We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling with pets? Be prepared to feel like you're staying in a kennel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Traveling with pets? Be prepared to feel like you're staying in a kennel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Because I frequently travel with my dogs, I don't mind paying an extra fee to help with the upkeep of the pet rooms. However, at this hotel the pet-friendly rooms apparently aren't kept up at all, and in fact they appear to intentionally leave their pet rooms in a state of disrepair. If their pet fee isn't high enough to cover the costs of maintaining the rooms, they really should consider raising it. Most of us would happily pay a higher fee to a hotel in order to get a clean, well-maintained room.

My room had obvious stains on the carpet, the bathroom door looked like someone had locked their pet in there and it tried to break free, even the cable hookup was coming off the wall. The pet walking area also had no bags, so I had to go to the front desk for a laundry bag. A friend who came to pick me up told me that the room also had a distinct pet urine odor, but my nose was stopped up so that isn't something I personally noticed. When I mentioned these issues to the desk clerk upon checkout and told her that they really need to block that room off so they can take care of the problems, she seemed completely disinterested.

This hotel might be okay if you don't have pets but if you do, I recommend staying at one of the many other pet-friendly hotels in the area that don't make you feel like a second-class citizen for bringing your pet.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, don't let them saddle you with room 778! Also, inspect the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell of about your stay. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel, as we know pets are so much part of the family. I will definitely be sure our executive housekeeper will look into our pet friendly rooms and be sure they are up to the high standards that our guests have grown to expect from us. We have many pets stay with us. As a matter of fact, I bought my cat in when there was a power outage at my home. We have gotten nothing but rave reviews from pet owners. Next time you plan to come to the area, please contact me via this website so I can personally watch over your reservation and show you what keeps so many of our guests (and pets) coming back.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    161
    77
    34
    31
See reviews for
192
110
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Millersburg Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at this inn for 3 nights and found it to be a good choice given our schedule of touring D.C.
The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the D.C. Metro and runs every hour on the hour. The room was clean and comfortable and front desk personnel was friendly and very accommodating. Had a small issue with a slow drain in the shower and was taken care of immediately and efficiently. Good free breakfast including eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, cereals, juices, yogurt and coffee. Would definitely recommend to anyone who has no desire to drive in downtown D.C. We took the metro into the city and hopped on the Old Time Trolley and had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We couldn’t be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree with you – we offer an ideal location for those that want to visit our nation’s capital – but want to manager their logging costs while doing so. Our metro system I so fast and clean – it’s almost its own attraction. Smart move to take Old Town Trolley a great way to see the city, plus they pick up at various stops right off the red line which is the line we offer our free shuttle to. We have become famous for complimentary full American breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent the night at the Best Western in Rockville this past week. We liked the room. It was roomy and very quiet. Breakfast was the free buffet and was good for what it was. There was plenty of variety even for someone trying to eat more healthy. Your staff was very helpful and were able to answer all questions. We didn't use the shuttle service, but the location was good for driving to the subway station. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for giving us your thoughts on your stay. We never get tired of getting great reviews. We really are a hidden gem. We take guest feedback very seriously as we learn a lot from our guests… and we listen to them. Our guests asked that we become smoke free – we did. Our guests ask that we add high speed internet – we did. Our newest enhancement based on our guest feedback is healthy options on our abundant complimentary full American breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I did not stay much in the hotel while we were there for 3 nights. We used the shullte bus to go to the subway to Washington, DC. The driver was very friendly and kept us interested with his talks.

I liked the free breakfast, they had a lot of varieties.

The room was a little small but clean.

Too bad the pool hours wasn't long enough, we coldn't enjoy it after our long visit to Washington, DC. They have a lifeguard which is a plus.

