We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, dated, but a good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Rockville
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, dated, but a good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

On a recent trip to Washington D.C., I chose to stay in Rockville primarily to avoid two things: ridiculously overpriced hotels close to the center of the District, and the prohibitive cost of parking. There are, however, some trade-offs.

This hotel is both large and clean, but something feels very dated from the moment you walk in. Yes, it is a Best Western "Plus," yet it doesn't exude a contemporary atmosphere at all, like a renovated Hampton Inn or Courtyard Marriott. The same feeling carries through to the guestrooms, which are equipped with large, modern TVs, but are kind of drab in color, materials, and lighting. The bathroom was also nothing to write home about.

Service was above average; check-in took just three minutes, as did check-out. On a good day, the drive to Washington is about 25 minutes, but if you're heading out in rush hour, it could take as long as an hour. If convenience is key, look for deals and stay in the District. But if you need a quiet room and are coming with a car, this hotel isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your taking the time to give us your feedback. When watching your dollars it’s a great way to save on a trip to the nation’s capital. Many of our guests prefer to take advance of our complimentary shuttle to the metro. With our free guest parking, it’s a stress free way to get downtown. We will pass on your positive comments to our staff. We hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    213
    105
    45
    39
See reviews for
239
144
52
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We, a family of three, stayed for four days and the hotel was amazing. We used it as a base to visit Washington DC, Bethesda and Georgetown. The room was big, spacious and had everything you might need. We had a king suite with a king bed, a huge livingroom area with a pull out couch. There were two large plasma screen TV's in the room with the biggest mini fridge we have ever seen. The buffet breakfast was very good with eggs, toast, make your own Belgium waffles, sausage, bacon, fruit, juice and yogurt. We also used the hotel shuttle to get to and from the Rockville metro to get into Washington DC where everything you want to see in Washington is just a step away off the Metro. If you get on the Metro after 9:30 am, get the subway day pass and you can get on and off as many times you want. We also drove into Washington DC at night with no problems. We also stopped off in Bethesda to have dinner at the Mongolian Beef BBQ and was a great meal and cooking experience.
During the week, the pool is open from noon to 8pm, so we were able to use it the day we arrived and the day we left (We checked out and then enjoyed the pool before hitting the road to our next destination, with no complaints from our 11 yr old son).
All in all, it was one of the nicest places my wife had ever stayed and a great roadtrip had by all.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We never get tired of hearing good comments from our guests. Smart move to reserve a suite - at only $30 more than a standard room it’s a great way to spread out and relax after a long day of sightseeing. Plus I’m sure the extra TV for your son was a hit. We look forward to seeing you when you return to the area, as I’m sure you learned Washington, DC is not a city you can see on just one trip.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

PROS:
* Price
* Shuttle Drivers - All of them are VERY VERY friendly and helpful. Older gentleman is more laid back, so don't expect the shuttle to be on time if he's driving, but they're all super nice and exceptionally accommodating.
* Rooms - No noticeable dust/dirt/grime anywhere. Mirrors, shower, sinks, toilet and tiled floors were clean. Carpet was vacuumed. No fingerprints on TV or windows. Our room didn't have any funny smell, although our neighbor's definitely smelled like cigarette smoke. For info on bedding and towels, see below.
* Breakfast - Good with lots of hot items. Staff was VERY attentive in breakfast area.
* Amenities - Fridge/microwave/coffee maker in every room - convenient.
* Windows - Ability to crack the window open a bit for fresh air (no screen).
* Front Desk Staff - professionally cordial and accommodating, even when they were busy dealing with a huge group that showed up.
* Pantene shampoo. Bottles are microscopic, but they graciously give you more each day or if you ask.
* Free internet station - adjacent to front desk with three PCs and a printer. VERY nice.

