We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, easy commute to Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good hotel, easy commute to Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good sized room. Comfy beds. Clean hotel. Microwave and fridge in room. Free buffet breakfast. In house pizza restaurant. Excellent courtesy shuttle bus. (Timetable from reception). Cost $5.25 for metro trip from Rockville to Washington DC (about 35 mins). Courtesy shuttle will drop off/pick up from Rockville station. Rockville main drag is lit up in the evening and has many shops, pubs and restaurants – would recommend Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant - food excellent and beers first class. We were told by waiter in restaurant to be very careful NOT to leave the immediate main street area as it can be dangerous even in daylight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree our free shuttle to the metro makes getting to Washington, DC a breeze. Many of our guests tour DC using us at their base. Between our free parking, free full American breakfast buffet and so much more for less… it makes visiting DC a real value. I happen to be a fan of Gordon Bierch – so it’s always good to know locals pick the same places you have. We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    167
    82
    35
    31
See reviews for
197
116
40
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I'll gladly confirm the excellent reviews of this Best Western - comfortable rooms, terrific breakfasts, most accommodating hotel staff, great location with shuttle service to Metro and nearby sights. But unlike most reviews, I'd like to comment on the honesty and integrity of the hotel staff and how it reflects on the entire Best Western chain. On departure I overlooked rather expensive electronics and clothing in a drawer. I called from Reagan Airport and the front desk and housekeeping staff jumped into action. The left items were quickly located and promptly forwarded to my home in Florida. It would have been easy for a lesser chain to claim it couldn't locate the items or delay sending them to me. Best Western Rockville is to be hightly complimented. It speaks well of Best Western overall and I very much appreciate the concern and cooperation. You know I'll be staying there the next time I'm in the area!

Room Tip: Book early. Best Western Rockville is a popular destination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We couldn’t be prouder of our team here. Sure, it’s easy to offer comfortable rooms, a great free hot buffet breakfast, free area shuttle and all the many other amenities our hotel has become famous for -- but giving that extra customer service, as you received and we try to give every day – nobody can teach that. We are so lucky to have a team where all individuals truly care about all our guests. As we like to say here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites – we put the PLUS in PLUS. It’s not just a saying… it’s how we really feel about our hotel. We never get tired of hearing stories like yours.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Best Western Plus in Rockville while we were visiting our daughter who was a patient at Walter Reed Military Hospital in Bethesda. We were very pleased with our stay. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The only drawback was that it was equipped with two double beds, and my wife and I had a bit of a hard time gettting used to less space than our queen bed at home. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They quickly answered every question and worked with us to accomodate our uncertainties about when we would be leaving. The breaksfasts were exceptionally good for a hotel buffet breakfast. There were eggs and bacon or sausage every day with a good mix of waffles, pancakes, or french toast. There was a free shuttle to the Metro for people who did not want to take their cars into the city or to the hospital. Special reduced rates for patients or families of patients at the hospital. Thsi hotel was a very pleasant haven for us in a time of stress. I will use it again whenever we are in the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed hour stay despite the reason for your visit. We understand more often than not those traveling to NIH for patient visits are paying their own way verses a corporate traveler – so we are proud to offer special rates to help you control your costs. Just in case you are not aware, we also offer the special NIH patient rate on our King bedded rooms as well. Perhaps you may want to think about that for your next visit – as it will give you even more room than your queen bed at home. If you really want to spread out we offer a studio suite and an executive suite – both not only offer a king bed and pull out sofa but also more room to unwind after a long day. While these suites are not covered under the NIH rate – please email me via this site and I would be happy to come up with a special rate for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.


Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for an entire week and it was great. I used the shuttle service which was quite convenient and free.
Every morning you get a full breakfast buffet.
Service staff was excellent and very kind the whole stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! As you can see from your stay we here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites truly care about giving exceptional s guest service. As you can see from other blogs here – you touched upon the three things people seem to love about our hotel: 1. Friendly guest service 2. Our great free full American Breakfast buffet. 3. Our free shuttle!

