We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cons outweigh the pros” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cons outweigh the pros”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Pros: Nice staff, free breakfast, new beds and TV.
Cons: Mold on vents and bathtub, dirty hallways, cold eggs/pancakes/sausage at breakfast.
Kendall at the front desk was very nice upon check in, the rate was great via online bid site, just looking for a clean and updated room. Room was updated(new bed and TV), however carpet, bathroom, doors/switches were original - and the hallways up to the room were dirty, plust the mold on vents and bathtub were the killer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I will forward your compliments regarding Kendall on our front desk team. We get a lot of great feedback regarding Kendall, as she truly cares about our guests and it clearly shows. Also, I’m glad you enjoyed the free full American breakfast buffet. It’s a great way to start the day. Thanks for noticed our updated rooms including the HDTVs with over 60 channels… all free. I have also forwarded your comments about the guest rooms to our management team. Should you return to the Rockville area, please contact me directly via this site to make a reservation so we can be sure you receive that great guest experience we have become known for.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    200
    101
    44
    36
See reviews for
227
140
49
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wharton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel and the accomodations that they had worked for our busy schedules. Not only was the hotel room nice, clean and comfortable, but the shuffle service that they offered was excellent. The shuttle runs on the hour to the Metro service and then picks up on the 2o minutes after the hour. There were several times that we didn't catch the pick-up back to the hotel, but we just called and they came eventhough it was not their regular pick up time and transported us back to the hotel. We found that the full buffet breakfast served everyday was excllent as well. For 4 adults there was plenty of room and I would definitely use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With our great location less than two miles from the metro station (including complimentary shuttle) we are a great alternative to those wishing to visit all the sights and sounds of our nation’s capital. I will pass on your compliments about our friendly staff… we really do have a great team here.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were looking for a room close to the metro to access the Mall in DC. This BW was a very good choice. While only a copula miles from the Rockville station, the second day we opted for the White Flint station because of the large parking garage, still only about 20 min away even in atrocious traffic. The hotel was slightly dated. Small details like a cracked elevator button slightly worn carpet repaired wallpaper etc gave clues that the hotel wasn’t new. That said the room was clean and the bathroom had been redone recently. New fixtures tile and countertop made the room an exceptional value. Don’t know about you but for us a very clean new bathroom makes for a lot nicer stay. My only complaint was a noisy air handling system that did not bother my wife but after 6 hours of REM made the last 1 or two hours of my sleep a bit unrestful. That is the reason for the 3 star sleep rating. The bed was clean and comfortable.The Best Western has a restaurant that serves what I call bar food. Pizza, wings, salad, etc. Ok for a quick meal ( the pizza and salad we had were very good) but not fine dining. There is also a bar. It was nice after a day of walking DC to not have to leave the hotel for food and drink. The breakfast was also very good. Eggs, home fries, cereal, bagels, yogurt, juice, etc. More than enough to get you going. The man who prepared the food and also waited and bussed was proud of his food and rightly so. He did a good job. Staff were friendly and helpful. For about 93 bucks a night we couldn’t find another like it. Bargain. We would stay again

Room Tip: Since the hotel is located in a suburban area and there are no spectacular views any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m glad you found our location convenient for your visit to the Washington, DC area. I agree that the White flint parking is larger than the Rockville metro stop. Next time you may want to consider our complimentary shuttle to the metro that leaves every hour and as you can see from other posts here our guest find it very handle. We listen to a guest feedback and take them very seriously. Our regular guests ask for a dining (and drinking) option right at the hotel, so we added a casual dining option – Callaway’s. Rockville also has many dining, shopping and entertainment options – all just a few minutes away via our complimentarily shuttle.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel during our vacation last week. The hotel is wonderful and we can not say enough how great the shuttle service was to and from the metro. The hotel is clean, with a nice buffet breakfast every morning. The even has coffee in the lobby all day long which is helpful when you are out all day. The room are comfortable with a small refrigerator and microwave and plenty of room for 4 adults.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Wow, it seems like you hit every aspect of a guest stay with us – our friendly staff, great complimentary full American breakfast, clean rooms and great shuttle to the metro. I have to agree with you in regards to the free coffee in lobby. Coffee is ALWAYS a welcome treat – before or after a long day of touring or meetings.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Close to the highway - and to the center of Rockville and the Metro. Truly great breakfast (included). Older building but the rooms have all been re-done and it's a hotel beyond its star-level. No restaurant but nice exercise room and pleasant pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Hidden gem just about says it all! I have to agree with you – we offer a great location – easy to get to AND easy to get to the places you want to go. You are correct, we have recently renovated all our guest rooms and suites. As a matter of fact, we just added a casual restaurant that is open Monday – Saturday offering pizza, wings, snacks and bear and wine.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was so thrilled with the value at the Best Western Rockville on my last visit that I booked it again for a recent weekend trip. The best features about the hotel are truly exceptional: a great rate, free parking, complimentary wi-fi, and great service. On the other hand, one year later, the hotel felt somewhat run down; the bathroom fixtures were not in great shape, the hallway carpet was matted, and the "hot breakfast" (included) was rather depressing. If you can look past all of those, though, it's still a great value.

Note: Even though the hotel is right off 270, it's still at least 30-45 minutes to Washington by car, and 20-25 minutes to Chevy Chase and Bethesda. There is no Metro accessible by walking, either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for returning to our hotel. That is always the biggest compliant for a hotel. We have made some enhancements to our hotel in the last year – including adding flat panel HD TVs in every guest room and suite, a casual restaurant offering pizza, snack and bear and wine – plus we converted to non-smoking hotel. We have future plans to go even more upgrading including our hall ways and lobby.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was an affordable way to stay in relative proximity to DC, but the hotel itself was, well, meh. There was a funky odour, not quite mould, not quite smoke, but something. Otherwise it seemed clean, and a search for bedbugs revealed nothing.
Breakfast was fine. Though they say there's coffee all day, it was cold =(.
The *lifeguard* at the pool was sitting on a lounge chair, clothed, listening to her i-pod whilst practising chair yoga. I would anyway watch my kids myself, but not sure why she was on the payroll.
The people at the desk were very helpful.
There is a shuttle to the metro.
Would we stay there again? Maybe. Sometimes when we stay somewhere, we know we would only go back to that hotel if we were back in that destination. This is not one of those times. But if i HAD to stay there again? It would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. We always learn from our guests and take all feedback to heart. I’m glad you found our front desk team very helpful. Our shuttle not only goes to the metro but also to many dining and shopping options in the area. I will forward your additional comments to our executive team.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.