CONS:
* Shuttle Van - needs to be MUCH bigger. Probably could only legally hold 11 people (including the driver), but we crammed in 14 at once for one trip sitting on laps. Due to size, we waited over an hour in Town Centre for a shuttle to arrive as they picked up and delivered other guests from the Metro.
* Bath Amenities - Towels were various shades of "yellowish" and stained (not dirty, but stains were a bit off-putting). Also, only 2 sets of towels replaced in room each day despite more than 2 occupants staying in room (sorry...pet peeve of mine). Had to stop by front desk for more towels each day. Bar soap smells rancid - like old cooking oil. We opted to buy our own in town. No exhaust vent in bath = VERY STEAMY room after even ONE person showered, let alone 3 or 4.
* Bedding - Pillows are too small, and the bedding smelled "slept in" (eek!)
* Pool - opens at NOON (!?!) weekdays. Closes at 8pm every day. Didn't get to swim at all and we were there for 5 full days. Didn't utilize the fitness center, but it looked typical.
* Noise - rooms need better soundproofing! Opening/closing doors is VERY loud (especially at 4am!). No way to close the doors quietly, although the people who were doing it at 4am didn't seem to make any attempt at stealth.
* Location - NO restaurants/stores in walking distance - have to drive or rely on shuttle.

Bottom Line: All in all, it was ok. Staff was wonderful, but we would probably opt to pay a bit more at another property in the future based on proximity to local sites, cleanliness, pool hours and noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We learn much from our guests’ comments on their experiences with us. I’m glad you found our staff to be professional, friendly and accommodating as well as our team in the breakfast room. I will forward your comments to the rest of our team. Your other comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments as well.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had been driving in the dark from Washington DC and had some troubles finding a hotel, but finally we found this one. They have nice, clean rooms, and I would not hesitate to come back if I'm nearby. I remember this as one of the best hotels after crossing the continent. We didn't have time to use any of the facilities, but it really looked like a place I could stay for some days. I would recommend this if in Rockville.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As PLUS hotel in the BEST WESTERN family we do offer extra amenities that our guests really appreciate. We look forward to your next trip to the DC/ Rockville area.
Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had to turn the room a/c down because it woke me up with a helicopter-like noise.

The pillows were too thick and small. Cube-like.

Otherwise, it's a nice and clean hotel, really nice people at the service desk. Breakfast was GREAT. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. When you have a moment, please email me the room number you stayed in, so we can follow up on your comment. Again, we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great location, great staff, comfortable beds and clean rooms. Breakfast is icing on the cake. Can't wait to visit D.C. again and will stay here when we do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! We really take pride in our hotel. You are right; we do have a great staff. We couldn’t be prouder of our team. We look forward to your return.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We chose this hotel as it was close enough to the metro line into Washington, DC. The rate was excellent as compared to downtown DC hotels plus we did not have to pay a daily parking rate in addition to the room. There was free shuttle service, available until 9:30 p.m., to the Metro station and return.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They were willing to provide information and assistance. Breakfast buffet was sufficient. Lots of parking. Safe neighborhood.
Would definitely stay here again if we were visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWHotels, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We never get tired of hearing great feedback on our hotel. We really are a hidden gem, making us the ideal location for leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Washington, DC.

Ron Wallach
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockville hotels
3.5 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#3 of 16 in Rockville
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rockville
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Rockville - Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#6 of 16 in Rockville
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC-Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites

Address: 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Route 28, Rockville, MD 20850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Rockville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rockville
#6 Family Hotel in Rockville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rockville
#6 Business Hotel in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the greater Washington DC area, stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rockville Hotel & Suites. With 164 non-smoking guest rooms and suites, our hotel welcomes you with gracious accommodations, fabulous amenities and a delicious hot breakfast daily. Our prime location is convenient for work and play in Rockville Maryland and is just 12 miles north of the greater Washington DC area, directly off I-270 also known as Maryland's Technology Corridor. Our hotel is near historical sites, lovely parks, major corporations, government agencies and family attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel Rockville
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel And Suites
Best Western Rockville Hotel
Rockville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.