We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of the Door Slamming Olympics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Home of the Door Slamming Olympics”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

There is one person at check in that has to do it all - answer phones, contact maintenance, and check people in. A hotel of this size should have more than one person on duty. The makeover of this old 1970s Ramada Inn tower is nice. Elevators are new and fresh looking. There is artwork on the walls leading to the rooms. And the overall facility is clean, with plenty of parking. Management has done a very nice job.

Now, the main problem. Door slamming. It doesn't matter if it is 2 in the afternoon or 10 at night. Slam! Slam! Slam! It sounds like gunshots ringing out in the hallway. When you check in they YELLOW MARKER over your rate, smoking citation fees, check out time, etc - which is kind of tacky in itself. Perhaps they should have the guest write "I WILL NOT SLAM DOORS UPON ENTRY OR LEAVING OF MY GUEST ROOM AT ANY TIME." This is a known issue. Look at previous complaints dating from a few years back. To the management of this hotel: you have spent how much money renovating a very old building? Honestly, how much would it cost to put padding around the door frames or tighter hinges on the doors? Think I am being overly dramatic about this issue - try having any peace and quiet outside of about 1 in the morning til 5 in the morning without having a door slam so hard in the hallway it wakes you up to the point of startling you. As I have written this view at 7 AM, the doors have been slammed in the hallway at least a dozen times. I'm not talking about gently letting doors close, it sounds like people are getting mad at each other and just opening up their door and kicking it shut. Even housekeeping, lets the doors slam shut. Management - try sitting in a room and listen to how loud it is. That is what your COURTEOUS guests have to listen to trying to work, trying to sleep, trying to do anything! SLAM! SLAM! SLAM!

There are much higher end properties in the Rockville/Gaithersburg area that are very reasonable in price that probably have adequate hinges on the doors. I have suspicions on some of the 5 star reviews for this hotel as most of them are written by guests with "1 review." The breakfast of runny eggs, overly seasoned potatoes, and bacon can be found elsewhere. Most hotels have shuttles. Until the door slamming issue is resolved, you won't get any rest here, and isn't that the main point of staying in a hotel?

Room Tip: None. Until the door slamming situation has been resolved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m so glad you enjoyed the fresh new look of our lobby and overall building refresh. I hope you will return again in the months to come as we have more exciting upgrades coming including new carpeting, new title work, and new lobby furniture to mention just a few.

I’m so very sorry that you had concerns about door slamming and feel bad that this affected your stay so drastically and outshined all everything you enjoyed about our renovated facility. We had a student group in while you were here. Trust me, the chaperones and members of the tour company have both been spoken to as this is not acceptable behavior. Because of our great location, we have many groups that stay with us, including many well behaved student groups. Trip Advisor, being one of the premier social media travel sites is becoming very popular – not just for reading reviews – but for writing them as well. While you are correct many guests that really enjoyed their stay are first time writers, you will also notice, so are many that have less than positive responses are as well. Many first time writers on sites really loved their stay or really want to express why did not. This is a very common effect as social media and blog sites become more popular.

Next time you come to the area, please feel free to contact me directly via this site. I would be happy to personally watch your reservation from start to finish… and see that you receive a room out our top floor … away from any students that may be in house at the same time as you.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    160
    77
    34
    31
See reviews for
192
110
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Conway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I are disabled and stayed in accessible room. All staff are amazing. Cannot possibly single one out. There is good shuttle service to metro. Beds are very comfortable. Staff is very flexible to needs. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on giving great service to all our guests and always make sure everyone leaves happy. When it comes to travel for our guests that require our accessible rooms, we want those guests to feel just as at home. You may have noticed that the room is fully assessable, from access to amenities such as microwave and refrigerator to even our in room safes that are located for easy access.

We hope to see you here again at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville and on twitter /BWRockville. Also check out our Facebook page for our specials for added savings!

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Best Western Plus Hotel in Rockville, MD was a very pleasant experience. Great quiet location, just a couple minutes from some nice restaurants. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. When I arrived early evening, they went an extra mile (literally) to get me to a local restaurant, in time for dinner with some friends. The hotel provides a shuttle to the METRO train lines which, in my opinion, is the best way to get to and from DC.
But what impressed me the most, was what matters to me the most.... Cleanliness. Everything was cleaned, polished, disinfected. I'm talking about the room, the lobby, restaurant, mirrors, elevators, floors, everywhere. The management and staff obviously take pride in the place. It shows.
Jimmy Mac
Bradford, PA

Room Tip: Best Valve is Single Suite. Really spacious. Full size sofa for kickin' back, large desk for wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really have a great team here and I will be sure that they see your review. You are right – the best way to see DC is via Metro… not only is it cheaper than parking downtown, it’s headache free and gives you’re the flexibly to visit all our great attractions without having to find your way back to your car. You are correct, we really do take pride in the hotel – and we are even prouder when we get feedback such as yours.

We hope to see you here again at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville and on twitter /BWRockville. Also check out our Facebook page for our specials for added savings!

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is just by I-270. Public areas are very nice. We also enjoy the breakfast very much, it' s simple though fresh. The down side is that it didn't smell so fresh in our room, maybe some previous guests had smoked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree with you – as do most of our guests that post on here – we do have a great location and a free breakfast that keeps our guests well fed to start off their day. We take our guest feedback very seriously… as a matter of fact due to numerous guests’ requests we converted to a 100% smoke free hotel. Although we have ample smoking areas by each entrance, some of our guests do break the rules. I’m sorry you had some residue smoke orders in your area. This has been reported to our housekeeping manager and we will be sure this does not happen again. We do charge our guests who smoke in their rooms and put rooms out of order for deep cleaning. I’m sorry that your room may have inadvertently been put back into inventory sooner than it should have been.

We hope to see you here again at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville and on twitter /BWRockville. Also check out our Facebook page for our specials for added savings!

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I along with fifty two other group members spent two nights at this hotel. The rooms were satisfactory, clean, and the beds were very comfy! The service was nice, check in was easy. We reserved the Watergate room, and that fitted sixty people. We could not have asked for more. I look forward to returning back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Best Western has come a long way since when we were kids. Many Best Westerns (such as ours) offer plenty of meeting space for groups off all kinds – from weddings to meeting – you name it! I’m glad you enjoyed our Watergate Room. That’s not even our largest room. Our ballroom is even larger with the ability to accommodate up to 190 people for a meeting. It’s part of our over 5,000 sq ft of flexible meeting space.

We look forward to seeing you here again at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville and on twitter /BWRockville. Also check out our Facebook page for our specials for added savings!

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful stay!! REAlly appreciated the hotel shuttle to and from the metro station. My wife and I found it to be the perfect location to see the sights in Washington!! The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with visiting the nation’s capital! I have to agree with you – our free shuttle and free breakfast are a great way to start off a day of touring a city that has so much to see and do. Our great location makes us a great option to more pricy hotels in DC.

We look forward to seeing you here again at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville and on twitter /BWRockville. Also check out our Facebook page for our specials for added savings!

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.