Room Tip: Do not stay on left side of the hotel close to the ventilation (some sort of big machine that makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We get a lot of great comments about our shuttle drivers. It seems that they are not only great ambassadors to our hotels but to the city as well. Everyone seems to love our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. You are right – we have a great variety on our buffet… it’s a great way to start the day.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed there for two nights about a week ago. Beware of traffic on the highway in the area. Check in was quick and painless. The room was clean and nice. If you need a little more quiet time avoid rooms on the pool side (exterior wall) of the bldg, because the traffic noise (and pool noise) is noticeable. The free breakfast was good especially if you don't have specific plans or don't want to go out for breakfast. We wanted to pay for our first night on a different bank card. The young lady at the desk made us aware of a discount that we were eligible for when she saw our ID badges for NIH which helped us to save money for both nights. At checkout time Kendall helped us and verified that we got our discounts. If I'm in that area again the Best Western will be the Best place for me:)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the team to give us your feedback. I think the title off your blog really says it all – “Best Western in Rockville wants to be your Best Friend.” We really have a great team here – and they work very hard to see that every one of our guests is happy. I think it’s that drive that set us apart from the pack. Sure it would be easy to not give you a discount when you are ready to check in – but we work very closely with NIH, and want all their travelers to know about our relationship with their complex. Plus, quite simply it’s the right thing to do. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. It’s a great way to start the day. Many people enjoy the rooms overlooking the pool. Yes, at times there can be a little noise as our guest enjoy the outdoor pool after a long day or work or touring. When you make your reservation for your next stay, simply request a room not overlooking the pool area. We work hard to accommodate all guest requests.

We look forward to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our third visit to the Best Western Rockville, and were very satisified with our room, the service and the value.

Our room was quiet and spacious, with plenty of room to store our luggage and cooler without tripping over either in the middle of the night. The bed was very comfortable. One of the reasons that we've chosen this hotel over others in the area is for the great night's sleep. The walls and door are thick enough that you won't hear your neighbors' conversations in either the next room, or the hallway, which is especially appreciated after a tiring day of DC sightseeing.

The front desk staff was courteous and friendly with good customer service skills. This is a noticeable improvement from our previous visits. While the front desk folks in the past had satisfactory customer service skills, there now seems to be more of a emphasis of being more cordial to the guests and to anticipate their needs. I especially appreciated being reminded to check my bill regarding the safe charge, a charge in the past that I had been assessed without using. While this is a small courtesy for guests, it spoke volumes to me about making sure that guests were not being overcharged, and that they were satisfied with their overall experience at the hotel. Thank you too, front desk staff, for your assistance, pleasant demeanor and patience with all of our DC questions.

The bottom line is you will find this hotel will meet your needs, families and individuals, while doing so in comfort, with courtesy, at a good value, and with a top notch breakfast to boot. I have no reservations about recommending the Best Western Rockville to friends and family visiting the DC area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the elevators and vending machines for those in your room who are light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We love getting positive comments from our guests… but we love getting positive comments from returning guests even more. That is the true sign that a guest is happy with the service we provide.

I have to say we have a great team at the front desk and not a day goes by we don’t get positive feedback about them. We take our guest feedback very seriously. So when you (and others) mentioned that it needs to be clearer that we have in-room safes (larger enough for a laptop computer) … we listened. We not only added a sign at the desk, mentioning this great amenity, but also at check-out gladly take off the nominal $1.50 surcharge if guests have opted not to use the safe.

We hope to see you yet again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Best Western Rockville is a large property off of I-270 in Rockville. It was most like, in another life, a different chain due to the size of the public areas and rooms. Very clean. Excellent Breakfast set-up. Easy in and out from highway. Some maintenance will be needed shortly in a few areas but on the whole a good value. Travel hint: If you are headed to the Beltway via 270 South, give yourself extra time....the on ramp in the mornning is slow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary full American breakfast buffet. With all our options on the buffet, it’s a great way to start the day. For those not used to DC traffic, it takes time to get from one place to another here in the nation’s capital. For those going to DC, either for work or play, and want to avoid I-270, I suggest they take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to the metro stop. It’s just 2 miles away and the metro goes right into town.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#3 Family Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.