead, they were filled with broken up pieces of stuffing, not solid real pillows at all! We asked for some real pillows and were told that there are none, that this is all the hotel has.

Then, when we went to bed, we were FREEZING, the temperature outside was in the low 40s and our room was so very cold that we could not sleep. We tried to turn on the heat, but NOTHING. We called the front desk again, and were told that there was no heat -- it had been turned off for the season. We had to get extra blankets from the front desk and froze for the first three nights we were there without sleeping well.

Then we experienced the housekeeping service -- for three days they didn't vacuum the room once or replace any amenities! I had to AGAIN speak to the front desk and ask for our room to be vacuumed and for amenities to be placed in the room.

The hotel was so horrible, that we tried to find another hotel in the area to move, but all were unfortunately full.

We spent 11 nights in your hotel dealing with the horrible situation and spent a fortune there.

Then on the last day we asked for a slightly late check out... "NO!" we were rudely told by one of the ladies at the front desk. "If you don't vacate your room within 15 minutes we are going to charge you another full day" we were told. I absolutely could not believe the rudeness, especially after we had spent 11 days there, that we could not be given an extra hour before checking out.

I have to say, this was one of the WORST hotel stays that I have ever stayed in. Everyone should know what a dump this hotel is and how the hotel does not care about its guests. It was just the absolute worst experience. I will also be filing a complaint directly with Best Western so that they are aware that your hotel does not meet their standard of service or quality.

Avoid this hotel at all costs!

Room Tip: Don't book at this hotel... find another one in the area.
See more room tips
Green Features: They save electricity by not vacuuming the rooms and not having the heat turned on... horrible.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a one night stay in Rockville and was pleased with my stay at the Best Western Plus. It is a older hotel and showing it's age but you can tell the staff and management have done everything they can to keep it clean and in good working order. I was on the top floor and the AC unit was noisy and didn't keep the room as cool as I would have liked. The room door handle opened up which was just a known issue to the staff but for some reason they don't feel the need to do it right which is an easy task so is I guess just a pet peeve with me. The bed was old and uncomfortable. I usually stay with a Hilton brand hotel so this was less quality than I am used to, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this location May 14th-17th. The location of the hotel was perfect, right off the freeway! The hotel itself wasn't bad or great, is was ok. It was clean, the rooms were a good size, but customer service was limited. I never stayed at a hotel were the employees didn't know anything about the area, never-the-less thank God for GPS and the Internet (which was free!) Free WiFi is always a plus in my book and with that I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently stayed in this hotel for a youth sports tournament. We were traveling with a group, and had reserved a room for 2 nights. When we arrived late Saturday evening, I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly we were checked in and the quality of the room. The lobby was also big and comfortable enough to sit and visit in. My only concern about the room was the loud fan on the air conditioner, but it was a minor distraction at best. The breakfast was also really good. There was plenty of food and everything was fresh.

My concerns began when I read the sign at the front desk about the 25% extra "hold" they placed on my debit card to cover if we stole or broke anything in the room. I'm not sure what kind of clientele they are used to, but we've stayed at several other hotel chains locally and NEVER had anyone preemptively charge me for stealing or breaking something in the room. They also charge $1.50 for use of the in room safe, which they will remove if you ask upon checkout. They do tell you about these charges up front, when you check in, but I still think its crazy to charge me for something that I didn't do or use.

I was also disappointed when we asked the front desk about the option of a late checkout at 1pm, instead of the usual 12pm. We were unsure of our game schedule at that point, and would possibly not need the room for the second night. We we told that this option was impossible because the housekeeping staff couldn't possibly wait until 1pm to begin cleaning our rooms. The staff seemed unconcerned and completely unmotivated to help us find a solution. When we asked to speak to a manager, we were told that they don't have a manager on duty over the weekend. We ended up staying, and we were back at the hotel for a couple of hours in the afternoon. As of 2pm, our room had not been cleaned, so I'm not sure what the front desk meant when they said housekeeping couldn't wait until 1pm to clean.

Between the the extra charges for things I didn't do/use, and the lack of cooperation on behalf of the front desk staff, I wont likely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWRockvilleMD, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking a moment to post your review. I am sorry that you had a less than adequate experience with a staff member. We take pride in our training and will look into the possible causes for your experience as described. and can assure you that your next visit will be much better. Thanks again and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
#5 Family Hotel in Rockville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.