We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel during our vacation last week. The hotel is wonderful and we can not say enough how great the shuttle service was to and from the metro. The hotel is clean, with a nice buffet breakfast every morning. The even has coffee in the lobby all day long which is helpful when you are out all day. The room are comfortable with a small refrigerator and microwave and plenty of room for 4 adults.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Wow, it seems like you hit every aspect of a guest stay with us – our friendly staff, great complimentary full American breakfast, clean rooms and great shuttle to the metro. I have to agree with you in regards to the free coffee in lobby. Coffee is ALWAYS a welcome treat – before or after a long day of touring or meetings.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    205
    103
    45
    36
See reviews for
232
141
51
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Close to the highway - and to the center of Rockville and the Metro. Truly great breakfast (included). Older building but the rooms have all been re-done and it's a hotel beyond its star-level. No restaurant but nice exercise room and pleasant pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Hidden gem just about says it all! I have to agree with you – we offer a great location – easy to get to AND easy to get to the places you want to go. You are correct, we have recently renovated all our guest rooms and suites. As a matter of fact, we just added a casual restaurant that is open Monday – Saturday offering pizza, wings, snacks and bear and wine.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was so thrilled with the value at the Best Western Rockville on my last visit that I booked it again for a recent weekend trip. The best features about the hotel are truly exceptional: a great rate, free parking, complimentary wi-fi, and great service. On the other hand, one year later, the hotel felt somewhat run down; the bathroom fixtures were not in great shape, the hallway carpet was matted, and the "hot breakfast" (included) was rather depressing. If you can look past all of those, though, it's still a great value.

Note: Even though the hotel is right off 270, it's still at least 30-45 minutes to Washington by car, and 20-25 minutes to Chevy Chase and Bethesda. There is no Metro accessible by walking, either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for returning to our hotel. That is always the biggest compliant for a hotel. We have made some enhancements to our hotel in the last year – including adding flat panel HD TVs in every guest room and suite, a casual restaurant offering pizza, snack and bear and wine – plus we converted to non-smoking hotel. We have future plans to go even more upgrading including our hall ways and lobby.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was an affordable way to stay in relative proximity to DC, but the hotel itself was, well, meh. There was a funky odour, not quite mould, not quite smoke, but something. Otherwise it seemed clean, and a search for bedbugs revealed nothing.
Breakfast was fine. Though they say there's coffee all day, it was cold =(.
The *lifeguard* at the pool was sitting on a lounge chair, clothed, listening to her i-pod whilst practising chair yoga. I would anyway watch my kids myself, but not sure why she was on the payroll.
The people at the desk were very helpful.
There is a shuttle to the metro.
Would we stay there again? Maybe. Sometimes when we stay somewhere, we know we would only go back to that hotel if we were back in that destination. This is not one of those times. But if i HAD to stay there again? It would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. We always learn from our guests and take all feedback to heart. I’m glad you found our front desk team very helpful. Our shuttle not only goes to the metro but also to many dining and shopping options in the area. I will forward your additional comments to our executive team.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It is located at Rockville and easy to find after exiting highway. With that price and quality, it worth it. They have nice, clean, and pretty room. The front desk are very friendly. The breakfast room is pretty and has lot of choices. We will defiantly go back again if we were there visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank so much for your kind words… we really are a hidden gem. Yes, we are well known for our complimentary full American breakfast. It’s a great way to start the day. I will pass on your comments about our friendly front desk staff… and tell our executive housekeeper yet another great comment about our clean rooms. I hope you had time to enjoy some HD TV on our new 37” HDTVs.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only stayed one night and the room was quite nice, the staff are all excellent and for the money, the breakfast is phenomenal (scrambled eggs, sausage, pancake, home fries, Belgium waffles, yogurts, fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, bagels, and a bunch of juices and coffees.
It's convenient to rt 270. In general, the hotel is in great shape for it's age, we were in the 6th floor and the A/C was almost whisper quiet, it is not one of those silly window/floor units, it's built into the room. The flatscreen TV is very large, WIFI is very fast, Bathroom is recently redone with all new Granite Counter and Tub surround BUT here is where they need help...it's not a deal breaker for me but some simple maintenance of replacement of caulk would put this place at 5 stars for me.
A few other observations:
Less of a concern is the carpet in the room appeared newish yet uniformly somewhat dirty, they should clean their carpets more frequently, there were no obvious stains, just generally somewhat dirty.
The main center Window Curtains were shear and fixed, you could not close the fixed opaque end curtains at all. Seemed very odd.
There was a fairly large dorm-type refrigerator and good microwave in the room.
There were 3 pillows per bed, but they seemed somewhat small and fluffy, I prefer a larger pillow.
We would not hesitate to make this our first choice for our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad to enjoyed your stay and found our staff excellent and enjoyed our complimentary full American buffet. We have become quite famous for our breakfast with so many choices.

As for the 37” flat panel TV with HD channels… thanks for noticing them – we just added them this year – and they are a hit.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Because I frequently travel with my dogs, I don't mind paying an extra fee to help with the upkeep of the pet rooms. However, at this hotel the pet-friendly rooms apparently aren't kept up at all, and in fact they appear to intentionally leave their pet rooms in a state of disrepair. If their pet fee isn't high enough to cover the costs of maintaining the rooms, they really should consider raising it. Most of us would happily pay a higher fee to a hotel in order to get a clean, well-maintained room.

My room had obvious stains on the carpet, the bathroom door looked like someone had locked their pet in there and it tried to break free, even the cable hookup was coming off the wall. The pet walking area also had no bags, so I had to go to the front desk for a laundry bag. A friend who came to pick me up told me that the room also had a distinct pet urine odor, but my nose was stopped up so that isn't something I personally noticed. When I mentioned these issues to the desk clerk upon checkout and told her that they really need to block that room off so they can take care of the problems, she seemed completely disinterested.

This hotel might be okay if you don't have pets but if you do, I recommend staying at one of the many other pet-friendly hotels in the area that don't make you feel like a second-class citizen for bringing your pet.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, don't let them saddle you with room 778! Also, inspect the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell of about your stay. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel, as we know pets are so much part of the family. I will definitely be sure our executive housekeeper will look into our pet friendly rooms and be sure they are up to the high standards that our guests have grown to expect from us. We have many pets stay with us. As a matter of fact, I bought my cat in when there was a power outage at my home. We have gotten nothing but rave reviews from pet owners. Next time you plan to come to the area, please contact me via this website so I can personally watch over your reservation and show you what keeps so many of our guests (and pets) coming back.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
3.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#2 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
1.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#12 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#6 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.