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at the Best Western Plus in Rockville, the staff was very friendly and very helpful, specially a young lady name Sylvia Vargas and her supervisor Tanisha Carter they really went out of their way to assist us, they made us feel so welcome like if we were at home, I explain to Sylvia the purpose of my stay and she was so helpful to help me deal with our situation. We took the metro from the airport to Rockville and the Hotels shuttle picks us ip and took us to the hotel. Wow it was so cool and every morning back to the metro so I can go to NIH facility, I want to thank Best Wester Plus for your help, may God bless your employees .


Eddie Alvarez

Room Tip: use the shuttle they will take you to the nearest shopping center if needed and back to the metro e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We really do have a hidden gem... and the best team in Rockville who really care about all our guests. I will pass on your kind words to Sylvia and Tanisha. Because we are so close to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) we do understand the needs and details of guests traveling to their complex. As I’m sure you know we have a special rate for those traveling to NIH… that does help control costs for our guests as well.

We hope to see you again here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Really nice hotel, it's a bit of a ways from DC but there is a shuttle service to the metro.
We stayed over New Year's and had a wonderful experience.

The first room that we checked into had an unpleasant smell (sulphuric/stomach ache not sure which), so when requested a room change, our request was granted in no time. The next room that we checked into was nicely furnished and equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, wifi and spacious. We booked the one bedroom suite for four nights as our girls would be joining us for the latter part of the trip. The only slight negative is that the living room is a little dark as there aren't any windows to let in the natural light. However, the windows in the bedroom let in plenty of natural light. The king bed was enormous and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet that is included was also very good.

The older shuttle driver was an absolute dream, he was knew quite a bit about the area and was very conversational. Front desk staff also provided a good list of nearby restaurants and shopping facilities at check-in which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hidden gem! So true! If you happen to read my previously posted blogs here, you will notice those are the very words I used to describe our hotel. I will pass on your comments about our great staff, including Ron, our shuttle driver. We couldn’t be prouder of our team. I see you noted some of our suite amenities offer. They include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea makers, iron and ironing board and even an in room safe. Because you were in a suite, you might not know this, but those amenities are included in every single room and suite in the hotel. I see you took advantage of our free wireless internet access. It’s not just free inside the guest rooms but throughout the whole hotel. I like the fact that you don’t need a password so getting online is a breeze. You mentioned your suite didn’t not have a window in the living room. Because of the configuration of our hotel we have a select few suites where the living room is in front of the bedroom rather than side by side. Next time, simply request suite with a living room window, or email me via this website, and we will be sure you get a suite with more natural light.

Come back soon – we just opened Callaway’s for dinner – come enjoy pizza, wings, salads, beer and wine, and snacks – all in a casual dining atmosphere. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville


Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you are vacationing in DC and are looking for a hotel, this is the one you want to stay at. Every worker at this hotel was very courteous and helpful. They offer a free shuttle to the Metro (which is maybe 2 miles away from the hotel). The shuttle drivers are very knowledgeable and helped us 'country folks' visiting the 'big city'. A full breakfast is served daily - bacon, sausage, pancakes, etc.- this is also free. If you are hungry for a snack in the evening, you can purchase pizza and wings at Peppy's (?) Pizza located where they serve breakfast in the hotel. The rooms were very nice and have a small refridgerator and microwave. This is just too great of a place to pass up! I will definitely be staying at this hotel again on my next visit to DC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We never get tired of getting high praise such as yours. We really are a hidden gem. As you can see from other blogs here, our complimentary full American breakfast buffet and free shuttle really are popular among our regular guests. I’m glad you like Perky’s Pizza, served in our restaurant called Callaway’s – it’s homemade. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay! Please share your experience with your friends and family. If you are on Facebook, please like us at /BestWesternPlusRockville.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#4 Family Hotel in Rockville
#5 Business Hotel in Rockville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Best Western, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.